We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Like This Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moms Apple Pie

Moms Apple Pie
220 Loudoun Street SE, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 8590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I Like This Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My family and friends tell me I make the world's best apple pie. So when I see a sign for Mom's Apple Pie, I have to make a stop. The shop is charming. The shop is tiny. The shop is chock full of pies, pies, and more pies.

On the plus side: there were so many types of pies, it was hard to choose. If you want a certain kind, get there early because when I arrived in the very early afternoon, there was no apple pie. Don't miss the chilled pies in the cold case on the right. We almost missed a great slice of chocolate pie and an even better slice of coconut pie because of the crowd of people standing in front of it. (They weren't being rude; there was nowhere else to stand.) The slices were certainly generous. The fillings were heavenly.

The tiny shop with the great pies is located in the quaint area of Leesburg. It's a delightful place to stroll, window shop, and literally shop. So Mom's Apple Pie is right where it should be for folks who need to 're-fuel' so they can stroll some more.

By the way: they sell whole pies, too.

On the negative side: the number of customers far exceeds the number of parking spaces. This is basically a 'take-out' place. So if you want a cup of coffee and a slice of pie, do plan on enjoying it somewhere else.

A slight negative: pie crust is best when it is flaky. It must be really difficult to bake a pie commercially with a light flaky crust because I have never had one. Keeping that in mind, they make an okay crust.

So my apple pie is still the undisputed best as far as my family is concerned which keeps me happy.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Banana Cream Pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love the Banana Cream Pie however you can't get it all the time. They usually have them after 3pm on Thursday and thru the weekend until they run out.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Find! Don't miss this pie shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Directly across from the George Marshall home in Leesburg Virginia, this pie shop is one I will come back to everytime I visit Leesburg. It's so adorably decorated and so inviting. There are lots of delicious choices to pick from...so many beautiful pies, cupcakes, cookies....I picked up a couple of slices, one blueberry and one sour cherry with crumb topping...delicious!!!! Good thing I don't live close to this shop...it's irresistable:)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Banana Cream Pie...Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

You haven't been to Leesburg, if you haven't taken home a pie from Mom's Apple Pie.
This is a bakery, not a restaurant. There's no place to sit at the bakery.
But what a charming bakery. The staff are always friendly, and the pies are always good.
OK...so the crust is not crispy like the lard crust Grandma used to make, but it comes in a close second.
The only real problem is sometimes they run out, so you have to come in early.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pies and treats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This is our stop for holidays pies and treats. The place is very small but can't be missed in its own intersection. Parking a limited but people come in and out quickly. Come early as this place is a favorite and you risk selling out of the best pies.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moms Apple Pie also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Moms Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moms Apple Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.