We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for riding, sports, concerts, etc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Attraction details
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place for riding, sports, concerts, etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent place for carriage rides and horseback riding. Recently the park started an adult football league which I joined and it's been a blast. Haven't visited the main park- the former governor's residence (the main attraction) but will at some point. Attended the NoVA Brewfest Summer 2013 here 3 wks ago and it was fun (park planners did a good job accommodating the various beer, food, and craft vendors, as well as keeping a high police presence to prevent drunks from driving- with alternate transit for those who had too much (buses to Catoctin Circle, though I didn't see any when I was there).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“NICE MANSION TOUR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very interesting tour of Morven Park's mansion. The guide was very good and we were the only two in the group. The carriage museum is worth seeing too. Plan on walking around the grounds and exploring when you visit. The grounds are beautiful for hiking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great horse competition!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We came to Virginia to see my cousin ride in a dressage competition, and she did really well. The stables could have been nicer, but other than that we had a great time with the horse. They have a great cheap restaurant on the park and the grounds are gorgeous!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Love it here! Wonderful gardens! Beautiful land and if you are lucky you will see horses all around! Simply a wonderful place to get some peace and quiet!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place with No Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went here with bicycles and really enjoyed the easy way to tour the property. The adjoining Equestrian center property added some more trails to ride around and also added to the unique atmoshere we found. Beautiful gardens and lovely old buildings to wander around. Best thing was the place was empty on a Sunday afternoon giving it a sense of remoteness. We drove over the a winery afterwards and finished off the day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.