We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding!!! Shabby Room:(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Wedding!!! Shabby Room:(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very well done on the wedding side...BUT..I would never stay here unless my company paid for it! Rooms are gross, bathroom ceiling is literally a little over 6 feet tall...you can touch the ceiling if your arms are above your shoulders!!!!. Toilet is the the mini me version...where you knees hit your chin. Awesome. Beds were way too soft. The A/C unit was noisy and very temperamental. Carpet had that grungeness that made me wear shoes the whole time. Either way...good wedding facility, happy couple and fun night...but not my choice of rooms in the VA/DC area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear fivestartraveler,
Thanks for your honest and candid review. The good news is we have a plan in place to completely renovate all 296 guestrooms and suites, so all of what you experienced will soon be a thing of the past. With that being said, Lansdowne Resort is a great getaway for people in the DMV who want to get away and experience all that our unique part of the country has to offer. Whether here for a wedding, to experience the spa, play golf, or visit the many wineries in Loudoun County, we are a great option for many people. Thanks for your comments and we hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Sincerely,

James J Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    184
    121
    70
    52
See reviews for
136
220
45
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I were sent here when our flight was canceled for our trip home so the airline put us here. The rooms are very big and the beds are very comfortable. There is a golf course nearby. Its about a 15-20 minute shuttle ride from the airport. Very clean, very nice. We enjoyed a great breakfast with lots of options of items on breakfast items. The breakfast for two cost us $46.00. The only thing I would say that was a negative is that it may need just a little updating, the colors of the furniture reminded me of the late 70's with the orange and tan tones. But I would consider this hotel if I ever need to go back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I attended the wedding of one of my best friends daughters on April 5, 2014. The reception was held at Lansdowne Resort. Everything went off beautifully. The event coordinator Leslie Eyster and her staff were awesome. They were on top of everything, so my friend could totally enjoy her daughter's special day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you are looking for a quick getaway weekend Landsdowne Resort is the place to go. Thanks for an awesome experience and the generosity. The Romantic weekend package was a great deal and definitely worth the price. Guys take advantage of this deal, she will love it!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Tony R,
Thank you for your great 5-star review for Lansdowne Resort. We appreciate your kind words and sharing them with everyone. Like many people in the DC area, our resort is a great getaway with many options not only on site, but also throughout Loudoun County. Thanks again four your 5-start review and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had my wedding (ceremony & reception) at Lansdowne, and with many out of town guests, we thought it was perfect that they had the hotel for guests to stay in right there. My family and I had an awful experience with the hotel portion of our event.

Despite having confirmation number and paperwork, my parents were told at check-in that they had no room reserved for them. For someone who has paid almost $30,000 for the wedding and breakfast the next morning, in addition to booking 58 rooms for guests, it was unacceptable that it happened. It took the front desk 20 minutes to fix their error which caused my parents to be late to the rehearsal dinner. We had 3 guests receive the wrong type of room and when asked to be placed in the correct room, Lansdowne couldn't provide that.

We experienced so many more mishaps related to the hotel, and if someone is reading this and thinking of having their wedding guests stay there, PLEASE DON'T. There are MANY other hotels in the area that are less expensive and provide a better quality of room (Lansdowne rooms are so small) and a better quality of service.

Overall, for a hotel that is quick to boast about their numbers of occupancy and bookings, their service and awareness is awful. And good luck getting your opinions to be handled professionally--they are quick to ignore and sweep under the rug.

(the bell men were the best thing about the experience)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I visit this Hotel every year for the past 4 years for our Anniversary. We love the quiet serene location that allows us to focus on "us". Great Spa for couples too. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course which offers the Potomac River as a backdrop. Very bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. The hotel staff are great and provide you with excellent service. However, the rooms are dark, dated and in need of some serious upgrading. The location is isolated, so you need to drive to everything. But the scenery around the hotel is pretty and the golf courses looked pretty good. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Stena,
Thanks for your review. Good news: our rooms will receive a complete renovation in 2014, so this is definitely being addressed. For business travelers, we are far from being isolated. In fact, most business travelers prefer us over competitors as we are just eight miles away from Dulles International Airport. Our golf courses are highly rated and named one of the Top 50 'Places to Play by Golfstyles magazine. If your travel brings you back to Leesburg, we hope you will consider us again for your leisure and business needs.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.