We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back here...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Won't be going back here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have visited Landsdowne twice a year for the last five years, with our teens and as a quick romantic getaway alone. It has slowly gone down hill each year. The place is now looking worn, and aged with dingy stained carpets and the rooms are worn out looking with old TV, etc. Our room had a strong odor to it, which the front desk told us was the cleaning agents. The pool was so packed we could not find two lounge chairs together, because the pool is open to the golf club members, so basically the public. There used to be a designated adult pool, but that is now gone, so we had kids splashing all around us. I don't believe in charging resort fees if you can't enjoy the resort. I have twins and I used to be the parent bringing them to the pool all day, but its just too much there now. This was fourth of July weekend and there was a fireworks show on Saturday night, which we did not know about, it was open to the public, so it was a zoo trying to get back to the hotel and try and find parking. They placed our room next to the crew that put on the show, with comped rooms I assume. We finally had to call security at 1:00 am in the morning they were so loud and inconsiderate, going from room to room and slamming their doors. then they woke at 7:00 am and were even louder this went on the whole weekend. I believe when you pay for your room, maybe you are more respectful of others and their experience as well as your own. This is a group, convention, wedding, family, event destination and should not be marketed as a romantic getaway, because there is nothing romantic about it now, as a couple we simply don't bring in the big bucks they want. The spa was nice and not crowded, but its over priced and it is not worthy of a splurge. I won't get a massage there any more because last summer when I got one, the table was moving a lot and I kept thinking it was going to collapse with me on it, so I was unable to relax. I told the masseuse about this and he said all the tables were in use and that he was sorry. I felt I should have gotten a free massage it was so bad. We are military and savor our weekends away, we like to relax and splurge a little, but we honestly could not wait to leave. we have been there on less busy weekends and it was better but it has changed from when we first began going. The food...overpriced and not great. we have given up ordering room service it was so bad, and cold and the café/bar is bad too. The breakfast buffet is about the only nice thing and no one really goes into the gym if you want to workout. The live music and concerts are fun but we are done with Landsdowne and moving on to new resorts...sad, it used to be a great place for us..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ktarman,

Thank you for being loyal guests of Lansdowne. I would like extend my sincerest apologies on behalf of my staff for the less than pleasurable stay you experienced. I am deeply disheartened to read that your stay with us would not inspire a return visit and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. I regret if any noise disturbed you during your time with us. We want our guests to experience a quiet and restful sleep during their stay. Your valued feedback will be shared with our management team to ensure we continue to put our guests first. We hope you'll reconsider giving us another chance in the future so that we may change your impression. Again, thank you for your honesty.

Sincerely,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    184
    121
    70
    52
See reviews for
136
220
45
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If we had traveled as a family, this would have been just fine. Who cares that the pool (all of them, including the "relaxation" pool) is swarming with children, if some of them are yours? Who cares that the rooms are a bit threadbare and dated, if your kids are going to be jumping around? Who cares that the place is way too crowded for the number of staff, as long as there's plenty of activities to keep the kids busy?

We are a thirty-something couple who just wanted a weekend away from the city in close proximity to the wineries so we could get some pampering and quiet time. We had a nice trip, but it was in spite of the hotel, not because of it. The room was dated, dark, and not well-designed. If I listed all the little things that made it less-than-stellar, it would seem petty (...so there are no light fixtures in the hallway of the room, making it impossible to use the closet...okay, there are no towel racks in the bathroom, whatever...hmm, it would have been nice if there was a nightstand on both sides of the bed, no biggie...) If this had been a $100 room, then whatever, but at $250+ a night, I expect a minimum of comfort. The bed was rock hard, the pillows were teeny-tiny and limited in number, and the comforter was just a thin blanket sandwiched between two scratchy flat sheets. We woke up every morning to the screams of the toddlers next door -- and we could hear every word they said with sparkling clarity. We also heard a number of other "conversations" from the adjoining rooms with disturbing clarity as well.

We ventured to the pool twice, and spent our time trying to keep our books out of the splash zone of the OVERWHELMING number of people (mainly kids). We tried On the Potomac (their nicer restaurant?), but were turned off by the poor service, horrible fish-market smell, and lackluster ambience. We left before we ordered -- it was that bad.

Just keep in mind that this resort doubles as a country club and hosts numerous summer camps for kids in the community, so hotel guests are not a priority. We came back from dinner out one night and COULDN'T EVEN GET ONTO THE PROPERTY. They were hosting a fireworks show, and the place was mobbed. They host this event every summer -- they couldn't have tipped us off with a letter in the morning to keep our car on property or allow extra time to get back? Or provided more staff to do valet? Or reserved parking for hotel guests only? I completely resented having to walk A MILE from our car to the hotel. What the heck am I paying for? The fireworks show was nice, and we enjoyed being able to watch it from the balcony of our room, overlooking the driving range, but our enjoyment was tempered by the frantic rush to try to make it back in time after searching for parking for twenty minutes (we ended up at an office building down the road).

