We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went to the Resort for 2 nights and was thrilled by the environment (Restaurants, pools and all near Vineyards and the Outlets). The first night, there was a noise sqeaking in the ceiling which prevented a goodnights rest. However, once the front desk was aware, we were changed rooms right away. I do not golf but had one of the best massages! Staff were very helpful and I am SO excited to bring friends back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear TravelBugSLS,

Thank you for your kind words and sharing your Lansdowne Resort experience! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the amenities and service of our property and staff members. It is our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends to Lansdowne.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    184
    121
    70
    52
See reviews for
136
220
45
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely updated rooms with marble and travertine bathrooms, full service intimate spa, four swimming pools, good restaurant options, nice gym with exercise classes, wonderful staff, the list goes on! We had a really nice stay at the resort, so nice that we didn't want to leave and requested a late checkout which the front desk granted without imposing an extra fees. Even the housekeeping staff paid attention to details such as leaving extra body lotion at my night stand when she realized I put on lotion at that location. Just a great place for a family or on your own!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear EricemmysMom,

What a beautiful review! How wonderful that you were able to escape the everyday during your stay at the Lansdowne Resort. We are happy to learn that our relaxing atmosphere, our list of amenities and friendly staff helped to transport you to place of tranquility. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Lansdowne Resort for your next relaxing escape.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburtis, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice, has great amenities and a lot to do nearby....But there are some issues.... Firstly the $20 per day resort fee they slam you with without prior notification. Their idea of notification is when you check in. For people on a budget it's an unwelcoming surprise.... Just put it in the cost of the room when booking and stop pearl harboring people.... Secondly, the rooms are tastefully decorated. Flat screen tv's and nice bathrooms. What they didnt update or skimped on was the matresses. Every move my husband and I made we felt springs jabbing us. 4 nights there and not one good nights sleep. The blanket was also so thin. Just constant uncomfort. The ac unit was loud and the vent omitted a smell of melting plastic. It didnt help either with the humidity in the room. Even if these issues were corrected it wouldnt have helped us rest any more because there were weddings and parties fri sat and sun. Music could be heard in our room from one of the club houses outside into the late night and then the parades of people up and down the halls hootin and hollering in the wee hours of the morning. They sounded as if they were in our room. The doors and walls of your room hold as no sound barrier. Thirdly, the pools were nice, staff was pleasant. Breakfast buffet was good and a wide selection. All of the seat cushions are very worn and cracked and need to be replaced. Only wish I had seen the gathering of roaches though in the door jam to the back patio by the restaurant before we ate.... Lastly I did request a crib in the room and to my surprise it was already in the room set up and with blankets. I found that very nice. So I write this with mixed reviews. If more attention is paid to detail, provide comfort and peace for sleeping, I think this could be a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Felicia N.,

Thank you for the positive feedback concerning our staff and services. We will share your compliments with our team. We apologize for the conditions of the mattress and the experience you encountered with noise in the hallway due to weddings. What you describe is unacceptable and not up to our standards; we have contacted the Director of Operations and he will make every effort to act quickly to correct the issues. We hope that you will allow us to serve you again. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Sincerely,

Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful rooms, great views, nice location.

You will need a car to get around, as the resort is not within walking distance of anything. This is especially true to eat as not all the restaurants are open during the week. The clubhouse restaurant and bar were open every evening but the menu choices are very limited.

The crab cake sandwich was really good and the soup/salad/sandwich combo was good as well.

The breakfast and buffet was almost like eating on a cruise ship. Great selections and ice cream everyday at lunch.

Golf course with 45 holes is good as well. I did not play the tough course.

Room Tip: If our conference is here next year will arrive early to golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Lansdowne Resort. We appreciate your comments and all of us at Lansdowne Resort enjoyed having you with us and making your stay a wonderful experience. We look forward to providing you with the highest level of service and hospitality on your next trip to Lansdowne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent two days at this beautiful resort on the Potomac. This is a great place to stay with kids. I wish I had brought my golf clubs to play the Robert Trent Jones designed course which looked outstanding. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous giving us both an early check in and late check out. Grounds are well maintained the the outdoor pools are great. Rooms are nice sized as well. The restaurants are a little pricey though. The only breakfast option was a $20 per person buffet so we ate off premises for most meals. The restaurant in the golf clubhouse seemed to be the best option for families. Leesburg is a nice historic town about 8 miles away with lots of dining and shopping options. This is a large convention hotel and I'm guessing convention business is way down as the place was pretty empty. One complaint: The lifeguards wanted to go home early on a cloudy Sunday with scattered rain so we were stuck without use of the outdoor pool for the day. There was a good 5 hour window of no rain and the pool remained closed. The pool staff said it was the call of the golf course manager who referred us back to the pool manager when we called him. Other than that disappointment, this is a nice resort at a decent price and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear BBasil,

Thank you for sharing your recent Lansdowne Resort experience. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our team has been working exceptionally hard to deliver a unique experience for every guest! We will share your comments about the pool with our staff to see where we can better our guests’ experience in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us; we hope to see you in the near future for another great visit.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed two nights on a Living Social package and was quite pleased with all the resort has to offer. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and pleasant; unlike other places where customer service seems forced, the staff at Lansdowne appeared to enjoy their jobs and interacting with guests.

Breakfast buffet both mornings was very good - dining room decor is a little tired and could use updating but it did not detract from the experience. We decided against the pricey On the Potomac restaurant and opted to eat evening meals at Stonewalls Tavern and Pub 46. Food was average in the Tavern (pork spring rolls were exceptional) but I thought food/drink prices were a tad high. The portabello fettucini at Pub 46 was terrific and the weather allowed us to sit on the terrace and enjoy the gorgeous view. Wait staff in both locations were great. The 3 pools are beautiful with food/drink service offered pool side. The workout facility is impressive and I'm glad we brought our walking shoes as there is a 2.5 mile walking trail with beautiful scenery to enjoy.

The room was very clean and nicely appointed - a refrigerator would be nice to add. We enjoyed the free summer concert on Fri evening (despite the rain) - there is no reason to leave the resort if you're coming for a weekend getaway. Our only disappointment was not playing golf (green fees were quite high) but if you just want to hang out and relax by the pool, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Handshaw,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and kind words about the staff. We value your opinion and appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our customer. It was nice to hear how you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer from the pools, to the work out facilities, and the walking trail. We look forward to having you back at the resort for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The absolute best staff; courteous and friendly! Meal was superbly prepared and presented. Very reasonably priced. A truly delightful experience and well worth the visit. Staff took time to explain the various meal components and appeared to actually enjoy there job......well done!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne_PR_Manager, General Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hurambee,
We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience. Please keep an eye open for an announcement re: a fresh new menu at Lansdowne Resort restaurants later this fall. Chef Hans Rouillard has some interesting things in mind for our guests!

Sincerely,
Lloyd W. Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.