We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never go back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Would never go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

I was there on business for two days. I was really annoyed that everytime they swipe your card, they preauthorize $50. For what??? And they don't even tell you they're doing it. Then it takes them 4 days to remove it. I mean, I went to the bar to order one appetizer, and they automatically charge me $50, then take literally 4 days to remove it? That's ridiculous. Same thing at the reservation desk. They'll swipe your credit card and preauthorize any amount they wish. Besides that, the food wasn't all that great. The rooms were clean, but reservation staff kept trying to blow me off when I called to inquire about why $50 charges were on my account still. Then of course no one in accounting would returm my calls! Unsatisfactory.

Stayed April 2008
2 Thank KStarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

After reading these reviews (and about the INS raid last week) I was incredibly nervous and even considered canceling our reservations here. I'm glad I didn't.

We had a package thru Travel Zoo which for $149 included a room, 2 rounds of golf (on the 9 hole course) , late checkout and breakfast. It was supposed to include 25% off at the spa but when we got there, weekends were excluded.

Our room was clean and attractive. The staff was friendly if not all that bright. The golf course was beautiful and the golf staff very helpful.

We arrived at breakfast at 10:20 (it closed at 10:30) and it was decimated. There was literally nothing left on the buffet. They allowed us to upgrade to the Sunday Brunch for an extra $15 each, and that was a gorgeous spread.

We were charged a $15 resort fee, and I'm not sure for what but our total was still under $200 including the golf so I didn't press it.

The hotel was fairly noisy with kids running up and down the hall. We also had several early morning wrong numbers but I can't fault the hotel for that.

All in all, we had a nice weekend. I'd go back for the same package, I'm not sure I'd pay more than $200 for just the room.

  • Liked — Nice golf course, proximity to Outlet mall
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Thank VirginiaGolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

I attended a four day conference at the Lansdowne Resort at the end of March. I had scheduled the shuttle from the airport ($25 each way and billed directly to my room) and they had my flight information. Unfortunately, because of weather, my flight was about 2-3 hours late. The only info about where to pick up the shuttle was 2H, which I could not find anywhere until I asked the airport information where to get the shuttle.

I called the telephone number on the shuttle e-mail that I had received and got a personal phone with voice mail. Not what I wanted to hear. Called another that I had on my paperwork, rang for three to four minutes with no answer. Finally found a third number that was answered and I was told they had the information about my flight delay and would be arriving soon. About 45 min later the shuttle arrived. Thirty minutes later I was at the resort. I asked about dining because I had not eaten since breakfast because of the flight delays (Dulles has nowhere to eat) and was told they had a restaurant available just past the elevators that I would take to my room.

My room was on the second floor with nice view of the Potomac River and, unfortunately, the roof over the restaurant/convention area. I unpacked and went down for dinner. Unfortunately, the restaurant didn't open until 6:00 and nothing else was open. I went back to my room and took a nap. Went back down around 6:30 and was seated without any information about the dining. It was a nice buffet, but after the long flight, lack of food, I really just wanted a burger, but it was not available.

Bathroom was nice with good towels, sink is a bit far from the edge of the counter so you really have to lean over it if you wear glasses and can't see without them. Shower was nice, but a bit difficult to control the temperature of the water, one nudge this way - very hot, one nudge that way -very cold. Finally found a spot where I could get hot but not scalding water. Robes in the closet.

Television reception was good. Free internet in the room, both wired and wireless that was a good speed. Bed was very comfortable and side chair was also comfortable to sit. Small coffee pot in the room, but didn't use it, not a coffee drinker.

Breakfast buffet was very good - choice of omlets, eggs your way, scrambled off the buffet, bacon, sausage, and various other items. Yoghurt parfaits, Dannon yoghurt, fresh fruit.

Lunch buffet was usually very good, one fish, one chicken, one beef and one other entree. Nice salad bar, excellent choices for desserts - I liked the vanilla bean ice cream with caramel sauce, but they had other very nice desserts all days. They also made hamburgers if you wanted them (didn't see this until the day I left).

Dinner was also good, but you could usually see repeats of the lunches in a new format - for example, they had grilled asparagus at lunch, for dinner it was turned into a mushroom -asparagus ragout (also still good), lunch the next day - another version of the asparagus. They had wild boar one night.

The breaks during the conference were very good, fruit, rolls, yoghurt, coffee, ice cream, peanuts, brownies, cookies, chips, pretzels, etc. Juices, sodas, coffee, tea, etc. I did not go hungry.

Did not use the pool or spa or play golf (the golf course is supposed to be very good). But the hours for the spa were really not conducive to the conference. The spa services did look very nice, though.

