We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a nice old Holiday Inn. I suspect the negative reviews are from before a renovation was made. The rooms are average sized, with small bathrooms. The appointments are "new" holiday inn and were attractive. The bed was OK. The renovation was "lowest bidder" with sloppy paint work etc, but new and clean.

If you love Indian food, stay here. The attached Indian food restaurant was excellent, with no hotel restaurant markup. The Indian restaurant has typical American hotel food as well. There was a small bar that I did not use.

The staff seemed nice during my brief stay. This is a historic, comfortable hotel which didn't seem shabby to me. I would stay again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    44
    27
    22
See reviews for
44
40
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We decided to skirt Washington at rush hour on our trip from Florida to western NY and ended up in Leesburg, specifically for the Holiday Inn. The main lobby was warm and inviting still decorated for Christmas when we walked in. Front desk manager was friendly and efficient. I agree that the hallways seemed run down in spots though the carpet looks like it had been updated. Once in the room, the furnishings and bedding are lovely. Bathrooms again, show some wear,(mouldings etc.) but have been updated and were very clean.

We dined in the restaurant attached to the hotel as we had driven twelve hours and didn't want to go back out in our car. The restaurant served authentic Indian food as well as American choices.We opted for Indian. I ordered Lamb saag (lamb with creamed spinach). It was delicious though a few of the lamb chunks were chewy. My husband had vindaloo with lamb and liked it. We were the only ones in the restaurant which was warm and cozy with a gas fireplace. Our server was friendly and the owner? manager? stopped by to see if everything was okay. There is a lounge/bar and there were a few people in there.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. In the morning we opted to skip the breakfast (not a free buffet as in most hotels nowadays -$9.99 with your room key) but we were pleased with the price of the hotel and received the AAA discount. In reply to those who had problems with the AC-Heating system....our room was freezing when we entered on a very cold day so obviously it works. We switched to heat and the room warmed up quickly.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry bags up stairs, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Holiday Inn Leesburg and that our staff served you well. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and I hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Leesburg at Carradoc Hall so we could attend a friend's party who lives in the vicinity of the hotel. We have stayed there before. The guest rooms are still nice, but the hallways are more rundown than they were the year before. We didn't want to go out for breakfast so decided to eat in the hotel. It was a horrible experience. My husband and I realized that December is a slow period for hotels, but there was only ONE person working in the restaurant. The poor gal was cooking a breakfast for two other guests in the restaurant (the only other customers there) and didn't hear our call. We got ourselves our own coffee and orange juice. The buffet looked horrid. We decided to get toast from the buffet because we didn't want much else. The waitress/cook/receptionist finally showed up. At that point, we weren't interested in ordering anything from the menu.

Whoever manages the hotel is cutting corners, and I wouldn't be surprised if Holiday Inn pulls its franchise. I'm very familiar with the hotel industry and have seen this happen before with other facilities. When the hotel is in the middle of such a transition, I suggest not booking a room with them.

Room Tip: wouldn't book here until the hotel is completely renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear Madam,

Please accept our sincerest thanks for your recent and honest review of your experience. Currently our maintenance department is updating our hallways and guest rooms with new paint on the doors/trim. As a busy property, the facility does experience wear and tear and such maintenance is required.

Regarding your experience during breakfast, we have spoken with the independent on-site restaurant management and are working to resolve a solution the better offer more complete and excellent customer service.

We apologize that you did not experience superior service during your most recent stay and we would welcome the opportunity to offer your exceptional service during your next trip to Leesburg.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This hotel is in the process of upgrading from what we could tell. We had two rooms, one of which had a vastly updated bathroom. The rooms were comfortable but as other reviewers have noted the AC and heating systems are dated and look more appropriate for a cheap motel. The staff were friendly, but we did not have a lot of interaction. Over all, with the discounted rate we paid, we got about what we paid for, but I would have been upset at full price.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Dear Bob C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

The location was convenient for what we needed. The rooms were reasonably clean. More than adequate parking. One complaint I had is that my room was on the second floor and there was no elevator. I had to drag my luggage up a flight of stairs. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

