We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarara wine downgraded however still nice for concerts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tarara Winery

Tarara Winery
13648 Tarara Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 activities in Leesburg
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Tarara wine downgraded however still nice for concerts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited Tarara for the first time this season. I have probably been to this winery 100 times as it used to be my absolute favorite place to grab a bottle and relax on the deck and then head off to a nice concert. Unfortunately the wine has gone progressively down hill ever since the original owner Whitie Hubert passed in 2008. The setting remains beautiful and the summer concerts are very, very good however the wines are extremely difficult to drink and certainly not worth the price. But, what was extremely alarming from this last trip was the complete lack of product knowledge and mass confusion from the staff serving the tastings. Sometimes, good service can make up for a bad tasting wine...not this time. Sorry...I really don't like writing negative reviews...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    12
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, ok wines.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

When we pulled up to this winery I was very impressed. It is a wonderful setting and the people were very nice. I do wish that they would tell you up front what the tasting fee would be. We actually found out when the first person in our party purchased their wine and was charged the tasting fee. I actually looked at the tasting list and all around the room to find out what the price would be. Don't get me wrong, would have paid it anyways but I do like to know up front. The wines were allright, nothing special. They did not live up to the clever descriptions on the tasting list. Now what I like in wine might be totally different from you so I would tell you to go experience it for yourself. I would go back because it might be different the next time, besides going to wineries is fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weekend @ the Vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was just beautiful. Child friendly, they have picnic tables, we had lunch in front of the lake. The wines are inexpensive, wine testing was fun. will be back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location & Delicious Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated completion of my first half marathon (through VA wine country) at Tarara Winery this past Saturday. Their wine was high quality and the venue for the concert was second to none. The stage hovers over the river and the hill slopes just right so there is no bad view of the concert. If ever in the Leesburg area, we'll definitely be back :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to see a concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We didn't get to do a tasting here, but we did attend one of their concerts. The area is nice and overlooks a lake. They have wine for purchase, food for purchase, and port-a-potties available by the concert area. People are also allowed to bring in their own food. Bring a chair or blanket! Nice night under the stars.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarara Winery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tarara Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarara Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tarara Winery to your Saves list