We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historical White's Ferry

Historical White's Ferry
Leesburg, VA
301 349 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Transportation
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went down there to pick up my son and husband who were biking the C and O Canal trail. Once you decide from the Virginia side you are going to do it, you have to go. There is no turn around or parking lot, which I was looking for. I took the ferry over and waited in the large lot there and rode it back to the Virginia side to go home. Very fun though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“take the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It might seem silly to take the ferry, but is really is kind of fun, especially if you have a young kid with you. The White family has been operating this for generations. It is a huge money-maker for them but this doesn't detract from my fun going for the short ride.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A fun way to cross a river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We live in Leesburg, so we have used the ferry many times. I would use it just for the experience, but if you need to cross the Potomac, it is a fun way. They allow you to get out of the car, which is fun for kids when the weather is nice. Make sure you check to see if it is open after a huge rainstorm. Sometimes the water is too high and they have to close.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How could they be so rude?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got me across the river. The guy on the boat was remarkably rude... got his panties in a bunch because I wanted to include quarters in my payment (didn't have enough in bills). Surprising to me that someone could be so rude to a customer... even refused to give me a receipt, which is of course not legal. I'm in the area frequently, and in the future I'll avoid giving them any of my money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Going on a Sea Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well it is not exactly the song "Sea Cruise" by Frankie Ford from the 50's but is is a nice break if you are going to the Leesburg VA area from Montgomery County MD. A little pricey, but much quicker and shorter. You also get to see the Potomac from an entirely new vantage point.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical White's Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.