We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Setting and Nice Wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarara Winery

Tarara Winery
13648 Tarara Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Attractive Setting and Nice Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are not wine experts by any means, but my wife and I share similar tastes - we both found "Long Bomb 4" to our taste, and its appeal was enhanced by the story behind the name. We bought two bottles of wine, which was fortunate, as we were a bit surprised by the tasting fee, something we hadn't encountered in our limited wine-tasting "tours" (Healdsburg, CA area and various locations in Nova Scotia).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    14
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
417 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Excellent winery experience; one of the very best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stopped in for our quarterly wine tasting and wine selection pickup as wine club members. Tori was very pleasant and well informed, gave us generous pours, and great service comparing some wines we wanted to buy. Tarara has some nice wines - even the "Long Bomb" version 3 and 4 have improved significantly; it sounds strange but "dill" is the pleasant overriding aromatic component. We've always liked some of the reds and their Charval. On this visit the Rose and a new addition, the Petit Manseng, stood out.

Tarara does not permit any food with the wine tasting which is an unfortunate quirk since complementary tastes could really highlight some of the wine attributes. The wine club quarterly wine choices are a bit variable and often not our favorites but we do get a discount on the wines we do like. This may be the most organized/professional winery business with good wines in northern Virginia.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax and Enjoy some Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having been here years ago - I was a bit turned off by the increase to $10 per tasting.
- and then one by one other wineries started charging for wine tastings -

So, after a recent recommendation from a friend, we went back this month.

Charming place. Great grounds quietly tucked into the NoVa woods.
Large Tasting room and ample deck.
There are stairs - a lot - but might be a back way in for wheelchair accessibility.
Nice lake with picnic tables just on the upper half of the property.
Ample parking.


Wines were pretty decent as well - and we bought a few bottles.
Definitely get a white for the patio.

Friendly staff. No up-sell.
Couldn't tell if there was food for sale.

Would definitely recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staff was great! If you are a VIP member, you get free wine tastings for 2 people and discounts on wine! This is more of an "industrial" type of Vineyard

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit to Tarara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited the winery today. Really great place and very friendly. Sheared a really great bootle of their wine with some cheese on the terrace, enjoying the sun and the view. I would definitely make a return visit here. The wine was lovely

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Manager at Tarara Winery, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
David A.,

Thank you for the lovely review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Tarara and we look forward to your return!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarara Winery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tarara Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarara Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.