We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downton Abbey like afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey like afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For history enthusiasts, it's well worth a visit to learn about the Westmorelands. The cost of the tour is quite reasonable and the real treat is being up close to the room furnishings. You're not kept behind a velvet rope. The carriage house tour is self guided but a fun diversion. Walking the grounds on a springlike day is a relaxing and lazy way to spend an afternoon. Probably not interesting for kids or teens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Spend a couple of hours here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Well worth visiting- great interactive tour and the place was fabulous. The price for the tour was reasonable ($4-6 each) and the guide was knowledgable and the rooms were fascinating- an original GE fridge, cherry splitter etc.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Check out this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Got an hour? Want a place not packed with tourists? Would you (or your date, or guests from out of town) like a little dose of beauty, scenery, history, or culture? Watch Downton Abbey? Take a drive to Leesburg and visit Morven. My 14-yr-old daughter liked it fine, and the little kids in our small tour group looked engaged too. (They hand the kids photos of items to find in each room, so it makes it a game.) I agree with another reviewer that a picnic lunch would have been perfect. Maybe a frisbee or kite too---the grounds are endless. We forgot to search for the rugged Civil War huts, but we will return again.
We also enjoyed learning for the first time about the last owner, fantastic American...Governor Westmoreland Davis, who moved down from NYC and worked hard to restore and improve the livelihoods and methods of farmers. A brilliant and altruistic individual.
And the Mansion Admission fee is only $5.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“History with beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Always a beautiful place to visit. The mansion is interesting but I think kids may find it a bit boring. The grounds ate spectacular. Well worth a day trip. Pack a lunch and picnic on the grounds.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great daytrip for history lovers in Leesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved the visit to Morven Park, I didn't expect to find so much history, the estate is so well furnished, and the guides so well versed in the history of the family and constantly morphing building I left feeling quite satiated. The house still holds so many original pieces that when you walk into the kitchen and pantry everything remains the way it was including copies of wage slips and produce receipts, its just steeped in Victorian history. This was the Governor Westmoreland's summer residence, I love all the old oil paintings of the family and especially the wealthy sisters who made the lives of their husbands more leisurely....very Downton Abbey

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.