We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, fantastic, great wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classy, fantastic, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had an absolutely fabulous meal here with a couple of girlfriends. There was a bit of a wait - which surprised me on a Tuesday night - but it was well worth it. My puttanesca was superb and a very reasonable portion. A few large shrimp and several juicy mussels. Yum. I had the pinot flight and was especially partial to the pinot nero from Italy, so I bought a bottle. A bargain for $19. Take home bottles are $10 less than the menu prices. As an added bonus, there was a free wine tasting so I had a free flight of reds before sitting down to dinner. Great experience and I would definitely eat here again. Quality, locally sourced food and a wide variety of wines for a wide range of budgets. Super cute decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    61
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coq au Vin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great food here for lunch with the Coq au Vin a highlight. Service was good and the music by the Hard Swimmin' Fish was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great find: inexpensive farm to table in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Wine Kitchen is a comfortable, unpretentious small restaurant in an old building in the center of Leesburg in northern Virginia. Menus feature local ingredients, and in fact while we were having lunch a local farmer was making a delivery. The flights of wine are well selected, though I found the descriptive write-ups for the wines a bit too cute. Choices included Italian, Spanish, and local wines, and you can buy a bottle of one you like for $10 off the regular (restaurant) price. We bought a bottle of the local Chardonnay which illustrated just how far northern Virginia wines have come in recent years.

Roasted beets and arugula salad was a terrific starter, though garnished with hazelnuts (one of us has an allergy). Roasted rabbit ragout with truffle oil and fresh tagliatelle was excellent and reasonably priced at $17, and another tasty bargain was the "German" mussels, served with spaetzle and smoked sausage in a white wine sauce at $11. The highlight might have been the dessert -- ginger-grapefruit curd with rosemary cookies -- a perfect balance of flavor and lightness.

The Wine Kitchen surprised us with the high quality and imaginative menus at a very reasonable price point. The owner/chef came out twice to see how we were doing, and clearly is very much on top of things. It's also nice to see an old downtown area like this making a comeback, and supporting local farmers. We will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everyone loves this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It has always got a crowd even when all the other restaurants are slow. that should say it all but i will elaborat a little. THe food and wine are thebest in the county as is the chef of the Wine Kitchen. Go and have some fun!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Was always exceptional but change is in the wind in a negative way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were afraid of what is happening. They are expanding quickly with 3 restaurants around the area. The community feeling is leaving quickly as the staff for the most part is new, they are not nearly as friendly and becoming a bit robotic. The food is often exceptional. Chef is delightful in his renditions. As they seem to position themselves for rapid growth if not franchises, they will become another pretend-local chain with little warmth and rigid service. Leesburg is low on great local restaurants. We were so happy when Wine kitchen came to town, a real step up in eclectic offerings in the area. Most frequent diners in the historic area are true locals and many are departing this once exceptional place that will appeal primarily to more infrequent and less loyal customers. A really bad move to disown those patrons who helped you make it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.