So after a bad start, it got progressively better. Staff in the dining room were very nice. I had no problems with theft or housekeeping.

One thing I did notice was it looked like access to the restaurants was not really handicap accessible. You had to walk down a steep stairway to get to the dining facilities. It looked like you could go down via elevator to the golf club house, and then come if from the outside to the restaurant. It didn't look easy.

The meeting room was a bit small for the size of our group, but there were several conferences going on while I was there (three alone for my organization). The room rate included three meals at the buffet. We paid a whole lot less than was was shown on the closet door for one person ($419 a night!!).

  • Liked — Food included with the room and the food was good.
  • Disliked — Seemed isolated from everything. Not easy to get other places without spending a lot of money.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Minnie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We booked the Romantic Getaway Weekend, replete with champagne, a red rose, breakfast, luxury room, peace, quiet, and luxury robes. The best way to describe all of these amenities is -NOT! No, not one of these things materialized. I wish I had a camera. This is like some refurbished high-rise motel, with OK rooms, extremely noisey, marginal amenities, and a really good price! Our luxury room was missing the coffee pot, had a really hard bed, minimal lighting, was not entirely clean, and was in the range of much lower rated hotels. The wireless internet AND the ethernet cable did not work on either of our computers, and the Tech Business Center they profess to have, had one old Pentium omputer for which one had to compete with 20 businessmen attending meetings. The hotel actually overlooks the rear of a large development, some high rise businesses, and has one of the worst breakfast buffets I have ever had. The room had no robes. The spa was completely booked, and worst of all, the rooms on either side of us were booked for 12 women who were enjoying the advertised "Girls Weekend"--partying until 3 am and up and slamming doors at 5am. This is not a luxury resort. It is just an OK meeting hotel. That's about it. You have other options that are better in the area. See review of the restaruants in Leesburg--which are great. The town is nice, but somewhat commercial. The wineries are worth the drive, esp Tahara overlooking the Potomic, but do not expect to stay at the hotel and relax. You won't be able to, and you would not want to. For a nice day's trip, try Middleburg, a few miles South--well worth it. The countryside to the North is great--to the South west is good, but if you come in from DC, do not expect anything that feels remotely rural. It is overdeveloped and disappointing. No weekend in the lovely VA horse countery here! Go to Middleburg, Warrenton, or outside of Charlottsville.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Facility marginal
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Nice location, the place is a little shop worn and could use some renovation. The food (all inclusive package) was OK but is conference center food. Nice roaches happily playing on the restroom walls in the middle of the day The one closest to the restaurant.

Someone on the staff went through my wife's briefcase and lifted all of her flash drives and her brand new Ipod. $500. Thank you very much.

So, don't leave anything in the rooms that you want to keep!

Doubtful we will ever visit again.

We are seasoned world travelers and on the move just about every month. We know good service from bad. This place rates OK. I do think it's a touch pricey based on the condition.

Stayed February 2008
2 Thank DublinGemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

My husband and I went to a conference at the Landsdowne. After reading mixed reviews, I wasn't too sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise!!!! The location was more "in town" than out of town. It was in great proximity to good shopping and restaurants, but away enough that you felt like you were secluded. The staff was very welcoming and polite - and were very attentive. The rooms were wonderful and the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in!!! There was a small coffee maker (only one cup) so that was a little disappointing. The breakfast downstairs was a buffet and it was incredible - the variety was great! The dinner buffets weren't as good - and we only went to the one restaurant. The other ones were a bar and a 5 course restaurant. The views were nice, and the weather was a little warm so we were able to walk the grounds some. I'd love to go back when it's warmer! My husband and I talked about making this "our" place to visit once a year. A def. romantic getaway - I highly recommend it for everyone!!

  • Liked — proximity to shopping and restaurants but being a "resort" getaway as well!
  • Disliked — no fridge or big coffee maker in room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank sonshinex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to take a mini weekend getaway (2 nights) and we definitely found it here. We booked the "Ignite your passion" package which included breakfast in bed, champange, and flowers in your room at admission. The facilities were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the massages were fantastic. If i had one complaint it would be the food. We had appetizers/bar food the "Stonewalls Tavern" which was mediocre at best. Our dinner at the "Potomac" was delicious but the portions were miniscule and the price was expensive. Lucky for us, we're from the area and knew of places within driving distance that were equally good and more reasonable. Despite this, we had a really great time. We'll definitely keep this one on the list!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Thank Ovrwrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#2 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn in Leesburg
Clarion Inn in Leesburg
#6 of 7 in Leesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
2.0 mi away
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays and Odigeo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing