We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Unique Charm and Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic Unique Charm and Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had dinner on a Sunday night with adult daughter and friend. I'd heard many good things about this restaurant from "foodies" so the bar was set high! It was fabulous! We all shared "chicken and waffles." Don't let the name fool you - It's Roasted quail, savory Belgian waffle and braised kale with bacon that will cause you to make guttereal sounds.;-) order as entree or share as appetizer. Everything is smaller than usual plates here (love that, too - don't leave stuffed!).

We had the sesame braisd scallops, rabbit ragout and German mussels as entrees. We all cleaned our plates. Two of us had soups. We all had 1-2 glaases of wine. Loved the creative descriptions of the wines delivered on a card with the glasses. (Someone is quite the creative writer and this little touch was appreciated!)
Total bill before tip $115. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars ... Need more seating or reservations, and inside temperature was a bit hot on this chilly VA eve. But these are little things.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    62
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Isle, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was there for lunch. Staff was outgoing and all the food was great. A must try should be the leek bread pudding. Will be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five Star Food & Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had dinner and lunch there... amazing food.. highly recommend. The Wine Flights offer a good variety too. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food, Even Better Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sat at the bar with my girlfriend on a Saturday night. We had come up from DC to tour a few vineyards and had originally reserved a table at Market Table Bistro. However, due to Hurricane Sandy, Market Table was closed and a friend recommended that we try The Wine Kitchen in Leesburg. I could write an entire essay on how amazing this place is but overall, I would recommend it if you want incredible local food, even better wine, and some of the best service you can find anywhere.

Highly recommend and hope to be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The Wine Kitchen is a wonderful little place with a refined menu and an entertaining wine selection. Can't go wrong ordering the cheese or chauticere plates.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.