We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good reliable transportation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historical White's Ferry

Historical White's Ferry
Leesburg, VA
301 349 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just good reliable transportation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Whites Ferry is the not really a tourist attraction but ferry boat itself is historic, the river is beautiful and the trip is short (less than 10 minutes). The run it efficiently with minimum fuss and at a reasonable rate. And it saves you over 40 minutes of driving on the beltway to get to Maryland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cute for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Decided to add a trip on White's Ferry to add some flavor and atmoshere to my day driving through the country side. We were headed to a winery from the Maryland side so this was a great alternative to driving around and up 66 or 267. We had to wait for 2 cycles of round trips before we got onto the ferry. It was all of about 25 minutes which was a nice pause to driving. At $5 a trip ($8 RT), it is cheaper then the tolls in VA and a lot more scenic :)))

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“So Cool. Throwback to Olden Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This quaint Potomac crossing is a must, if you need to get from Montgomery County, Maryland to extreme northeastern Virginia, or vice versa. Beautfiful, scenic, and relaxing

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went down there to pick up my son and husband who were biking the C and O Canal trail. Once you decide from the Virginia side you are going to do it, you have to go. There is no turn around or parking lot, which I was looking for. I took the ferry over and waited in the large lot there and rode it back to the Virginia side to go home. Very fun though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“take the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It might seem silly to take the ferry, but is really is kind of fun, especially if you have a young kid with you. The White family has been operating this for generations. It is a huge money-maker for them but this doesn't detract from my fun going for the short ride.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical White's Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.