We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent one Saturday night with my girlfriend at the Landsdowne Resort. Our experience was mixed; there were some nice parts and some bad parts. Overall you get a "hotel" experience at a "resort" price.

Spa - The spa is nice, check in was smooth, the locker rooms were equipped with hot tubs, steam rooms and a dry sauna. The plastic sandals were unconformable. The massage technicians were both very good. Cost $320 for two 50 minute massages, with tip.

On the Potomac Restaurant - We had two drinks, two filets, two glasses of wine and one desert. The filets had good flavor, but were only lukewarm. The desert was the smallest thing I've ever seen. Service was sparse as the waiter was very busy, they were understaffed. There was no welcome or introduction to the menu or anything. The entire process was like being at a diner. Our waiter probably said 10 words to us the whole time. Cost $140.

Stonewalls Tavern - This place gets 5 stars. We had after dinner drinks here. Service was excellent, atmosphere was pleasant, but here is the most interesting part: We had a complimentary drink coupon that came with our room and the waiter let us use it to order the $500 Louis XIII drink which comes with a bottle of Cristal. I made him check with his manager before I ordered it and he said it was OK, so we did. A $500 drink for free, very cool. We left him a hefty tip for that one. Thanks again.

Room - The room was fair. The interior finishes were nice, but there was no fridge. It is noisy as you can hear people talking outside of your room very easily. Also, most of the channels on the TV were not working or snowy.

Room Service - We had room service twice. Once after our massage we had chocolate strawberries and champagne delivered and in the morning we had breakfast. Both were excellent. Breakfast was $70 w/ tip.

Front Desk - Check in was smooth and staff was friendly. Downside was we were part of a package and on several occasions the desk was confused about what was included in the package. I had to show them the documentation to prove what was included. They also billed me for things that were supposed to be included, and I had to correct the billing at check out.

The final cost of everything was around $800. We didn't golf because it was cold, but add a round of golf in and you'd be over $1,000. For that cost, there are some improvements that need to be made to make the experience worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear evilmosquito,

At Lansdowne Resort, we strive to deliver serene accommodations and exceptional service. We hope our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, so we are truly disappointed to read that you felt your stay could have been improved upon during your recent visit. We apologize for your experience in On The Potomac; it is disheartening to learn that you felt the service you received was amiss during any moment of your time with us, we are truly sorry if you experienced anything less than our best. We will be certain to share your comments with our team in order to improve on our guest experience. Thank you for your kind mention of our spa and Stonewalls Tavern and other highlights of your stay. We hope you’ll return in the future so that we may show you the true Lansdowne experience.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    170
    104
    63
    47
See reviews for
122
208
40
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went last minute for 4 days at the end of July with the kids (12 &16). The resort is beautiful, facilities clean, and the grounds meticulously maintained. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Beds comfy. And really, there is something for everyone. Husband enjoyed golf. The kids lived at the pool area which is actually several. The largest one had a wading area (perfect for the littlest ones) and waterslide (huge attraction). Adjacent to it was a pool with a waterfall that tended to attract folks without kids. The entire area boasts an abundance of lifeguards, lounge chairs, tables, & umbrellas. Several restrooms are conveniently located and food & beverages are served poolside. The fitness center was surprisingly large, clean, and well organized with plenty of cardio equipment, TV, towels, machines and free weights. While it was well attended every day, I never waited to use anything. The Riverside Hearth had a great daily breakfast & lunch buffet with a huge selection of hot, fresh choices and attentive table service. Stonewalls Tavern was perfect for casual dinner as it serves nicely prepared entrees, wine etc and the kids could still get a burger. The resort also hosts an outdoor summer music series on Friday night with live music, drinks, & BBQ fare. The band we saw rocked the house but each weekend is different, so ask ahead of time as to the theme/performers. Will definitely return for another jaunt and hit up the Spa too,

