We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pools!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Loved the pools!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night over the memorial day weekend. Had a hospitality suite, huge living room plus seperate bedroom. Room furnishings were a little outdated but we weren't there to sit in our room all day. Pull out sofa wasn't the most comfy but worked out ok for our 2 children. Arrived much earlier than check inn time at 4pm (arrived at 11.30am) but lucky for us our room was ready. The best thing about this hotel was the outdoor pools. Lovely pools with waterslide and zero entry section for little ones. Great service from pool wait staff. Lifeguards on duty. Great spot for a summer get away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    184
    118
    69
    50
See reviews for
135
219
45
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I recently attended a business conference at Lansdowne Resort. The facility is very nice and very well kept. It does, however, have a bit of a "factory" feel. There are lots of events going on and I never felt like our conference was anything special for the resort. The staff seemed to be rushing us out of our various rooms - e.g. starting to clean up while we were finishing up. We had dinner the first night in part of the ball room and the acoustics were horrible and the set up looked like we were going to a bad wedding. The food was generally good and we were provided with exactly what we had booked - no more, no less. I felt like I could have been in any conference center anywhere in the US.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasementOffice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband visit Lansdowne a few times a year. We live less than three miles away and this is the perfect get away to reconnect as a couple. My husband and I are both well travelled and this small boutique hotel is one of the nicest we've stayed at in the country. The grounds are well maintained throughout the year, the staff is gracious, the rooms are very luxurious, the food in the hotel is top notch and the outdoor pools are fabulous. The outdoor pools are heated and open from early May through October

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We have many of our immediate neighbors come to Lansdowne for a nearby relaxing getaway.

As Washington, DC's only four diamond AAA resort we do offer spa, golf, indoor-outdoor pool complex, exceptional food and more! Please come back and see us again soon. Our free outdoor "Sounds of Summer" concert series starts June 5th and continues each Friday night through Labor Day weekend. It is a great way to spend a beautiful summer evening.

Again, thank you for your review.

The Staff & Management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My partner and I spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend at Lansdowne.
We had a middle suite on the 7th floor which was actually quite large and it had a lovely view. The room itself seemed to be recently decorated with minor refurbishments. The bathroom was small and the sink and shower were in separate rooms--I am not sure of the logic or reasoning behind this design. My biggest problem with the Lansdowne was noise. The rooms and doors are very poorly soundproofed. We could hear the conversations and activities of the couple in the next room to ours. On the Saturday morning we were awoken to the cries of "Room Service" from one of the hotel staff. He spent over an hour banging on doors crying "Room Service" in his baritone voice. The sounds echoed through our room--you could feel the walls shaking. All of these problems were a sign of poor insulation and the use of cheap un insulated doors. For this reason alone we would not stay there again. On Saturday we visited the spa for a couples massage. The spa is beautiful. Our massage was average considering we paid a total of $300.00 for it. We did not eat on the premises so I cannot comment on any of the restaurants. If you are looking for a quiet getaway for relaxation this is not the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We are sorry to hear that all your expectations were not met. The Easter weekend was a particularly busy time for the resort with many families celebrating the holiday. We are sorry you did not have an opportunity to sample our award winning food selection and service.

Your comments regarding the noise and the delivery of room service orders will be shared with the appropriate departments in order to improve our service levels.

Again, thank you for your commments. We need all comments to insure we address guests' expectations.

The Staff & Management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

A few girl friends and I stayed here for a night to recharge. Each of us had spa appointments booked for the afternoon which started the weekend out right. The spa was clean, attractive, and the services were wonderful. Even better, we will able to stay within the spa and use the whirlpool, sauna, and steam room after our services were finished. This is where we really unwound and caught up with each other. After we left the spa, we were totally relaxed. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

We had a great dinner that evening while lounging in soft oversized chairs, sipping on wine in front of a fire. We even played Wii for the first time while there.

We had heard great reviews about the brunch but ended up just having the regular breakfast buffet instead. It was great and I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't want to stay until 11am when the brunch begins.

