We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 attractions in Leesburg
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Check out this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Got an hour? Want a place not packed with tourists? Would you (or your date, or guests from out of town) like a little dose of beauty, scenery, history, or culture? Watch Downton Abbey? Take a drive to Leesburg and visit Morven. My 14-yr-old daughter liked it fine, and the little kids in our small tour group looked engaged too. (They hand the kids photos of items to find in each room, so it makes it a game.) I agree with another reviewer that a picnic lunch would have been perfect. Maybe a frisbee or kite too---the grounds are endless. We forgot to search for the rugged Civil War huts, but we will return again.
We also enjoyed learning for the first time about the last owner, fantastic American...Governor Westmoreland Davis, who moved down from NYC and worked hard to restore and improve the livelihoods and methods of farmers. A brilliant and altruistic individual.
And the Mansion Admission fee is only $5.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“History with beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Always a beautiful place to visit. The mansion is interesting but I think kids may find it a bit boring. The grounds ate spectacular. Well worth a day trip. Pack a lunch and picnic on the grounds.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great daytrip for history lovers in Leesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved the visit to Morven Park, I didn't expect to find so much history, the estate is so well furnished, and the guides so well versed in the history of the family and constantly morphing building I left feeling quite satiated. The house still holds so many original pieces that when you walk into the kitchen and pantry everything remains the way it was including copies of wage slips and produce receipts, its just steeped in Victorian history. This was the Governor Westmoreland's summer residence, I love all the old oil paintings of the family and especially the wealthy sisters who made the lives of their husbands more leisurely....very Downton Abbey

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Experience luxury and life from another era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

How I lived here my entire life and never visited Morven Park is beyond me. Oh what I was missing! If you are visiting Northern Virginia, take an afternoon and make the trip to Leesburg to visit this beautifully maintained, magnificent mansion. The amount and variety of gorgeous, uber expensive furniture, china, silver, artwork, books and other elements of the wealthy of yore will amaze you. Just as amazing is the story of the former governor of Virginia, Westmoreland Davis, whose intellect, energy and passion for innovation is quite something to behold. Walking through this elegant, luxurious place will move you back into another time, when men gathered to smoke cigars, drink brandy and pontificate, while the ladies enjoyed spending time in the lavishly decorated, lovely parlor. Morven Park represents wealth and class the old style Virginia way -- expansive but comfortable, rich but not arrogant, old and yet timeless, and absolutely fascinating for anyone interested in history, the Civil War, antiques, and the way life used to be for those who had access to education and advantage. For a five dollar admission fee, it is a wonderful way to get lost in an afternoon of enjoying the beauty of the Virginia countryside in Loudoun County.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“History, Horses and Hiking Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Morven Park, about ten minutes from the center of Leesburg, Virginia, is a beautiful historic house, complete with grounds that are open to the public, and a major equestrian center.

We toured the house, which has had multiple owners throughout its almost 200-year life, most recently Montgomery Davis, governor of Virginia from 1918-1922. The house is a piece of living history which has been renovated, added to, deleted from, and otherwise made into a quirky, interesting house to tour. Visitors can walk into the rooms and among the furnishings and many, many collectibles gathered on travels to far-flung places. We particularly enjoyed walking around the library and noting the very eclectic books in the Davis collection. The house is especially interesting because the Davises lived there on the cusp of the transition of US society from the horse and buggy era to a home with electricity, running water and the modern conveniences of the early 1920s.

In addition to the grounds (with minimal, but lovely, flowers) there are outbuildings, the most interesting of which houses a stellar collection of horse drawn carriages and work vehicles. The house also has a museum of hounds and hunting that will interest fans of that sport.

Morven Park is available for weddings and other gatherings. The grounds were used for a Civil War encampment and there are frequent reenactments on the site. Like most historic houses, Morven Park does not allow indoor photography. There are two floors and no elevator so the tour will pose problems for those with mobility issues. The outdoor area is a great place to enjoy a picnic and let your kids run loose.

Our guide was EXCELLENT! He was very knowledgeable, answered questions graciously and never once rushed our group along.

The estate is located a few minutes from downtown Leesburg and its excellent shops and restaurants and a visit would be a fun part of a weekend in this historic part of Virginia.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morven Park to your Saves list