The only bright spot was the spa, which was comfortable and well appointed. The services were luxurious and the staff was friendly, unobtrusive, and very good at their work. But overall, we'll be looking elsewhere the next time we're in the area. It's too bad there aren't more nice, luxury-level hotels in this area -- for those of us who aren't into the B&B thing, there are really limited options in the Leesburg area.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the driving range are great if you're there for the fireworks. The ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: They were environmentally friendly? There was nothing at all in the hotel that suggested this.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear IzziGirlAbroad,

Thank you for taking the time out to comment on your recent stay with us. I would like extend my sincerest apologies on behalf of my staff for the less than pleasurable stay you experienced.
I’d like to start off by saying that I am glad that you had a positive experience in Spa Minérale. That being said, it disappoints me to hear about your experience with our July 6th fireworks celebration. You should have been informed of all aspects of the celebration including parking. I regret that you had to park at an office building down the street. I will be sure to speak with our Rooms director to avoid a similar situation from happening next year. It is our intention to provide each and every guest the best experience possible. Please be assured that your review will be shared with our management team to ensure that we continue to put our guests first.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived, the air conditioning was broken. Kristin discounted our first night's stay 50% and offered us a free night in the future. Our stay was very relaxing, and we will return in August. My husband would love a small in and out kiosk in the lobby where you could grab a fast breakfast of coffee and Danish in the morning and ice cream or snacks in the afternoon, also maybe grab and go snacks.

Room Tip: We usually book 2 adjoining rooms, which have two full beds in one room and a king in the other. Thi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the no smoking policy. Would prefer shampoo in bottles instead of on wall. Hard to manage for me.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Walter B,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it very relaxing. Thank you for sharing your comments. Please accept my apologies for the problems we were having with the air conditioning; I am glad we were able to resolve the issue quickly. Thank you so much for choosing us and for your recommendation of a kiosk in the lobby. I will certainly take your recommendation into consideration. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent July 4th weekend there as a couple. Enjoyed the stay. The bar has live music on Friday nights, so we really enjoyed a Friday night bar/music/pool tables all smoke-free and an elevator ride away from our room! It got more crowded Sat night because of a July 4th event there. King bed room was nice, yes, decor is dark but I like that modern style. Bathroom was well decorated and modern. Room lighting is not that great-good task lighting but no lamp really lit up the room well. Some tips: bring a sleep noise machine or other white noise fan- the building has some kind of wall or acoustics issue that you hear everyone's conversations. But once we turned on the noise fan we slept just fine. Also, watch the wedding schedule (you can see it on your TV) and don't try to hit the bar within an hour after a wedding or in between a ceremony and reception- the bar gets mobbed for a bit. The rest of the time it's fine. If with kids, I noticed all kids had to leave the bar at 10pm on Fri night so they can't stay for the music much (it started at 9).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear MDBeachLoverAlso,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments. It was our pleasure to have you at Lansdowne Resort. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed Stonewalls Tavern and that you were pleased with the rooms. We greatly appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice facility with a lot of options for leisure/entertainment. But if I'd known in advance how horribly overcrowded the resort management has allowed this to become, I *never* would've come here. Despite 5 nice swimming pools, they were out of towels, out of chairs, the pools themselves were packed wall to wall and the deck and snack areas were dirty disaster zones. Seriously, this is a management issue - limit the memberships, or build an additional facility! We didn't feel like resort guests at all, rather more like straws on the camel's back. So disappointed that we spent time and money in this, totally not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear TT476,

We are deeply disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued customers. Thank you for your feedback, it is our hope that you will reconsider a future stay with us.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Lansdowne on the weekend of our 10th Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were kind, friendly and attentive throughout our visit, from beginning to end. The Spa was excellent and relaxing. The food was wonderful and artfully prepared. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The location was very convenient to shopping, attractions and major highways. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting again, perhaps with our children the next time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Corner King room configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bonsoir,

We are thrilled that you were able to spend your 10th anniversary with us. We are pleased that you chose us for this special occasion. Thank you for commenting on the wonderful service, our team is always thrilled to hear feedback such as this. We hope we can help you celebrate your special occasions for many years to come. We certainly look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Lansdowne Resort for one night over a busy Memorial Day weekend in 2013 (we're an over-30 adult couple, no kids). In booking the reservation, the staff was friendly and helpful over the phone. When we arrived at the property, however, no valet approached our vehicle or offered to help with our bags. Front desk staff was friendly, but a number of them were trainees, and they frequently had to get the attention of a manager to help answer our questions, making check-in slow. Our upper floor room was clean and attractive. We checked at the spa on the property, and they informed us no services were available through the weekend (all appointments were taken), so IMHO, they were not properly staffed to accommodate holiday weekend guests. Several weddings were occuring on property, and they seemed to command a lot of the staff attention. The pool areas were clean and staffed with lifeguards, but one of the outdoor pools was closed and the indoor lap pool was crowded with active young children. We relaxed at one of the outdoor pools and the cafe staff was attentive. Drinks were a good size, but not terribly strong. We opted for dinner in the town of Leesburg, and there were many quality choices in the 'old-town' section, rather than the restaurants on property, which did not appear to offer many vegetarian options on their menus. We had the buffet-style breakfast in the morning, which was typical resort or crusie-style fare, lots of options, but nothing especially innovative. Overall, Lansdowne Resort was clean and attractive-looking in a corporate/Disney-like way, but the staffing and services left much to be desired, and in our opinion, makes them fall well short of the 4-star reputation they promote.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Steve J,
I am very disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your most recent visit. This feedback is certainly not indicative of the comments we typically receive so please accept my apologies for the shortcomings that you endured. I hope that we can earn an opportunity to better serve you in the future as I am confident we would be able to provide you with an experience you would expect from a four diamond property. Please know that your business is greatly valued and we are sorry that we fell short during your stay.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.