We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit card info stolen at hotel bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Credit card info stolen at hotel bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was put up in this hotel by United, who cancelled my flight home and stranded me in the DC area. After a long day of travel, my fiance picked us up two beers at the bar with her credit card. We used my card on our vacation, and she used her credit card at the Lansdowne bar. Big mistake. When we arrived home the next day the credit card company called and said that the card had been used three times at establishments around the area. This card hadn't been used for weeks and certainly not around the DC area except for at this one bar.
The management seemed somewhat interested in the fact that someone working there was stealing credit card info but I never heard back on any action taken to find out what happened. To my knowledge the person who stole our info is still employed there.

In summary, nice hotel (hence the two stars) but use CASH at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Harveylaw,
Thanks for your concern, and for the record, we can publicly state that our accounting office conducted a full and thorough investigation into the allegations. We also communicated with you via email numerous times, yet our numerous attempts to contact you via phone to resolve the issue were not returned, although we left several messages. However, we were able to complete the investigation with the data you did provide and we trust this has been resolved to your satisfaction. Despite this being a very unfortunate occurrance and one I cannot recall having happened before during my time at the resort, I can report that our employees working that night are in excellent standing with us and are exceptionally trustworthy employees. Once again, we trust this issue has been resolved and we regret this isolated incident impacted your stay.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    184
    120
    70
    52
See reviews for
136
220
45
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lansdowne demands and enforces cancellation notice 72 hours ahead of check in time, so be sure that your life will not change within the window. This is one of the longest cancellation notice requirements that I have ever seen. I can say from personal experience that 48 hours will not do for Lansdowne, and that you will be charged for one night's stay.

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. The rooms are always attractive and clean. Some of the rooms have very nice golf course views. I miss On the Potomac, the fine dining restaurant that is now closed. The other dining options are OK, but On the Potomac felt more special.

This is a golf resort, and the golf is very nice. As a golf resort it competes in my mind with similar resorts in Florida, Arizona, and Nevada and is a firm middle of the pack choice.

I calculate the value at poor because I averaged the cost of the stay that I was able to complete with the cost of the stay that I was unable to complete, canceled within 48 hours, and was charged for. In the event that I return to Lansdowne, I will average that cost in, and see if the value then rises to average.

Room Tip: Always ask for a golf course view. The other views are uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was here for a small meeting and have been here several times. On the plus side the property is lovely and the meeting spaces and restaurants are excellent. The food is wonderful and ranges from the standard stuff to new or unusual foods to try (dried kiwi on the coffee bar, breakfast roll with eggs and meats, etc.).Room amenities are nice with large bottles of soap, shampoo, etc in the shower with pumps, good tv, nice chair with footstool. Great fitness center. The downsides: only two accessible plugs in your room, desk chair height does not match the desk height (chin on the desk!), disability access to the dining room is far from the main entrance, and AC in my room was not working well. Finally, the signage for the resort makes it very difficult to find even with GPS. The rooms are quite dark, as well. Overall, a lovely place which needs a bit more attention to detail to get a 5 start rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Overall, the resort is beautifully maintained and has a number of very fine amenities for their guests. The staff was, in most instances, very courteous and helpful. But my wife and I went there to escape our normal realities and, even though we were not far from home, leave behind the world for a time. But unfortunately, the little things can matter a great deal in those situations. Little things like the menu at Pub 46 being changed, even though the website has not been (my wife wanted to go there for a specific dish). Or the "On the Potomac" restaurant being closed, even though all of the room materials state otherwise. That the phone did not work properly. That we had to call multiple times for several items to be brought up. That the bed required all of the extra pillows in the room, and an extra blanket, to provide sufficient comfort for sleeping. That, at Stonewall's Tavern, I ordered a rather expensive steak and was not offered a steak knife or steak sauce until my steak was nearly completed.

I could go on, but you get the idea. My point is that while I am sure, to some, this will appear to be a series of minor complaints, each one gnaws at the relaxed illusion that vacationers and those looking to rest (particularly parents who get a weekend away from their kids) are looking to create until they add up to something that forces you to face the reality of the situation and remember that all of the imperfections of your normal life are never that far behind you.

Room Tip: I'm not sure the corner room really added anything. If you can get a room on a higher floor, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John K,
Thanks so much for submitting your review and with such helpful detail. I completely understand your perspective and agree that many times it is the little things that can make or break a great guest experience. Obviously, we strive to dot all the i's and cross all the t's and there is certainly no excuse for one of these occurrances to happen, much less mutliple times. Please understand that we are working on increasing the service levels and the overall guest experience. I arrived at the resort four months ago and while we have made great strides in many areas, we still have some work to do. I appreciate your constructive feedback and trust a future visit to our resort will result in a much different outcome.
Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This has been the second time we had the pleasure of staying at Lansdowne.it is a magical place. The views are spectacular- we experienced them from 2 of the golf courses,our room,& all the buildings.Service is impeccable- sometimes too attentive-as we experienced with the dining room manager in The Crooked Billet-who stopped by our table at least 6x's. What a pest! The food served in all the restaurants was creative using local game,farm and seasonal bounty-we just loved the beautiful food. The rooms are immaculate as well as the public areas. This is my kind of place! We are golfers - so Lansdowne offers 45 holes of unbelievable golf-o yeah!

Room Tip: This visit we used a travel website to get a better price-but of course our room location for the vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: very aware of the surrounding environment - preserve the forest & river valley which is evident by all the wildlife you can see on the grounds. You do not see disruption of natural landscape.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of friends and I played golf one afternoon at Lansdowne. It was a great experience to say the least. Just to start the staff at the club house was very friendly and accommodating as we got a late start. The golf course was beautiful and in excellent shape. The views from the Tee Boxes and Greens were great. Being a hack on the course, I can attest that the course was rewarding for a well hit ball, but doesn't overly penalize a player for a missed or into the rough shot. After our golf outing we visited the clubhouse for drinks and food. Again, the staff was very friendly, the food and drink was excellent. The seating in the club house was very comfortable and the view of the Potomac River and Mountains was beautiful. If you are looking for a great day of golf on a challenging and fun course, friendly staff, and great food and beverage on the 19th, Lansdowne is a must play resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Rosemary B,

Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful 5-star review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed all the guest experiences during your stay, especially the dining and the golf. As for your server, we have been striving to improve the service levels at the resort, so I guess on the bright side it is better to be overly attentive versus being under serviced. However, great feedback, and again, thanks so much for a great 5-star review.

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was at this resort for a quick overnight stay and have to say that it is quite beautiful and has some impressive views. I can understand why they host so many weddings! I was also pleased while the main business is really golf, their facilities were also perfect for a business meeting. Rooms are nice and big, free wifi, robes in room and Gilchrist and Sommes amenitites. We ate in 2 of the restaurants on site and the food was delicious. Its a bit of a ride from DC, especially in traffic but I look forward to having another meeting at this resort. My only complaint is that the pillows are small and too soft. I had to pile 3 of them to get some type of support for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.