We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excessive Check-in time and unexpected "resort fee"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excessive Check-in time and unexpected "resort fee"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having pre-paid my stay on Expedia, I arrived at 11:00 pm, exhausted from a 10 hour drive to find 50 or more people in line for check-in at the hotel's front desk. Apparently the resort is routinely used by United Airlines to lodge passengers from cancelled flights, and the front desk is just not able to handle the traffic in an efficient manner. In addition, I was greatly surprised to find an invoice in the morning for an additional $20 per room "Resort Fee". Nowhere in the Expedia reservation process did I see that there would be an extra charge. To add insult to injury, when I went to the front desk at 9:00 am to question the charge and check out, the same 50 plus passengers were in line trying to check out. There were only 2 clerks working at the front desk, making it a long wait AGAIN! The desk clerk was irritated that the person in front of me complained about the inefficiency of the check in and check out process. While the hotel manager eventually waived the resort fee, this level of inefficiency and hidden charges is just inexcusable. Otherwise the hotel was quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Calderman2,
We extend our sincerest apologies for any confusion regarding your check in and regret if there was any miscommunication on our part for the resort fee. I checked the Expedia website and it does list our resort fee under “Fee” on their page and it also lists what is included in our resort fee. We greatly appreciate the time taken to share your experience by completing our survey, as well as providing us this review. Should you consider a future stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know of any concerns so that we can ensure a comfortable stay for you. Thank you and we hope to have a future opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    171
    104
    63
    47
See reviews for
122
208
40
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We travelled here as we were due to attend a wedding nearby and this was the recommended choice. Our negatives first. For arrival we had arranged an airport transfer (from Dulles) - for this we would be charged $30 per person. What they don't tell you is you can take a cab for around $25! We gave them the flight details and we were advised to call when we arrived and the pick-up would be waiting for us. We had to stand in the freezing cold for over 25 minutes and to call twice before the vehicle arrived. The transfer to the resort took 20 minutes so it was obvious that they had waited for our call before sending the driver out. That's very disappointing given the excessive cost.
We needed some clothing pressing for the wedding and followed the in room instructions for sending this down for attention. The clothing was collected. Around five hours later we were called and said our clothes were ready for return. We gt them back in exactly the same condition as we sent them. We called and complained and the staff said they would collect them again. When we spoke to the manager we were told that they had been left unattended on a trolley in reception all day! At the same time we complained about the pick-up. We were told that we wouldn't be charged for either the transfer from the airport or the dry-cleaning. When we checked our bill we found that we had in fact been charged for the dry-cleaning. Another disappointment.
Our positives. The staff were friendly and patient. Good training here we think. The food and drink in both the tavern and pub were very good. My wife used the spa and said it was excellent.
Overall we would have expected at lot more attention to detail but the potential for a great place is there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SteveB99,
Your detailed feedback is sincerely appreciated as it gives us an opportunity to learn more about our guests, their experiences and any areas that may need our attention. While we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your time with us like the food and drink in our tavern and the spa, we are disappointed to learn that you felt your stay fell short of what you expected. We regret you had to stand in the cold waiting for our shuttle and the confusion regarding your dry cleaning. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your comments will be reviewed in greater detail with our staff to ensure our services are at their best for our guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you’ll consider a future stay with us so that we may change your impression.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went for the New Year's Eve party ... "Reflex and Relax." I didn't care for the music the band played , even theoug hthey were pretty good. My taste was better satisfied when they took a brwea kadn the DJ music came on.

However, the accommodations, dinner and breakfast were fantastic. It made for a nice romantic New Year for my honey and I.

I look forward to going again!

Room Tip: Ask for a "high" floor. It's no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Darrell_J360,
Thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate your New’s Year’s. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your kind words about our dining venues, and accommodations were a real treat. The satisfaction of our guests is our priority, so to know that you had a wonderful stay with us is touching. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to visit us in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I had booked a three night stay in a delux suite to celebrate our anniversary as well as my birthday. We were returning after celebrating a week long stay for our honeymoon last year. Upon arrival, we were notified that we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite! The management was notified by our bell-hop, Michael, that we were return customers. At lunch, we were given a complimentary dessert and we were also given a complementary evening tea. We really had a wonderful, relaxing time enjoying the room, the views, dining, and the exercise facility. Once again, Lansdowne has exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: The suites offer an excellent mix of amenities at a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Warrenkwords,

We are very happy that you enjoyed a relaxing "celebration" at Lansdowne Resort. Thank you for selecting us for this special time and know that we look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Positives:

- very friendly staff

- cute room



Negatives:

- although we made the reservation over the phone, the staff neglected to inform us that a- the On The Potomac restaurant would be closed for the holidays (did not know this until they cancelled our reservation on us) and b- the fitness classes would not be held due to the holidays (though they seemed to have added an 8 am class for one out of the three days we were staying there)


- pay a "resort fee" of $20 per day, except this is the same amount one would pay in the summer but for a fraction of the amenities in the winter ???


- after speaking with the manager about the above, he was very nice in upgrading our room to a corner king. We felt like we were treated the right way since he "blocked" a particular room for us. Lo and behold, this "specifically blocked" room was right across from the elevators, vending/ice machine, and the door to the staff area. Our nice, quiet, relaxing weekend was no longer! (Until we switched rooms because of the noise).


- the very nice manager also promised that if a suite was available during our check in time, he would be happy to put us in that, due to the above inconveniences. We were told upon check in that one suite was in fact available, but that the lock to the door was broken. We checked with them again a few hours later, because the staff was so nice about it, and it seemed that the room was still not ready and we would be informed when it did become available. This never happened. Left to our own devices, we called the reservations phone line out of curiosity. We were told that there were two suites available for the time we were staying there. Hmmm
... fishy!



Overall, we had a relaxing weekend though we probably won't be back unless it is the summer time when we will get our money's worth of the amenities... Or if we got the suite we were "promised"!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators/staff entrance. Get a room as far away from that as possible as the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear JBTC2012,
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. On behalf of the team, let me apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your time with us. I read with great concerns your comments about your room and not being upgraded to a suite; we obviously fell short in your case and for that we are extremely sorry. As well, I have spoken to our Director of Food and Beverage regarding closing of the outlets and the need to further train the team to ensure that all guests are informed before their arrival. Let me assure you this is an isolated incident and that actions have been taken to make sure this does not happen again. Again, thank you for your honesty and we do hope you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

great place to restore your self. located on a beautiful golf course adjacent to the Potomac River. the spot is lovely. the spa offers massages pool hot tub manicures the works. we had a fine dinner. restaurants offer a lovely view of the golf course. it's nice and quiet with very beautiful views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Lucy K,

Thank you for your kind comments related to your recent visit to Lansdowne Resort. You've discovered and mentioned what so many others have found Lansdowne Resort to be; a nearby escape for couples and families looking to get away to a relaxed setting.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had to overnight at this hotel after our flight got delayed. Nice clean hotel. Spa was expensive but provided good service.
We had two queen beds in the room, it was a tight fit but met out expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
Free internet...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#2 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Pets Allowed, S...
Show More
16.1 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.