In October 2014, we hosted a rehearsal dinner in the Loudon Room at the hotel. The wedding involved a number of out of town guest, some who came long distances. We wanted to invite those who traveled and had almost 70 attend. Since we were also from out of town the planning started in April. From the beginning Andrew Mercer was very helpful attending to the details, and was there for us if we had questions. He was willing to meet those special needs that always arise. The night of the event the room looked beautiful, and his staff did a great job attending to our guests. We received several compliments about the quality of the food and how nice the staff was. Thank you Andrew, and his staff for an enjoyable evening. It was a wonderful start to a special wedding weekend. Michael

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

First, the positives: If you have a car, the location is pretty good. It's an easy drive from Dulles Airport and is not far from a nice, walkable shopping center and downtown Leesburg. It's not good for those without cars as the hotel is isolated by a very busy highway.
Now the negatives: While the lobby is up to date and quite nice, the rest of the building is extremely run down. The hallways are shabby and smell off. The rooms are outdated. We requested a King size bed if they had it and ended up in a double bed. I always thought that full and double beds were synonymous--apparently not as this was notably smaller than our full size bed at home. It was so small that even the headboards jutted out on either side of it. The walls were paper-thin. We heard our neighbors talking in normal voices, drying their hair--you name it. We felt like there was no privacy at all. The room wasn't very clean. I could see exactly where the mops in the bathroom consistently missed (there was a clear grime line) and the corners of the bathroom had dust, cobwebs, and small pieces of trash.

The worst part of the visit came the next day when we came back from having been gone since about 9am and discovered that as of late mid-day our room had yet to be cleaned. We were there for a wedding that we wanted to get cleaned up for, so my husband called the front desk to see if housekeeping planned to be by soon and we should clear out for a bit longer or if we should go ahead and start getting ready. He explained we just wanted a ballpark estimate so that neither of us would be in the shower when housekeeping knocked. The lady at the front desk was extremely snappy and defensive. Upon not getting any concrete time frame, my husband asked if we could have a few fresh towels so that we could start getting ready. An hour passed. They never showed up. When my husband walked down to the front desk to pick them up the woman was defensive and nasty again claiming "I've been knocking and knocking on your door and you just didn't answer." Well, that's just not true. We were sitting in the room, waiting for the towels to be delivered and (as already mentioned) the walls are paper thin. We would have been able to hear if she had knocked on any door in the hallway, much less ours.

The room still hadn't been cleaned when we left for the wedding early that evening. When we got back, it had only been partially cleaned. The trash cans hadn't been empty, toiletries and the remaining towels hadn't been replaced--they pretty much just made the bed and called it clean. Also, don't be fooled by their sign for free "fast" wifi. It was so slow that I had a hard time getting work email sent, much less loading a movie trailer. This place is well below the standards of a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear TravelBug71209,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Address: 1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leesburg at Historic Carradoc Hall is a unique hotel attached to a stately 1747 mansion home, conveniently located just two miles from Downtown Leesburg s historic district and 12 miles from the Dulles International Airport . This charming hotel offers complimentary high speed wireless and wired Internet access and expanded cable pay per view movies in all of our 122 guest rooms. Experience the area's local attractions: Balls Bluff and other Civil War Battlefields , Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets, Smithsonian museums, and historic Morven Park. Local companies in the area include: Verizon, Telos, the National Conference Center and Xerox Training Center . The 3 Oaks Restaurant at this Leesburg hotel provides a warm and wonderful atmosphere for dining, and Kids Eat Free! . Stay in shape by working out in our fitness center or swimming laps in our seasonal pool. Pets are welcome! Escape the hustle and bustle of the city and meet at The Holiday Inn Leesburg. We offer a relaxed, comfortable setting that is conducive to successful and productive meetings . With Five banquet rooms our hotel is also an ideal location for weddings, reunions, receptions, banquets and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall Hotel Leesburg
Holiday Inn Carradoc Hall
Leesburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.