We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding weekend for family and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Northern VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding weekend for family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, reception, breakfast and accommodations were top notch. The staff and Lansdowne wedding coordinator, Leslie Coe, could not have been nicer. My daughter and son-in-law were very pleased with their wedding and the whole weekend. Our guests enjoyed the pools, spa, exercise room, golf and restaurants. The shuttle to and from the airport also worked out very well for people traveling by plane. It was a wonderful experience and gave us good memories to treasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    179
    113
    67
    50
See reviews for
133
214
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My family recently stayed here for a family event, and the service was absolutely horrible. We were harassed by the one of the dining managers for ID's, snatching my drink from my hand and sticking his nose into it to smell it for alcohol. It was only juice, and I'm of legal age anyways. In our group about 5 of the rooms TV's did not function correctly. It was quicker to get up and change the channel than to deal with the remote. We were only given half of the towels we needed by the maid service. And on the morning of our departure we were downstairs trying to get coffee in some to go cups to take up stairs as we prepared for our plane ride home. We asked for the cups and about 10 min later, still no cups. Finally we took some regular mugs up with us.

These may not seem that bad, and usually these types of things would not bother me too much, but the way they were handled was horrible. Every worker there I encountered was rude to me. When asked if there was a Wendy's around the desk man told us no. We asked him to check and he bluntly said there wasn't and he wouldn't check. We went up stairs and got our GPS to find out there was one a couple miles down the road...even if he thought he knew he could have at least checked upon our request to.

The service was horrible, and the rooms were not that great... not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Lansdown charges Four Seasons prices while offering Holiday Inn level service and ambiance. Lansdowne is a favorite conference center for my company and it is in desperate need of some TLC. A little paint here, a rug steam clean there, a quick scrub of the baseboards, and updated lighting fixtures in the guest rooms.

If you are here for a conference, they will feed you into a coma. But there are no coffee pots in the rooms and only one restaurant serves "complimentary" tea and coffee in the morning. And don't think you will be able to squeeze in a spa service if you have a spare 90 minutes in your conference schedule. They are very polite when you call but completely unable to accommodate your schedule even if only to offer another service.

The exercise room and pools were the best part of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night over the memorial day weekend. Had a hospitality suite, huge living room plus seperate bedroom. Room furnishings were a little outdated but we weren't there to sit in our room all day. Pull out sofa wasn't the most comfy but worked out ok for our 2 children. Arrived much earlier than check inn time at 4pm (arrived at 11.30am) but lucky for us our room was ready. The best thing about this hotel was the outdoor pools. Lovely pools with waterslide and zero entry section for little ones. Great service from pool wait staff. Lifeguards on duty. Great spot for a summer get away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I recently attended a business conference at Lansdowne Resort. The facility is very nice and very well kept. It does, however, have a bit of a "factory" feel. There are lots of events going on and I never felt like our conference was anything special for the resort. The staff seemed to be rushing us out of our various rooms - e.g. starting to clean up while we were finishing up. We had dinner the first night in part of the ball room and the acoustics were horrible and the set up looked like we were going to a bad wedding. The food was generally good and we were provided with exactly what we had booked - no more, no less. I felt like I could have been in any conference center anywhere in the US.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasementOffice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband visit Lansdowne a few times a year. We live less than three miles away and this is the perfect get away to reconnect as a couple. My husband and I are both well travelled and this small boutique hotel is one of the nicest we've stayed at in the country. The grounds are well maintained throughout the year, the staff is gracious, the rooms are very luxurious, the food in the hotel is top notch and the outdoor pools are fabulous. The outdoor pools are heated and open from early May through October

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We have many of our immediate neighbors come to Lansdowne for a nearby relaxing getaway.

As Washington, DC's only four diamond AAA resort we do offer spa, golf, indoor-outdoor pool complex, exceptional food and more! Please come back and see us again soon. Our free outdoor "Sounds of Summer" concert series starts June 5th and continues each Friday night through Labor Day weekend. It is a great way to spend a beautiful summer evening.

Again, thank you for your review.

The Staff & Management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My partner and I spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend at Lansdowne.
We had a middle suite on the 7th floor which was actually quite large and it had a lovely view. The room itself seemed to be recently decorated with minor refurbishments. The bathroom was small and the sink and shower were in separate rooms--I am not sure of the logic or reasoning behind this design. My biggest problem with the Lansdowne was noise. The rooms and doors are very poorly soundproofed. We could hear the conversations and activities of the couple in the next room to ours. On the Saturday morning we were awoken to the cries of "Room Service" from one of the hotel staff. He spent over an hour banging on doors crying "Room Service" in his baritone voice. The sounds echoed through our room--you could feel the walls shaking. All of these problems were a sign of poor insulation and the use of cheap un insulated doors. For this reason alone we would not stay there again. On Saturday we visited the spa for a couples massage. The spa is beautiful. Our massage was average considering we paid a total of $300.00 for it. We did not eat on the premises so I cannot comment on any of the restaurants. If you are looking for a quiet getaway for relaxation this is not the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We are sorry to hear that all your expectations were not met. The Easter weekend was a particularly busy time for the resort with many families celebrating the holiday. We are sorry you did not have an opportunity to sample our award winning food selection and service.

Your comments regarding the noise and the delivery of room service orders will be shared with the appropriate departments in order to improve our service levels.

Again, thank you for your commments. We need all comments to insure we address guests' expectations.

The Staff & Management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.