We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
MonkeyGirlBean
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are fantastic. Super comfy beds/bedding. Has a luxurious feel. The cost of the room is high (plus the resort fee added on to each day). But I've been able to get a very good rate purchasing through an external website. However, you still have to pay the resort fee (which feels like a rip off when you're not golfing or using the pools in winter, etc). The restaurants are very good but also very expensive. There's not a lot else to do around there so you feel compelled to eat in house - and that adds up. In the summertime, the pools are fantastic and a lot of fun. The spa is also very pricey but provides great service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    195
    130
    76
    56
See reviews for
146
244
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at Lansdowne for one night last weekend while attending a surprise birthday party held at the resort. I arrived late and totally exhausted. The staff was efficient and pleasant, and my room was lovely and very, very comfortable. I ended up ordering a yummy late night snack from room service (delivered in 20 minutes) and enjoying the luxurious bed and the "smart" tv -- complete with it's own keyboard. I slept 12 hours, and thoroughly enjoyed the party the next day before flying home. The resort also did a fantastic job with the surprise party. The food was outstanding and they were most accommodating to all of the guests. I would love to stay there again, perhaps in the warmer months when the lovely grounds can be explored, or the spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Potomac River Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Carol33436,
I was happy to read that you felt so comfortable at Lansdowne Resort, it is our goal to make all of our guests feel at home. So glad you enjoyed the talents of our culinary staff, and our accommodations. Many thanks for your thoughtful compliments. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got this with a Living Social coupon which included $100 credit and breakfast. Room was clean and very nice. The buffet for breakfast was huge and the food was very tasty. The customer service was great. We had a slight problem and the front desl took care of it immediately. We want to return. Went to Leesburg and the wineries which weres nice. Check out Wine Kitchen for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Susan,
You are very kind to be so complimentary of the many facets of Lansdowne Resort, thank you very much. The staff will be happy to know how much you enjoyed your visit, and I am glad you were able to visit the wineries. We will look forward to serving you again, but until then our best to you and your family this holiday season.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Lansdown Resort offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel staff were attentative and very nice. Our room was clean and well appointed. There were quite a few guest staying during our weekend, however we rarely saw them thought out the hotel. The resort is close to Outlet shopping in Leesburg which was a plus for my wife. I would recommend Lansdowne for a nice get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear slb003,
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Lansdowne Resort. We invite you to visit our website to view a number of special offers and packages before booking your next stay with us. We will look forward to serving you again, but until then our best to you and your wife for this holiday season.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very hospitable staff. Great GM. We stayed during Hurrican Sandy. He was very nice and hospitable. Clean, big, efficient. Very comfortable. Pool/Workout areas are very good. I highly recommend staying here. Close to Dulles Airport, close to Leesburg outlets. Leesburg is a nice, quaint town, with surprisingly good (read 3-4 star) restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner King is a bigger room. Can support a familiy of four (toddler + infant) with a nice cot they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Yajnus P,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I enjoyed meeting you as well. I hope you come back soon with your family and friends.

Best regards,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

On our most recent stay, we booked a traditional guest room and found it to be very comfortable and quite. We were looking forward to the food and beverage facilities, as we had heard nice things about them. We started our evening at the Stonewall Tavern. It really should be called Stonewall Day Care Center, there were so many children running amuck it was awful. The tavern even had a Wii over in the corner to encourage children to scream and run around. Not at all what we expected at a "luxury" resort. The service was slow, and the female bartender really needs to brush up on her social skills. Our waiter was very nice, and tried to keep up - but the tavern was - plain and simple understaffed.

After a few drinks we headed over to the Potomac restaurant, were we found it mostly empty - there were maybe 2-3 other tables in the entire restaurant. Which we found very odd, in that we had been called by the staff earlier in the week to say that our reservation could not be honored, but they had an opening an hour later for us. We did stay and have dinner, however the service was dreadfully slow and the food was very average - again, not at all what we had hoped for.

On the whole, I would not recommend this resort - there is a reason that a Best Western is rated higher than Lansdowne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Linkin11,
Your detailed feedback is sincerely appreciated as it gives us an opportunity to learn more about our guests, their experiences and any areas that may need our attention. We are disappointed to learn that you felt your stay fell short of what you expected. Our guests are encouraged to reach out with any issues regarding their accommodations so that we may resolve them as quickly as possible. We wish we had the opportunity to do so with the concerns you listed. Thank you for your review. We hope that next time you're in the area, you'll let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We checked in on a Friday for a 30th reunion weekend. We stayed in an alcove suite, which was spacious and I thought well appointed. There was a lot of space. The bed and pillows were EXCELLENT for sleep quality, but there was only a thin comforter, so to be warmer you had to crank the heat. Which oddly, turned on only for a few minutes, then reverted back to 70 degrees. There was a coffee pot and bottled water, but other than that, no amenities. Its probably a good thing there was no mini-bar, I would have probably raided it multiple times. The bathroom was not resorty, it was just a basic vanity, toilet, tub/shower combo. There were bathrobes, which I like a lot. The main resort is actually on the smallish side, but it has some grand features and also lots of conversation areas with over sized furniture and fireplaces, which was perfect for our get together. It was a very cold, windy, early November weekend, and so I didn't really explore the grounds. From my 8th floor window, though,the golf course and grounds looked lovely. There's not a lot to this place. The fitness center, indoor pool and spa were very small. Not much different from a mid-level business hotel. Of course the outdoor pools were closed, but there were also tennis courts (too cold, I didn't see anyone play). I hate paying a resort fee when, in fact, there's not much resort offered. I visited the spa, which was quite booked. It was okay. The restaurants: mixed reviews. The staff at Stonewall Tavern was very attentive, responsive and friendly. Super fast service. The food, basic bar food that was fine but nothing extraordinary. The staff at the golf club restaurant might as well have been non-existent. No greeting, no service, no interest. Boo the golf course. It was not busy at all, as if that would be an excuse for the terrible feeling we left with. Mixed reviews on brunch -- the hostesses and wait staff were incredibly responsive, but the food prep staff could not keep up with demand on basic things like: there were no eggs. On the other hand, they did a great job feeding us well and entertaining us for the reunion dinner party.

I really enjoyed this place. For the price and the moniker "Resort" and the audacity of charging a resort fee in Nov. when all it really offers is a mediocre gym (I don't count closed pools, tennis and golf to be resort options in November in Northern Virginia), they should come up with some more resort-like amenities. In my opinion, this resort is NOT amazing or outstanding as stated in some of the other reviews. This property is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Marcyro,
Your detailed feedback is sincerely appreciated as it gives us an opportunity to learn more about our guests, their experiences and any areas that may need our attention. While we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your time with us like the alcove suite and the bedding, we regret that other aspects did not meet your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is our priority and we truly strive to exceed all our guest expectations. We appreciate that you took the time to share your helpful review and hope that you won’t hesitate to reach out if we can help make future stays with us truly exceptional. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.