We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place for couples without kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not a good place for couples without kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If we had traveled as a family, this would have been just fine. Who cares that the pool (all of them, including the "relaxation" pool) is swarming with children, if some of them are yours? Who cares that the rooms are a bit threadbare and dated, if your kids are going to be jumping around? Who cares that the place is way too crowded for the number of staff, as long as there's plenty of activities to keep the kids busy?

We are a thirty-something couple who just wanted a weekend away from the city in close proximity to the wineries so we could get some pampering and quiet time. We had a nice trip, but it was in spite of the hotel, not because of it. The room was dated, dark, and not well-designed. If I listed all the little things that made it less-than-stellar, it would seem petty (...so there are no light fixtures in the hallway of the room, making it impossible to use the closet...okay, there are no towel racks in the bathroom, whatever...hmm, it would have been nice if there was a nightstand on both sides of the bed, no biggie...) If this had been a $100 room, then whatever, but at $250+ a night, I expect a minimum of comfort. The bed was rock hard, the pillows were teeny-tiny and limited in number, and the comforter was just a thin blanket sandwiched between two scratchy flat sheets. We woke up every morning to the screams of the toddlers next door -- and we could hear every word they said with sparkling clarity. We also heard a number of other "conversations" from the adjoining rooms with disturbing clarity as well.

We ventured to the pool twice, and spent our time trying to keep our books out of the splash zone of the OVERWHELMING number of people (mainly kids). We tried On the Potomac (their nicer restaurant?), but were turned off by the poor service, horrible fish-market smell, and lackluster ambience. We left before we ordered -- it was that bad.

Just keep in mind that this resort doubles as a country club and hosts numerous summer camps for kids in the community, so hotel guests are not a priority. We came back from dinner out one night and COULDN'T EVEN GET ONTO THE PROPERTY. They were hosting a fireworks show, and the place was mobbed. They host this event every summer -- they couldn't have tipped us off with a letter in the morning to keep our car on property or allow extra time to get back? Or provided more staff to do valet? Or reserved parking for hotel guests only? I completely resented having to walk A MILE from our car to the hotel. What the heck am I paying for? The fireworks show was nice, and we enjoyed being able to watch it from the balcony of our room, overlooking the driving range, but our enjoyment was tempered by the frantic rush to try to make it back in time after searching for parking for twenty minutes (we ended up at an office building down the road).

The only bright spot was the spa, which was comfortable and well appointed. The services were luxurious and the staff was friendly, unobtrusive, and very good at their work. But overall, we'll be looking elsewhere the next time we're in the area. It's too bad there aren't more nice, luxury-level hotels in this area -- for those of us who aren't into the B&B thing, there are really limited options in the Leesburg area.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the driving range are great if you're there for the fireworks. The ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: They were environmentally friendly? There was nothing at all in the hotel that suggested this.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear IzziGirlAbroad,

Thank you for taking the time out to comment on your recent stay with us. I would like extend my sincerest apologies on behalf of my staff for the less than pleasurable stay you experienced.
I’d like to start off by saying that I am glad that you had a positive experience in Spa Minérale. That being said, it disappoints me to hear about your experience with our July 6th fireworks celebration. You should have been informed of all aspects of the celebration including parking. I regret that you had to park at an office building down the street. I will be sure to speak with our Rooms director to avoid a similar situation from happening next year. It is our intention to provide each and every guest the best experience possible. Please be assured that your review will be shared with our management team to ensure that we continue to put our guests first.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    170
    104
    63
    47
See reviews for
122
208
40
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived, the air conditioning was broken. Kristin discounted our first night's stay 50% and offered us a free night in the future. Our stay was very relaxing, and we will return in August. My husband would love a small in and out kiosk in the lobby where you could grab a fast breakfast of coffee and Danish in the morning and ice cream or snacks in the afternoon, also maybe grab and go snacks.

Room Tip: We usually book 2 adjoining rooms, which have two full beds in one room and a king in the other. Thi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the no smoking policy. Would prefer shampoo in bottles instead of on wall. Hard to manage for me.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Walter B,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it very relaxing. Thank you for sharing your comments. Please accept my apologies for the problems we were having with the air conditioning; I am glad we were able to resolve the issue quickly. Thank you so much for choosing us and for your recommendation of a kiosk in the lobby. I will certainly take your recommendation into consideration. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent July 4th weekend there as a couple. Enjoyed the stay. The bar has live music on Friday nights, so we really enjoyed a Friday night bar/music/pool tables all smoke-free and an elevator ride away from our room! It got more crowded Sat night because of a July 4th event there. King bed room was nice, yes, decor is dark but I like that modern style. Bathroom was well decorated and modern. Room lighting is not that great-good task lighting but no lamp really lit up the room well. Some tips: bring a sleep noise machine or other white noise fan- the building has some kind of wall or acoustics issue that you hear everyone's conversations. But once we turned on the noise fan we slept just fine. Also, watch the wedding schedule (you can see it on your TV) and don't try to hit the bar within an hour after a wedding or in between a ceremony and reception- the bar gets mobbed for a bit. The rest of the time it's fine. If with kids, I noticed all kids had to leave the bar at 10pm on Fri night so they can't stay for the music much (it started at 9).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear MDBeachLoverAlso,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments. It was our pleasure to have you at Lansdowne Resort. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed Stonewalls Tavern and that you were pleased with the rooms. We greatly appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice facility with a lot of options for leisure/entertainment. But if I'd known in advance how horribly overcrowded the resort management has allowed this to become, I *never* would've come here. Despite 5 nice swimming pools, they were out of towels, out of chairs, the pools themselves were packed wall to wall and the deck and snack areas were dirty disaster zones. Seriously, this is a management issue - limit the memberships, or build an additional facility! We didn't feel like resort guests at all, rather more like straws on the camel's back. So disappointed that we spent time and money in this, totally not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear TT476,