Surprisingly, it was an extremely affordable weekend that did not break the bank. It is one of the few hotels in the Washington DC area with free parking, great amenities, and such nice spa facilities. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning a ladies weekend away.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are so glad to hear you and your girlfriends enjoyed your recent visit to Lansdowne Resort and our Spa Minerale. We are the greater Washington, DC's only four diamond AAA resort with spa, golf, pools and more.

Please come back and visit us again soon! Our free outdoor Sounds of Summer concert series begins Friday June 5. It is a great way to spend a relaxing summer evening!

The Staff & Management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We decided to take a last minute mini-vacation and go to the spa at Landsdowne and spend the night. We each had a stress relieving massage and ate at the golf club. After dinner we hung out in the bar and grill and played shuffleboard. There are very nice, comfortable sitting areas, with board games and books. We really enjoyed ourselves and are looking forward to going back when the outdoor pools are open.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2009
We at Lansdowne Resort are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As Washington, DC's only 4 diamond resort, located just 30 minutes from the beltway, we do have a lot to offer. The resort's beautiful grounds are really coming to life right now with the spring weather. The golf courses are open and beautiful! The outdoor pool complex will be opening in May, so please come back and see us again soon. Our free "Sounds of Summer" concert series will begin on Friday June 5th and go through September 4 - every Friday evening. A great way to spend a summer evening!

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to Lansdowne again soon.

The staff and management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

When you think of luxury what comes to mind? Hopefully it’s not Lansdowne Resort. My wife and I spent a couple of nights here in March for a restful getaway weekend; however, it was anything but restful and we’d have done better just staying home. Where to start:

As has been reported in other posts, the rooms are nothing special. Our first room was an average size King Room that you’d get at any other hotel. The bathroom was small and dark. The room was dark. Everything is dark because the room has low wattage light bulbs and a permanent fall color scheme of orange and dark green. The technology in the room is from the 90’s – bulky, old Magnavox 27” TV, basic clock radio, basic hotel phone, limited cable channels. Our second room after upgrading to a suite, while certainly bigger with a separate seating area outside the bedroom, had the similar low light problems. The bathroom lighting was particularly horrible. Upon closing the shower curtain in the standard sized tub, it was like you were taking a shower in the dark. The only light in the area was a can light that shown straight down halfway between the toilet and the tub. This was a suite??? All in all, the rooms are nothing to write home about.

On our second day there, we had booked a massage one week prior to arrival; however, the spa had no record of our reservation and there were no other times available until the morning we were leaving. My wife was able to get a facial and use the spa facilities, but it really wasn’t anything special.

After speaking to the manager about these problems, she credited us one night’s lodging and made reservations for us in their fine dining restaurant which we clearly could have just walked in and gotten a seat just as easily. I will say that the food was excellent. Try the rib eye steak! However, when it came time to leave, I was presented with a bill for the meal except for the dessert which was “on the house.” My assumption was that the hotel was covering the entire bill. One of our servers even knew that we had trouble with the spa that afternoon. After explaining once again my conversation with the hotel manager, the restaurant contacted the front desk, and the dinner was taken care of by the hotel.

Lansdowne is always talked about in the DC area as a luxurious place to go and spend some time, play some golf, enjoy the spa, and eat a fine meal. While this may be partially true, as one who has stayed in much finer hotels around the world (check out the Hilton Venice), Lansdowne didn’t really strike me as anything special. Unfortunately, it’s barely average.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarketer, Marketing Department at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2009
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that your visit to Lansdowne Resort was not as you had expected. The decor of the resort is reflective of nature, bringing the colors of nature indoors. We do hope the complimentary night we extended did help with your visit.

The culinary team, lead by our Executive Chef Jason Lage does an outstanding job and we are glad you did enjoy your dinner at "On the Potomac" restaurant.

We continually strive to improve our services and facilitites, and do appreciate your comments. Please come back and see us again soon. The resort looks outstanding in the spring, with trees, shrubs and plants in full bloom! The "Sounds of Summer" free outdoor concert series begins Friday June 5th and continues through September 4, 2009.

The staff & management of Lansdowne Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.