We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine, good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good wine, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is one of the newer restaurants in Leesburg, Va, right in the middle of town on King Street. It's small, but the owner is usually there and always ready to accommodate and answer questions. Food is very good, often there are unusual dishes or combinations, and there are quite a few wine options. Weekends especially are crowded, and you may have a wait. Call ahead to see if there is a musical group scheduled to play!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    132
    51
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistency is Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've been here four times, and so far, everything has been consistent in a very good way.

Conveniently located in downtown Leesburg, there is a huge parking garage (free) behind the building and is connected by an uncovered walkway at ground level.

Cute, quaint, and very cozy, this is the type of independent restaurant I'm in total favor of supporting. They don't take reservations, so you could be seated immediately, or you could wait quite a while to be seated. My only complaint is that on a busy night, there's really no convenient place to stand around while you're waiting, so you feel like you're always in the way. If the weather isn't too bad, there's always outside.

On Tuesday nights, all wine flights are 9.00 each. Their list of wine flights is quite extensive, but if you have any questions at all about what you should choose, these folks are very, very helpful in helping you make a decision. If you find a wine you like a lot, you should buy it there before you leave. No matter how hard I've tried, I've never had the luck of finding a wine I've enjoyed anywhere else.

On to the menu. This is the amazing part: I think the most expensive thing on the menu hovers around the 20.00 mark. Are you kidding? On one memorable night, I chose the espresso rubbed pork chop (came with kale & bacon, a root vegetable mash and apple chutney) and my companion chose Martin's beef sirloin steak (came with roasted fingerling potatoes and a green been & mushroom bake). Our food was delicious! My pork chop had very little fat, it wasn't over cooked at all, and the side dishes were very tasty. What I loved the most were the portion sizes--they are just right. They're not so small that you feel like you could have just a bite or two of something else, and they're not so huge that you feel compelled (i.e. are too weak like me to leave it alone when you know you're full) to keep on eating and clean your plate. Other memorable dishes I've had include grouper, and on another night, their scallops.

I'm so, so glad we finally got a chance to check this place out. Service is top notch, the food is very good and super reasonable, and parking is easy. These factors are what keep me returning and bringing friends to share in the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You pay for attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

All of the positive reviews led me to the Wine Kitchen. Yes, the food was good. What little portions of food they served, at least.
The wine? Cherry-picked. Decent wine but nothing you can't find at Wegmans.
The atmosphere? Stuffy, loud and pretentious.
Perhaps cooking with wine would be a better choice than frequenting the Wine Kitchen. I applaud the effort but I'd rather have wines not available in supermarkets or Total Wine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals...all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I ate there on a Saturday evening. Be prepared to wait a bit, as the restaurant does not take reservations. But once you arrive, you can be added to a wait list. We thought it was well worth the wait. The owner worked the bar while we were there. The wine was fantastic, and my dinner was top-notch. Service was great, and the atmosphere was amazing. It is a tiny place, but it is well loved by the locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wine Flight o' Fancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have eaten here several times and the service, wine selections, and food have been consistently very good. With a lively bistro atmosphere, they offer several three-wine flights with clever names and rather involved whimsical tasting note cards with each wine. The charcuterie plate is nice with fresh local sausages, pate, and serrano ham that changes periodically.

They offer a limited menu, but the dishes are all wonderfully prepared, ranging from Coq Au Vin, to Saltimbocca, to a rabbit dish. Specials change regularly--the last time we were there we sat at the bar, (which is the most fun) and the appetizer special was fois gras with bacon and roasted garlic. The dinner special was St. Louis marinated ribs, that two people had at the bar--looked wonderful.

They also have other wines by the bottle if you ask, but most of the wines in the flights are very approachable and selected with care.

This place isn't large, and they don't reserve, so on a Friday or Saturday night it gets loud as people come in and stand around in the middle of the restaurant having a glass of wine and waiting for their table. Actually, this is the point--it is very social and everyone seems to be patient and happy to have a glass, chat, and get a look at what others are eating. Leesburg is still a small, horsey (read moneyed fox hunt-type) town that has become a bedroom community for northern VA professionals, so the vibe is casual and friendly. Everyone ends up getting a table, or if they must, they can have a glass and walk to another of several nearby restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.