We are deeply disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued customers. Thank you for your feedback, it is our hope that you will reconsider a future stay with us.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Lansdowne on the weekend of our 10th Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were kind, friendly and attentive throughout our visit, from beginning to end. The Spa was excellent and relaxing. The food was wonderful and artfully prepared. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The location was very convenient to shopping, attractions and major highways. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting again, perhaps with our children the next time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Corner King room configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bonsoir,

We are thrilled that you were able to spend your 10th anniversary with us. We are pleased that you chose us for this special occasion. Thank you for commenting on the wonderful service, our team is always thrilled to hear feedback such as this. We hope we can help you celebrate your special occasions for many years to come. We certainly look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Lansdowne Resort for one night over a busy Memorial Day weekend in 2013 (we're an over-30 adult couple, no kids). In booking the reservation, the staff was friendly and helpful over the phone. When we arrived at the property, however, no valet approached our vehicle or offered to help with our bags. Front desk staff was friendly, but a number of them were trainees, and they frequently had to get the attention of a manager to help answer our questions, making check-in slow. Our upper floor room was clean and attractive. We checked at the spa on the property, and they informed us no services were available through the weekend (all appointments were taken), so IMHO, they were not properly staffed to accommodate holiday weekend guests. Several weddings were occuring on property, and they seemed to command a lot of the staff attention. The pool areas were clean and staffed with lifeguards, but one of the outdoor pools was closed and the indoor lap pool was crowded with active young children. We relaxed at one of the outdoor pools and the cafe staff was attentive. Drinks were a good size, but not terribly strong. We opted for dinner in the town of Leesburg, and there were many quality choices in the 'old-town' section, rather than the restaurants on property, which did not appear to offer many vegetarian options on their menus. We had the buffet-style breakfast in the morning, which was typical resort or crusie-style fare, lots of options, but nothing especially innovative. Overall, Lansdowne Resort was clean and attractive-looking in a corporate/Disney-like way, but the staffing and services left much to be desired, and in our opinion, makes them fall well short of the 4-star reputation they promote.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Steve J,
I am very disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your most recent visit. This feedback is certainly not indicative of the comments we typically receive so please accept my apologies for the shortcomings that you endured. I hope that we can earn an opportunity to better serve you in the future as I am confident we would be able to provide you with an experience you would expect from a four diamond property. Please know that your business is greatly valued and we are sorry that we fell short during your stay.

Warmest regards,
James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this property for one night in June, his Step- mom booked us the couples package which was supposed to include a bunch of goodies, champagne, overnight stay, chocolate and strawberries, couples massage, breakfast for two and a dinner credit. While yes, we did get all of these things eventually- the package was very confusing. We had the champagne and strawberries sent up but they never arrived. When we called regarding the delivery they said "Oh, we don't even have you under that package". ??? Then we made dinner reservations early in the day and went to cancel them about 30 minutes before our dinner time and the hostess stand said they never had our reservation to begin with. ??? We sat by the pool and had drinks, the waitresses were completely clueless. I asked for a Mai-Tai and the poolside waitress said she had never heard of that drink and did not know if the bar could make it. ??? The waitress was painfully slow - she brought my sandwich and fries and I asked for ketchup- 15 mins later she did not bring the ketchup- I asked again and asked for new fries because they had gotten cold...she said she had to ask if she could get me new fries...then came back and took my whole plate and said she had to show the kitchen the cold fries, leaving me eating my sandwich with no plate. ??? After we left we saw the waitress in the lobby "running out" talking on her cell phone. Clearly she had a place to be and we were interrupting her plans. I am not sure why she just did not close out our ticket and give us another waitress. I will give some leeway for it being the first weekend of summer- so the new staff probably did not have a lot of "ramp up" time to train.... I am guessing that was the issue with the pool staff.

Regarding the rest of the hotel - the room was nice, we ate dinner instead at the bar downstairs and played wii, which was a blast! The staff at the bar was great. Breakfast the next morning was by far our best meal- the spread was beautiful- food was perfect and staff was very accommodating, and made us happy first thing in the morning.

The front desk staff was clueless at most requests, the concierge- clueless.

The spa- we got our couples massage and felt they were WAY overpriced!!!!!!! Including tip we spent WAY more than we wanted to. It was not worth the price. The spa was nice though we used the steam room, sauna and relaxation rooms.

I would come here again maybe at a less busy time, and not get a massage. We have another voucher for a free night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneResortGM, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Cruise,
I’d like to apologize on behalf of the resort for some of the hiccups that occurred during your recent stay. Your experience with the poolside dining is unacceptable and I will be sure to bring this matter to the attention of the food and beverage manager to ensure that it does not happen again. It is our goal to empower each and every employee to handle situations such as yours with ease without having to ask permission. I would also like to apologize that our staff was not as informed as they should have been; this is a matter that I will follow up on with our front office manager. I do hope that you will return to the resort at a later date and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and provide you with value during your stay.

Sincerely,

James J. Horsman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.