We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are into antiques, you shouldn't miss Morven Park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“If you are into antiques, you shouldn't miss Morven Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We love the house tour and everything else. With nearly 95% of the original belongings this historical home is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Needed to fill some time and took my kids (ages 7,9 and 11). First, the mansion- beautiful, tour guide was engaging to the kids, kept then interacting with the tour...huge plus for me! The price for the tour and carriage museum was adequately priced ($10 adult, $5 kids...active military free). The house was beautifully maintained inside and out. Next, we enjoyed a picnic in the gardens. The flowers were well cared for and the reflection pond was a relaxing background. The grounds were well maintained. Make sure to walk down the grass paths to see hidden flower gardens throughout. There is a carriage museum with well maintained carriages...lots of history here. Went to see the civil war camp and found 3 hiking trails! We did not hike them only because of time...but plan to return. The grounds and Trails are free to hike.
All in all, this place was a wonderful find and will return many times in the future!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit! Lovely setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We toured the mansion, carriage museum and grounds. Very enjoyable and informative. The docents in the house and carriage museums were very knowledgeable and able to answer all of my questions. I can't believe I've lived in Loudoun County for 34 years and never realized I could tour here. We also picnicked on the grounds and I intend to do so again often. What a lovely setting! They even offer several special events like Civil War encampments, culinary events and photography seminars that I hope to attend in the future. I'd also like to hike the trails on a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great afternoon of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a beautiful estate with original and ornate furnishings. Our guide, Ken, was great - knowledgable and interesting. The carriage museum is a short walk from the mansion and has some really well kept carriages. The grounds are extensive, with a couple different hiking trails. The admission charge is minimal and worth it. Very nice experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Virginia History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent an afternoon touring the house, and grounds of Governor Davis' home. Our guide was very informative and answered all our questions. The home is full of original furnishings. If you enjoy touring historical homes you won't be disappointed. The grounds are beautiful as well. Many short hikes available along with the gardens.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.