We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original furnishings / Beautiful estate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Original furnishings / Beautiful estate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

One of the most fascinating and rare aspects of this historic home is that all of the furnishings/contents are original. Even the books in the beautiful library. Had a wonderful, personal tour of the home and carriage house (a surprisingly large and fantastic collection).Lovely formal garden & excellent views. Highly recommended if you are in the area. Only a short drive from DC.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Loved the pristine 1200 acres. The have equine therapy horses and trails to ride and a beautiful mansion and carriage museum. They are also doing sustainable agriculture!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - short on amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have gone to a number of events here over ten years from horse events to racing. It is a really pretty place if you plan to picnic or do a self-guided tour. It is short on historial information.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

If you like historic homes this is a must see. The grounds are beautiful and the house is in excellent condition. The best part is how close this place is to dc and Baltimore. It makes a great day trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The mansion at Morven Park is, quite simply, amazing! Having lived right around the corner for years, I can't believe I haven't visited before, and I will most definitely be returning.

The mansion itself is beautiful, and the collection of tapestries, Tiffany's china, silver, books, statues, and furniture is breathtaking. Our tour guide, Clayton, was a wealth of information, and took time to answer our many (!) questions. Unlike many other historic homes, the general tour ($5 pp) includes both downstairs and upstairs, servant & owner living areas. The servant's kitchen and butler pantry in particular are fascinating....like being onset for Downton Abbey!

I believe the recommended time for the tour itself is 45 minutes, but we stayed for two hours. I recommend leaving an additional 30 minutes for the gardens, and more if you plan on walking around the grounds.

This historic home is definitely one of the top must see homes in Leesburg! A personal favorite, even beyond some of the more widely known homes in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.