We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stolen Ipod and Flash Drives” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Stolen Ipod and Flash Drives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Nice location, the place is a little shop worn and could use some renovation. The food (all inclusive package) was OK but is conference center food. Nice roaches happily playing on the restroom walls in the middle of the day The one closest to the restaurant.

Someone on the staff went through my wife's briefcase and lifted all of her flash drives and her brand new Ipod. $500. Thank you very much.

So, don't leave anything in the rooms that you want to keep!

Doubtful we will ever visit again.

We are seasoned world travelers and on the move just about every month. We know good service from bad. This place rates OK. I do think it's a touch pricey based on the condition.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    160
    100
    61
    43
See reviews for
114
195
35
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

My husband and I went to a conference at the Landsdowne. After reading mixed reviews, I wasn't too sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise!!!! The location was more "in town" than out of town. It was in great proximity to good shopping and restaurants, but away enough that you felt like you were secluded. The staff was very welcoming and polite - and were very attentive. The rooms were wonderful and the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in!!! There was a small coffee maker (only one cup) so that was a little disappointing. The breakfast downstairs was a buffet and it was incredible - the variety was great! The dinner buffets weren't as good - and we only went to the one restaurant. The other ones were a bar and a 5 course restaurant. The views were nice, and the weather was a little warm so we were able to walk the grounds some. I'd love to go back when it's warmer! My husband and I talked about making this "our" place to visit once a year. A def. romantic getaway - I highly recommend it for everyone!!

  • Liked — proximity to shopping and restaurants but being a "resort" getaway as well!
  • Disliked — no fridge or big coffee maker in room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to take a mini weekend getaway (2 nights) and we definitely found it here. We booked the "Ignite your passion" package which included breakfast in bed, champange, and flowers in your room at admission. The facilities were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the massages were fantastic. If i had one complaint it would be the food. We had appetizers/bar food the "Stonewalls Tavern" which was mediocre at best. Our dinner at the "Potomac" was delicious but the portions were miniscule and the price was expensive. Lucky for us, we're from the area and knew of places within driving distance that were equally good and more reasonable. Despite this, we had a really great time. We'll definitely keep this one on the list!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a Saturday night. We were given a gift certificate for a free night stay with Sunday Brunch.
Everyone was polite from the doorman to the restaurant staff.
This is a very nice property and have no complaints about the ambiance or decor. The room was large w/ a seperate area for the desk. The bed comfortable and the shower nice. Only complaint is the outdated TV. We rented a pay-per-view movie, which wasn't cheap, but the TV quality made the experience less then exceptional. We don't golf, so can't comment on that, but the indoor pool was enjoyable as was the whirlpool. The Sunday Brunch was great! The food was really good and there was a large variety of choices, oysters on the half shell, omelets, crab claws, fruit, salmon, caviar, waffles, etc......Also, a great dessert spread and all you can drink Mimosa's & Bloody Mary's!
Bottom line, I would stay again if given the chance.

  • Liked — Sunday Brunch
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

The hotel was just not what you expect it to be....and the staff
is very rude. We had a group of (20+) friends, all in town for
someone's 40th birthday party. After the birthday party we all
arrived back at the resort to sit in the bar and enjoy ourselves.
We found out that the bar does not serve food past 11, and
we were all a little hungry, so we ordered pizza to be delivered.
You'd figure if the bar doesn't serve food and there is no
place to get food in the hotel at this hour, that would be fine for
a hotel guest to order pizza. Well when the pizza arrived the
bar staff kicked us out of the bar and said we were not allowed
to bring outside food into the place, but didn't have any food
to offer us. We were the only group in the bar, no one else
was around....the bar staff gave us the check immediatly and
told us to get out with our pizza. They would rather lose a customer then let them enjoy one slice of pizza with a hugh
bar tab. It was unreal how they treated a customer, I've never
been treated so rude over something so small.

The hotel rooms were old, small and dirty. The rooms are
overpriced for what you get.

  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were told that if we got the weekend escape we would not have to leave the hotel. With 5 restaurants on site, a spa, indoor pool and breakfast in our room, if we preferred, what could go wrong?

1. Two of the places in the clubhouse close down around 6 o'clock on this Saturday night.
2. We could not eat in the Tavern or the Grille because they were closed off for private parties.
3. Our choice was the fine dining restaurant - which averages $50/person with dinner and drink.So, we went out.
4. When we ordered breakfast to the room, we were told we had a $25 limit. Not bad, until you see that a basic breakfast costs $16, plus $3 delivery plus $3 gratuity plus $2 tax. That is without coffee or juice. So even though they promise breakfast in your room as part of the package, you really cannot get it without paying extra for a complete meal.
5. When we went down to dinner at the Grille on Sunday evening, the food was minimal, cold and inedible. Several things were left over from the brunch we had attended that morning. We were unable to eat the food, left a tip for the waitress and went out again.

Our $620.00 weekend away cost us over $900 after we paid for edible food and extras out of pocket that were part of the package.

If you go, plan to do things ala carte. Pay for the room, add what you
want and check out the food on the buffet before you sit down. We loved the room. the bellmen were wonderful and our waitress was incredible. If only the rest of the experience was as wonderful.

For example, when I questioned the "manager on duty" he was more than a little rude and did nothing to help me. We left feeling taken advantage of and unappreciated. Doubt we will return.

  • Liked — bellmen
  • Disliked — management/food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

I enjoyed this resort very much. The room we had was elegant and cozy, the spa was great, and the location better than I thought.

Although the resort sits adjacent to shopping centers and neighborhoods, it did feel like we had gotten away. I recommend trying one of the nearby Wineries. We went to Tarara Winery and enjoy wine tasting. Afterwards we enjoyed shopping at the Leesburg Outlets which is literally a few miles away.

The resort rooms were excellent. They were clean, cozy, and the resort allows early check in, you just need to inform them at least the night before. I told the concierge that it was our anniversary and they sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne upon our arrival.

The only con about this resort is probably the restaurants. Although they look nice and classy, we browsed through the menus and peeked at the buffet and did not think it was worth the prices. Instead we visited the local town center and found an excellent seafood and steak restaurant. Can't remember the name but it's a sister restaurant of Sweet Water Tavern. I highly recommend it.

We also went to the spa which was wonderful. The service was great, the massages were great, and the steam room, sauna, and whirl pool were great. Will go back again.

TIP: I purchased my weekend package online when they were having a featured special: about $160 per night + a free $50 gift card to spend at the resort.

  • Liked — the room and spa
  • Disliked — the expensive restaurants
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va
Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.