We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog swimming paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historical White's Ferry

Historical White's Ferry
Leesburg, VA
301 349 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dog swimming paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

White Ferry is a lovely place for a picnic in the Spring and Summer, the W & O Canal trail is so close, we love our 5 mile walks on both sides, let us get our exercise while the pups can jump in the water and swim and enjoy themselves. We have rented a canoe in the past and canoed up river, a lot of work, but so fun and exhilarating.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
267 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Fun to cross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

great little ferry to get to maryland/virginia. cheap for cars, even cheaper for motorcycles and foot (if you choose). owned by same family for many years. only ferry that i know of in the region.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great fun when on the motorcycle ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

White's ferry is a must do, whether riding your motorcycle or driving your car near Leesburg Virginia. Take the time to ride the ferry. very beautiful scenery of the Potomac River and great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“A Different Way To Cross The Potomac River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

In our new Sunday regimen of a drive to lunch/brunch and a favorite attraction, Mrs Too and I crossed the Potomac River aboard the Gen. Jubal A. Early at Historic White’s Ferry in nearby upper Montgomery County, Md. We have done this many times in the past, once even trailing our Rockwood pop-up camper. There always seems to be some sort or other of a surprise, and this Sunday was no exception.

It being Memorial Day Weekend, we found the crossing a popular spot for many members of Rolling Thunder and their beautiful “hogs”, such bright colors and mighty rumbles. Evidently, the ferrymen staged about a hundred or so, then carried them across a boatload at a time. Having encountered them another year in Frederick on their way D.C., we had come to know them as mannerly, articulate citizens showing their esteem for true patriots in a uniquely moving fashion.

Unfortunately, Maryland has, in recent years, been scourged by cold, wet, ugly weather on this first weekend of summertime, but this year it was just plain gorgeous, and these fine folks having a grand time together enjoying the two hundred fifty year old attractions in the area set the stage for a very memorable holiday.

White’s Ferry is less than hour from almost anyplace in the Washington area, and a wonderful gateway to the history and culture of Northern Virginia. Originally known as Conrad’s Ferry, it was purchased by Elijah White, a Civil War veteran, who named his ferryboat after his former division commander. Early is a story unto himself. He led his troops so close to Washington that his officers could actually see the United States Soldiers’ Home in the distance. If you are a Civil War buff, watch for a review later when Ms Too and I re-visit his Virginia home.

The ferry toll is $5 per car one way, or $8 for a round trip. Bicycles, motorcycles and pedestrians pay less. If you are both leaving from and returning to Montgomery County, the round trip might be for you. On the other hand, moving south through the fox hunting horse country, down into the colonial attractions of Fairfax County and Alexandria then re-crossing to Georgetown with its spires, cobbled streets and the southeastern terminus of the C&O canal, is a grand option for a very full day seeing the “other” Washington.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to hit the Ask Ben icon. There is nothing a serious reviewer, certainly not this reviewer, enjoys more than hearing from a reader. Travel safely and enjoyably.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Unusual journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The only ferry remaining on the upper Potomac river. Travel where people crossed the Potomac River in the 1800's. A ferry attached to cable, pushed by diesel. Holds 24 cars. Can be a short cut for some traversing parts of MD an VA, or just enjoy a drive through the a countryside. Stop to see remains of the C&O canal barge tow path which is now a trail that runs from DC to Cumberland MD, about 184 miles.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical White's Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.