We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Resort to your Saves list
Lansdowne Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Incredible experience - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I traveled from Philadelphia to Lansdowne for a last-minute weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We had an amazing experience and can't wait to return. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the resort was beautiful. There is plenty to do, whether you want to be active or relax by one of the pools. I have stayed at numerous resorts like Lansdowne and it exceeded my expectations. A couple of thoughts:

1. If you are going to be a romantic AND family-friendly resort, maybe you could try to place families with kids on a different floor. It was a bit annoying to be woken up at 7am by screaming kids running down the hall. Also, it would be nice to make one pool for adults only. Although one of the pools was very quiet and relaxing at first, a few families came over with 5+ kids and it definitely changed the ambience.
2. With all the wineries nearby, it would be great if you could offer a shuttle service. I would have no problem paying for it!
3. More tennis courts - there was only one available because the other one had clinics/lessons.
4. Breakfast served outside. The grounds are actually beautiful...I would have loved to sit outside and enjoy the sun while eating brunch.

Overall, it was an amazing experience and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear ericacoh13,

In reading your review, I can see you had a wonderful time while staying at Lansdowne. Thank you very much for your thoughts; they have been shared with our team for further review and consideration. Without your feedback, we cannot continue to make improvements to our resort and services. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    185
    121
    70
    52
See reviews for
136
220
45
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We got into Lansdowne Resort because United cancelled our flight and would not rebook us until the following day. This was not our choice, but my 5yo and I were so very pleasantly surprised by this property! I would describe it to friends as a Westin-type resort property, with a golf course instead of a beach, and maybe just a tad below a Westin in the quality of the rooms. There is a beautiful golf course, a really fabulous pool complex with 3 outdoor pools (one has a big waterslide), a small area of fountains you can play in, and an indoor pool; and there is also a playground and sand vollyball pits. We saw a spa that looked nice but didn't have time to try. We were without luggage, and between the golf pro shop and the gift shop we got everything we needed. BUT THE MOST IMPRESSIVE THING HERE is the SERVICE!!!! 5 STAR, absolutely hands down, from EVERY SINGLE person I encountered. Really nice, really pleasant, really not snobby at all, and really, really willing and anxious to do absolutely anything that is needed to make you feel safe and cared-for. NOW, you get all this, AND it's not costly. Our rooms were comped, so I don't know about room prices, but we spent $16 for two on one of the most fabulous breakfast buffets I have ever seen in a resort hotel, and my $30 room service dinner was surprisingly good.

Bottom line: I really love this place. You can't beat wonderful people. Come for a couple of nights with your kids and enjoy the pools and a rest from the craziness that is Washington DC. And enjoy the rest on your wallet too!

Room Tip: Get 3rd floor or above. Ask for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear nellaesque,

We are delighted to hear that you and your 5yo enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are very fortunate to have a top-notch staff that is willing and ready to make every stay unique, regardless of the circumstances for your visit. It is a pleasure to hear when we are successful in our efforts. Thanks so much for your comments, we hope to see you poolside again soon.

Regards,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had an excellent last minute getaway with our infant. The hotel is nearby vineyards, Wegmans and the outlets. We had a super easy check in. The crib we had requested was ready and waiting for us. We had a great time at the pools and my husband enjoyed the slide in particular. Too hot for golf but we plan to return. We had a delightful dinner and a bottle of wine on the patio overlooking the lovely view. This was just what the dr ordered. We left feeling refreshed and relaxed and we were only there 1 night! We will definitely be back. Most of the staff we encountered were eager to help and wanted to make sure we were having a good time.

What could be better: drink service at the pool would be nice, relaxed (think steel-drum band) music at the pool and some "mood" music on the terrace at the golf pub and patio, and a little better training for the servers (we had to ask for silverware after our food was served and our food came out before our drinks on a different occasion) and of course babysitting for infants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear onthegogirl51,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent visit. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay; it sounds as if your husband had a blast! Thank you, also, for your recommendations. On Saturdays we keep the pools and café open late for our guests, during that time we bring in a steel drum band to provide the music. Drink service is offered poolside, I apologize that it was not present during your stay. If you would please reach out to let us know when you stayed, I would like to follow up on error as it not up to our service standards. I have shared these and your other comments amongst the senior leadership for further review and consideration. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Our family decided to try Lansdowne again for a summer family getaway. Our room on the seventh floor was right by the elevators. I was concerned but for no reason. There was absolutely no noise. The room itself was a little dated (popcorn ceilings, no flatscreen) and seemed to be missing some common amenities (refrigerator, bathroom fan, towel racks, etc.). The bathroom was TINY! Way too small!

