We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sweets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moms Apple Pie

Moms Apple Pie
220 Loudoun Street SE, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 8590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 182 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Doesn't look like much from outside, very small/old building. But soo many good treats, great million dollar cookies, pumpkin muffins, and pies!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mom's pies, are, in a word, amazing. Whether you are the strawberry-rhubarb pie, the blackberry, the apple or any other pie, it is delicious. My father, who tends to be particular about his pies, loves anything from here that involves the crumb crust, and has been known to hint about receiving Mom's pies for his birthday.

Yes, prices are steeper than your average grocery-chain pie with old fruit, but it is well worth it. My only complaint is that Mom's no longer makes their mouthwatering breakfast croissants!

Would you be impressed to know that the First Lady stopped by the Occoquan location just to buy a pie? I was.

Please note that the Leesburg location is a tiny little store sandwiched between Market & Loudoun Streets. This is a buy and go sort of place, no sitting down at all. You have to return home to sit down and eat the pie. If you can make it that long.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

You really can't go wrong here. My personal favorites include the banana cream pie, the blubbery crumb, and the coconut custard. If you like any of these, go try and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sugar High”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Best cookies I had in years I had to keep going back for more.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Got Pie?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

That's the message they frequently put in the window of this place. Damn them and their relentless marketing strategy! I drive past this place at least 6 times a day, it's all I can do NOT to turn in - the pies are GREAT. We have bought pies here many times, never had a bad one. The owner has his own farm to grow some of the stuff that goes into the pies, so the fillings are always fresh and seasonal. This is a local institution, for sure. So now a note to The Pie Man: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can you offer us some pies with gluten free crusts?? I haven't been able to actually eat your pies in a few years, but I frequently buy them for special occasions/guests. It kills me. GLUTEN FREE? PLEASE? With sugar crumb topping on it??

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moms Apple Pie also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Moms Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moms Apple Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.