We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morven Park

Morven Park
17263 Southern Planter Lane, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 2414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Aldie, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Loved the pristine 1200 acres. The have equine therapy horses and trails to ride and a beautiful mansion and carriage museum. They are also doing sustainable agriculture!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - short on amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have gone to a number of events here over ten years from horse events to racing. It is a really pretty place if you plan to picnic or do a self-guided tour. It is short on historial information.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

If you like historic homes this is a must see. The grounds are beautiful and the house is in excellent condition. The best part is how close this place is to dc and Baltimore. It makes a great day trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The mansion at Morven Park is, quite simply, amazing! Having lived right around the corner for years, I can't believe I haven't visited before, and I will most definitely be returning.

The mansion itself is beautiful, and the collection of tapestries, Tiffany's china, silver, books, statues, and furniture is breathtaking. Our tour guide, Clayton, was a wealth of information, and took time to answer our many (!) questions. Unlike many other historic homes, the general tour ($5 pp) includes both downstairs and upstairs, servant & owner living areas. The servant's kitchen and butler pantry in particular are fascinating....like being onset for Downton Abbey!

I believe the recommended time for the tour itself is 45 minutes, but we stayed for two hours. I recommend leaving an additional 30 minutes for the gardens, and more if you plan on walking around the grounds.

This historic home is definitely one of the top must see homes in Leesburg! A personal favorite, even beyond some of the more widely known homes in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Morven Park is an historic gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our visit to Morven Park far exceeded our expectations. History of the property and the mansion which was occupied by formet Virginia Governor Westmorland davis was facinating. The mansions and its contens were preserved to the period during which the the Davises lived - 1903 - 1940's, but the original building dates dates back to about 1780. Tour guides helped us get into understanding how people lived and worked on the property in the early 1900's. A bonus was the Winmill carriage collection in a building which housed dozens of beautifully kept carriages and sleighs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morven Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Morven Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morven Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.