We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Enjoyed a brief, one night stay here. Was in Leesburg visiting friends and enjoyed the great location to Leesburg town center, the Outlets, and a wonderful spa on property.

Pros:
~Something for everyone - be it golf, spa, swimming, gym, etc.
~Amazing spa; facility was great, including the Roman baths
~Extremely clean/well maintained room overlooking the golf court
~Lots of great food options; good in-room dining
~Friendly service

Cons:
~The bathroom sink cabinet/vanity in the room is poorly designed in such a way that it's easy to stub your toe(s) on the leg in front of the sink. Wish bathroom also had a fan.
~One of the walls (this is the first time we've experienced this at the hotel so there's a good chance it could've just been the guest(s) next door) seemed a bit thin. We could hear the TV... but then again it could have just been someone (more than one guest) with hearing issues.
~Spa is really popular, and during peak weekend times, can be quite crowded. Make a reservation early if wanting an apt on Sat. afternoon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    160
    100
    61
    43
See reviews for
114
195
35
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything is great at Lansdowne!!! The customer service is exceptional, the guest rooms are clean and comfortable, great meeting space and great food/snacks too. I would definitely recommend this property. It's also a few minutes from the Leesburg Outlets (bonus). : )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here from Apr 13-16 for a business conference. Have stayed here about 5 years ago. The property is always lovely with its expansive lawns and the golf course. The rooms are quite fine, though they seemed exactly the way they were 5 years ago. Could have done with a bit of a facelift. While the rooms are large, clean and functional, they aren't distinctive enough for a hotel of this type. The single bed is almost as big as a queen bed. The views from the room are pretty good with the Potomac far in the background and a huge expanse of green before.

The spa is fantastic and so is the gym. The staff is quite friendly and helpful as well.

Only two issues - (i) the place has almost no veg food. As a veggie, that was a bit of a problem. In this day and age, i find that a bit unusual in a large property; (ii) the place is quite far from anywhere and hence it often takes 15-30 mins to get a cab. And then if someone else takes off with your cab before you do (which happened to us), then its another long wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Two night stay on business. Grounds and building are fabulous, I did not use their golfing facilities. Cost was competitive for this level of accomodations, however the guest room was just not what I expected as I drove up. Guest room was VERY clean, updated colors, bath very nice, but the room felt as though it had received a mild face-lift vs. a complete updating. Also, I heard more 'early morning bath noise' through the walls from adjoining rooms that I would have expected at this level of accomodations.The staff at the Lansdowne were simply excellent; very helpful and very professional. Meals were also very high quality and enjoyable. I'd visit again; the only item keeping them from a 5 rating was the level of quality in the guest room I had during the stay.

Room Tip: North side has great rolling hills to view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were given a gift certificate for one night and a free breakfast. We discovered a beautiful facility with extraordinary staff. The customer service was the best I have ever encountered. The food was free and very tasty and the wait staff was extremely professional. Everyone with whom we had contact was wonderful. We intend to return soon and to stay longer. This place is a must visit for anyone who wants relaxation in a beautiful setting and to be treated royally.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed on the corner of the building, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Dancinglibrarian,
What a beautiful review! How wonderful that you were able to escape the everyday during your stay at the Lansdowne Resort. We are happy to learn that our relaxing atmosphere, our dining options, majestic views and friendly staff helped to transport you to place of tranquility. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a stay at our resort soon.

Sincerely,
Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at Lansdowne Resort for a conference recently, no golf was included. The property is very nice looking from the outside, and public areas are very nice as well. The rooms are very average. For the prices you pay, you would expect more, these are just one notch above a Holiday Inn, and well below a Marriott. The price is higher than you would expect to pay at a Marriott. In addition, they add a $20 "resort fee" that includes a copy of USA Today, a bottle of water, and the privileged of parking your car yourself in the self parking lot. The food was alright, but again bit pricey. They have a pretty good buffet, but it is only open on certain days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Buck4you,
While we’re glad you enjoyed our location and found our lobby inviting, we deeply regret that your experience was not more positive. It is important that our guests not only experience a relaxing, resort getaway but also feel that we are a value. Your comments will be shared with our management team to ensure we take every opportunity to exceed our guests’ expectations. We hope you'll reconsider giving us another chance in the future so that we may change your impression of the resort, thank you.

Sincerely,
Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the resort for a girls getaway. I had purchased a livingsocial deal during the holidays for a two night stay, with a spa treatment. The moment we arrived we knew this was going to be a nice and relaxing getaway. The service desk provided us directions for downtown Leesburg, and a map of the local wineries. We were unaware of what Leesburg and the surrounding areas had to offer. We spent most of our time hopping around the local wineries, and each place we met someone who talked so highly of the resort and provided us great recommendations of where to eat and drink. I was lucky enough to also have a relaxing spa experience, the spa was clean and the staff were friendly and professional. We really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended it to others, and hopefully we can get back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear NLynch22,
We couldn't be more thrilled to hear the enthusiasm you've shared regarding your stay with us at Lansdowne Resort. We’re pleased to read you were able to fill your days with plenty of activities. Our location is convenient to many of the local wineries and historic downtown Leesburg. The satisfaction of our guests is our priority, so to know that you had a wonderful stay with us is touching. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and recommendation to your family and friends.

Sincerely,
Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va
Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.