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the terrace where the summer music series was held. Opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Anna K,
We’re so pleased to read about your recent experience at the Lansdowne Resort, it certainly seems that you enjoyed your time here. It is great to learn of all that you got to do during your stay, from dining at Riverside Hearth and working out at our state-of-the-art fitness facility to splashing around in our pool and relaxing in the hot tub. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our beautiful room views and grounds again soon, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my second week-long conference at Lansdowne. The property is first-rate and the staff really made me feel like i was their number one priority. The only issue was the dearth of outlets for laptop, iphone, and tablet.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear dp,
Thank for your review of Lansdowne Resort, it was our pleasure to welcome you during your business trip to Virginia. We are glad you enjoyed our property and that the staff was accommodating and made you feel welcome. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay and hope that next time you have the opportunity to enjoy some of the wonderful amenities our resort has to offer.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a top notch property with lots of great amenities. I was here for a conference in January, so the golf options were not available, but everything else was. Great service, the food was much better than last time I was here, and the rooms are very nice. They have a nice workout facility as well. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear fischman44,
We’re so pleased to read about your recent experience at Lansdowne Resort. It certainly seems that you enjoyed your time here. We’re thankful for your recommendation as well as you enjoyed the food, our workout facility and service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our beautiful room views and hopefully get a chance to play golf. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My recent experience:
1. The resort is beautiful!!! The grounds could not be more stunning! Go in spring or fall and i am sure it will be the most beautiful peaceful place you've ever been!
2. i called 3 times before arriving: Once to book, once to schedule spa services and once because we had to move schedules for the spa... Everyone was so courteous and helpful. They told me we could come early to the spa, usethe steam or sauna and just relax before our services. I thought how fabulous.
3. The lounge on the first floor is a must stop in!! Just a good vibe, decent drinks, awesome staff.
4. Arrive: pretty cold, lightly snowing, pull up because we see the valet sign, sit there, wait, wait nobody shows up
5. Checkin- nothing much just a standard checkin
6. Room is fine
7. Go to spa: the welcome staff is less then welcoming, seems chaotic with just myself and my friend checking in. Nobdy seemed to know where we should go. We are then told to head to the locker room and a locker room attendant would help is. Go in the locker room, we are standing there, looking around, dont see anyone. We get that worked out, change, then stand there waiting to know where to next. Another locker room attended comes. We finally get in for our services. The treatments are mediocre at best for the price.
7. After that we go to dinner at the Potomac restaurant downstairs. You have maybe 12 items total to choose from on the menu, our waiter seemed more interested in the boxing on the tv over by the bar then helping us, but the hostess was super kind and welcoming.
8. We went back upstairs to the lounge restaurant and ate awesome food, which appears to come from the kitchen downstairs, which seemed odd.
9. Stayed the night checked out
10. 5 days later noticed a nightmare billing problem that is still being worked out, that just by the way the the staff has handled makes me not feel highly about this destination.
This is my very candid review. I can make do with the not great spa experience because there are plenty of other things to do, i can tolerate the below par fancy restaurant because there is another place to eat and it's yum, i really don't care for the in consistancy in the customer service, but i can promise you I do not tolerate the messed up billing, i have to draw the line somewhere.
See title to some this up.
All my best

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our company had its yearly celebration at this resort. From the planning to the hotel rooms -- everything was handled professionally, and the staff was fantastic. I would highly recommend this venue for special events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rhonda,
Thank you for choosing Lansdowne Resort to celebrate your holiday party. We are pleased to hear that our friendly, dedicated staff, our planning, and the well-appointed accommodations made your party even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing getaway at our resort in the near future!

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here when my flight was cancelled and the airline put us up here. It was huge and had very clean rooms. My one complaint about the room was that it was very cold and I couldn't get it warm. The food was good, a bit overpriced for what it was, but the view from the breakfast room was spectacular. Actually, the view everywhere was pretty amazing. I went for a walk around the property before leaving for the airport and was reminded how beautiful Virginia is. My other wish is that if it does serve as a hotel for stranded passengers there are better toothbrushes for passengers stuck without toiletries (but that also could come from the airline, not necessarily the hotel's problem) but the mouthwash had been punctured and not replaced. I was too exhausted to call and ask for another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear mllespear,
Even though you were only with us for a night it seems that you truly got a sense of Lansdowne Resort and Virginia. We're thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and we have informed the Director of Facilities of your concern with your room being cold. Your kind review and as well as your recommendation are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.