Having said that, my kids had a blast with the family summer package. The pools are fantastic. The staff is all about service, constantly checking to see if they can do anything. Any request we made was accommodated.

The breakfast buffet which was included with our package was ok. The restaurant itself seemed a little worse for wear.

All in all, great resort just missing some of the basics expected at this type of resort.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the resort for two nights while visiting family in the area. What a beautiful hotel with a gracious staff. The room was nice and there were three pools to choose from. Looks like a large golf community and the hotel over looks the course. We didn't golf, but many did. I would recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear rkbrw,

Thanks very much for the kind words in your review. Our staff works very hard to assure that each and every guest has a wonderful experience at Lansdowne Resort. Thanks for staying, and we look forward to having you again in the near future…maybe even for a round or two of golf.

Warm Regards,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city Missouri US
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I were at Lansdowne three nights for a family wedding. The facility is very impressive, with a huge crackerjack staff who behave as if they're having a ball and you are their priority. The food was great, both at the wedding and at the restaurants. That said, our room was rather mediocre. Bad view, across from ice machine so noisy, not too big, no bedside table on my side of the bed, no flat screen TV. Bathroom small and not too swanky. Just kind of pedestrian for the caliber of this resort. Elevators were crowded and slow- they need more! Overall a very nice time, though. Very pretty resort with lots of places tucked away for you to get far from the madding crowd. Free wireless internet was nice!

Room Tip: Ask for the golf course view, and a room away from elevators/ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear NRLong,

Thanks for sharing your experience and the great room tip. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Lansdowne Resort. Your comments, both good and bad, have been shared with the staff for further review. As for the flat screen TV’s, we hope to have every guest room updated in the next few months. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just returned from an impromptu overnight trip to Lansdown Resort. We wanted a quick one night getaway somewhere where both my husband and I and our two kids would also feel comfortable. Lansdowne is only about 45 minutes from where we live and was perfect for this quick family trip.

We spent the afternoon by the pool, complete with a waterslide that my 7 year old must of gone down 45 times, several life guards on duty so you dont feel like you have to watch the kids like a hawk. Had a snack and drink poolside with very reasonable pricing. Hotel room was very nice, clean and spacious. Comfy bed with fluffy duvee. We were on the top (9th floor) and the views of the valley and golf course were stunning.

My husband and I like gourmet food and good wine. The "On the Potomac Room" and the Chef did not disappoint. Our appetizers were fabulous....Housemade Chacruterie of Confit, Foie Gras, Smoked Duck and Housmade Chorizo was an incredibly intellgent dish and artfully presented. Sear Scallop Appetizer was also to die for! Had a Virginia Viognier and a Virginia Albarino (who knew Virginia made Albarino?) by the glass. Entrees of Sturgeon and Filet Mignon were equally impressive. The chef even came out to say hello and was a real talented young man.

The highlight of the trip was when property mascot, Sharky (a human inside a stuffed shark non scary outfit, think Mickey Mouse) arrived at our room about the kids bed time with milk and warm cookies. What a nice touch for families! The kids were so excited and have not stopped talking about Sharky!

Before leaving we hit a few balls on the driving range which has nice views as well. This place looks like heaven for golfers as there are a few courses to chose from designed by Nicklaus.

This resort is working hard to make sure families are comfortable and well taken care of and all employees went the extra mile to make sure that we were all having a nice time. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth_Petersen, Guest Relations Manager at Lansdowne Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear wvmtntraveler27,

Thank you and your family for your recent stay with us at Lansdowne Resort. We’ve worked exceptionally hard to ensure this summer is pleasurable for all ages. From the pools and Sharkey for the kids, to delectable dining, golf and spa for adults…it sounds like you enjoyed it all. Thanks again for sharing; it is always delightful to know that you, and all of our guests, enjoyed staying with us. We do hope you will return again....We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Seth Petersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Resort

Address: 44050 Woodridge Parkway, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leesburg, Virginia luxury resort near Washington, DC offering three world class golf courses, a 12,000 sq ft destination spa, multiple on-site restaurants, wedding venues and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lansdowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Leesburg
Lansdowne Resort Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.