We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year 2007” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy New Year 2007”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Wow! Glad that we didn't read the reviews here before booking our stay or we may not have booked. We booked an overnight package for New Years Eve. The resort was offering 3 different packages: accomodations and (#1)5 course dinner with champagne, party favors for $400; (#2) nice dinner with champagne, party favors for $300; (#3) King accomodations for about $180. (They actually limited guests that evening to people who were staying at the resort. This was a nice touch for those of us trying to have a nice New Years Eve party without all crowds.) Having visited the spa before (and thouroughly enjoying that) we knew there were a few different restaurants at the property. We booked Package #3 and decided to eat dinner at the Tavern which basically offers "Bar" style fare. We arrived at 3:45 PM. The valet parking was fabulous. Check in which was quick and easy. Our room was spacious and clean. The rooms are dark though and could use more light. We got situated, went over the Room Service menu and ordered breakfast for the next morning. (Room Service is expensive here. Our breakfast for 2 was about $60). I had forgotten something at home, so a quick run there and back was necessary. Luckily home is only 15 minutes away. I called ahead to the valet who was quick and my car was there when I went downstairs. About 5 PM we called the front desk to ask which restaurants were open to us. The Riverside Hearth was reserved for #1 guests. There was another reserved for # 2 guests. The Tavern had live music and was there for all the other guests of the resort. We were informed the Tavern would be serving food until 6 PM. We headed downstairs. When we arrived about 5:15, we were informed the kitchen was closed. No dinner at Lansdowne unless you had Package #1 or #2, order Room Service (or unless you got there before 5 PM apparently.). This was "Disappointment #1" as we had chosen Lansdowne as a "safe" place for the evenings activities so there would be no driving. We left the resort and headed to Ashburn for a quick bite to eat and then came back to the resort for the Tavern New Years Party. The Tavern was nicely decorated, comfortable seating and had a live band which was very good. There were pool tables, dance floor, shuffle board games, party favors and balloons. This is a smoking area and can get pretty "smokey" as they allow cigars and cigarrettes. The cocktails were nice and service was quick. We had ordered a couple of "shots" to toast each other with. After having 2 each (over a period of 1 1/2 hours) we were informed we could not have another "shot" but could have a cocktail or beer. I asked our server why as we were not driving (we were staying at the hotel), nor were we drunk or being out of hand. We were informed that this was just their policy as they "have had trouble in the past". It did not seem to make sense that we could have as many cocktails, beer, or wine, as we wanted, just not "shots". "Disappointment #2." The New Years Party was fun and everyone seemed to be having a good time. At midnight the Tavern passed around complimentary champagne for a New Years Toast. We charged our tab to our room and went upstairs shortly after midnight to go to sleep. The King size bed was extremely comfortable. There were plenty of pillows and blankets and we slept like babies. Room service was right on time with our breakfast which was hot and tasty. Check out was at 12 and went very smoothly. Our room service, tavern tab, room and valet charges were all combined for a quick checkout with only 1 charge. However, "Disappointment #3", were the valet charges from the resort. We were not informed there was a daily charge for use of the valet until check out. Had we known, we may not have tipped the valets quite so much. (Etiquette says $2-3 when they bring you your car and $0 when they park it for you. We gave them $3 each way.) All in all, we had a great stay, but would probably book a #1 package next time so we could save some money (total resort, dinner, bar tab, breakfast, valet = $500) and we would not have to leave for dinner! Note: the rooms do not have but need to small refrigerators as the ice bucket is small.

  • Liked — The huge comfy King size bed!
  • Disliked — room was dark
  • Tips/Secrets — make reservations for restaurant or make sure you know (any they know) the hours!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    184
    118
    69
    50
See reviews for
135
219
45
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

Horrible. I booked the hotel because I heard it was fabulous. I booked the family escape which gave us two rooms (1 for the kids and 1 for the adults) sounds good...well we get there the hotel is freezing (ok no biggie right) we check into the rooms and it smells as soon as you open the door...we asked the staff tochange everything and they did. still same smell. we took a shower and put on one of the robes went to bed woke up the next morning with bug bites all over our body!!! yes the king size bed was infested! the kids room thank goodness (two twins) they didn't have any. the menu sucked too...not enough variety...the spa well if you're used to elizabeth arden don't waste your time there either. the rooms needed to be upgraded ...i know the hotel is close to leisure world but perhaps that's their market. so overall - rooms have bed bugs and they need to be upgraded, menu needs more variety, turn down the ac! in the hotel lobby...wash the linen in different detergent...never will go again and definitely will never recommend

  • Liked — valet
  • Disliked — rooms! room service! menu!
  • Tips/Secrets — choose another golf resort
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We have stayed there the last three years for our anniversary. We love the rooms. Very attractive. Only complaint would be the lighting or lack of it. The pools are nice for couples or if you are traveling with kids. I would love to know how someone got a rate of 109 per night!! We have always paid in the upper 100's or low 200's for one night which is pricey but it is a nice get-away!

  • Liked — the room accesories
  • Disliked — the bed was a little hard
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC/NOVA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We recently stayed at Lansdowne as part of a wedding weekend. The hotel is lovely, the public areas very nice and the catered food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was adequate but not fabulous. As a matter of fact, by 10:30 they had run out of many items and were not replenishing the platters in spite of the fact that the brunch didn't close until 11.
My biggest complaint is the rooms. For the special rate of $165 plus resort fee (exercise room, newspaper and self-parking) we got an average room, with not enough towels and those we got wouldn't dry. There was a ratty rug on the bathroom floor that didn't match the colors (couldn't figure why it was there) and the a/c did not work well. In addition, the tub did not drain properly.
All in all, it was fine for a place to stay because the wedding was there but I would not go out of my way to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

I'd been hearing how great Lansdowne was from co-workers and friends, and now having been for myself I can say I don't agree at all. This is a "resort" stuck in the middle of an office park, not the spacious grounds I was expecting. The lobby was nice, and the breakfast buffet was probably the best part of my visit. The "quiet pool" was closed because of a lack of lifeguards so we were forced to sun with all the noisy families and splashing kids. And our room was one with a lovely load bearing beam splitting the window in two tiny parts. For all the hype and the price, I expect much more.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Very relaxing and a great place to get away, without actually have to get on an airplane. The rooms were very nice. The hotel is decorated beautifully. The spa is AMAZING. My only gripe is the cost...of the food. The breakfast in the Riverside Hearth was included in our package, and the food was great. For our anniversary dinner, we ate at Lansdowne Grille, and I wasn't impressed, especially for the price. I ordered the special, which was Mahi Mahi...the portion was small, and it was way overcooked. The ambiance was great, and the live perfomer was excellent. There are lots of restaurants and a premium outlet mall hearby, so there's plenty to do. The staff was very friendly, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

my wife and I spent the Easter Hoiliday at the resort. The new spa is awesome. The Golf course and rooms were outstanding. The area is a little snooty but the people seemed very nice along the way. For $109.00 a nihgt you can't beat it.

Great TIme.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.