We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historical White's Ferry

Historical White's Ferry
Leesburg, VA
301 349 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 attractions in Leesburg
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“take the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It might seem silly to take the ferry, but is really is kind of fun, especially if you have a young kid with you. The White family has been operating this for generations. It is a huge money-maker for them but this doesn't detract from my fun going for the short ride.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fun way to cross a river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We live in Leesburg, so we have used the ferry many times. I would use it just for the experience, but if you need to cross the Potomac, it is a fun way. They allow you to get out of the car, which is fun for kids when the weather is nice. Make sure you check to see if it is open after a huge rainstorm. Sometimes the water is too high and they have to close.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How could they be so rude?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got me across the river. The guy on the boat was remarkably rude... got his panties in a bunch because I wanted to include quarters in my payment (didn't have enough in bills). Surprising to me that someone could be so rude to a customer... even refused to give me a receipt, which is of course not legal. I'm in the area frequently, and in the future I'll avoid giving them any of my money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Going on a Sea Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well it is not exactly the song "Sea Cruise" by Frankie Ford from the 50's but is is a nice break if you are going to the Leesburg VA area from Montgomery County MD. A little pricey, but much quicker and shorter. You also get to see the Potomac from an entirely new vantage point.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little mini cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Across the Potomac into either va or md. It can save you time especially during off peak hours. A bit pricey but saves time and gas

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical White's Ferry also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Historical White's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical White's Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historical White's Ferry to your Saves list