We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Little things downgrade this average hotel. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was okay. However, lots of little things became annoying. There was only one cup for the coffee in morning, The room needed a more thorough cleaning and vacuuming in general. Grout in the shower and bathroom was not the cleanest. Parking was difficult because there a large religious group there. Towels had stains and so did the bed linen. It is an "okay" choice for a night's stay, but not anything memorable.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the conference/party rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Rick,

I would like to offer my apology to you as we did not make your stay a memorable one. We appreciate and take to heart all of our guests feedback. Please be assured your comments have been pass onto the appropriate team members and we will strive to improve. We hope you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay at our property exceptional in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    27
    44
    26
    22
See reviews for
44
38
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were at Holiday Inn Leesburg last weekend for our wedding. The staff here are professional and helpful. Many of our guests stayed here and was very happy with their stay -- I recommended Holiday Inn for families and older guests -- in my opinion, it was more family friendly and quieter than other hotels. Andrew helped us organize the after wedding brunch which was delicious. He also helped us organized an after wedding party at the bar inside the hotel just a week before the wedding. They were both well organized and our guests loved it. I highly recommend the hotel for any visitors!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Sallie I,

We are so glad you and your wedding group enjoyed your experience at Holiday Inn Leesburg. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write this review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

For history lovers, this is a nice place. Set on a historical site and close to downtown Leesburg, it's in a beautiful area. There are a couple on-site restaurants and the rooms are spacious. The front desk staff was amazing and very nice!
That said, I was disappointed with a few things: The fitness center is pitiful and not great if you like to work out on your trips. There is no complimentary coffee or beverages and their restaurants are overpriced.
I ordered breakfast via room service and was called early in the morning to be informed that they were completely out of the food I asked for. I ended up settling for undercooked bacon and some toast. I was still charged full price. Kind of started my morning off in a cruddy way.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated the historic nature of our property and location here in Loudoun County. We are very proud off our front desk staff and are working hard to provide excellent customer service.

It is our sincerest goal to offer our guests fantastic customer service and a superb and comfortable stay. The issues you have experienced recently during your stay have been reviewed with the restaurant staff so that this issue could be avoided in the future.

We do hope you might consider staying with us again in the future when you are next in town.

Most Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When you look at the pics of this hotel you think "Wow, this doesn't look like a Holiday Inn" and you would be right.

In a 100+ year old building it has a lot of charm...on the outside; once you get in it is below what you would expect from a typical Holiday Inn - this is bad!

The inside condition is poor with carpets coming apart, paint peeling, a bit musty smelling and the worst part: DIRTY!

Even the hallways were dirty and looked like they have not been vacuumed in months.

The outside pool was shut down and the only restaurant is an Indian restaurant that you can smell a mile away - an Indian friend who lives in the area said it was good at one time but the quality has gone down - hotel staff said they are going to close it?

The other problem with this hotel is the location - getting knot the parking lot heading north is easy...getting in from the other side heading south or if you want to head south from the parking lot is a maze....your GPS will go nuts and keep telling you to make a u-turn, even though signs in the area forbid it.

It seemed like it might have been a great stay and the rates are reasonable, bit it was a disappointment all the way around.

Room Tip: Since this is an old building, it has no elevators, even though it is only two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. Now under new management, we are striving to correct previous and existing issues with a property of this age. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as our guests reviews and thoughts are crucial to our revitalization.

We would like to invite you try our property again in the future and see some of the changes we are making.

Safe travels to your next destination!

Most Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a reasonable hotel and honestly speaking the main reason we stayed there was because was close to Leesburg premium outlet ( good tip to Brazilian shoppers). The hotel has its own charming since it was an old mansion. That is all about. Breakfast is reasonable at the Indian restaurant. If you do not like curry smell, breakfast will be challenging.

Room Tip: A good location if you are considering to shop at Leesburg outlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Leesburg! We are so glad to hear that you found the location convenient to area attractions! We hope you will consider us when you are in the area again. We will be sure to pass on your other comments as well to the in-house restaurant.

Most Sincerely,

Charity Miller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I arrived at my room at around 5:30pm and went to work on my computer, I attempted to turn on the main lamp and discovered it had no bulb. I called the front desk to fix it, they said they would send someone immediately, 40 minutes later a man arrived replaced the bulb and still could not get the light to work. he the completely moved the bed to discoverit was also unplugged. Later in the evening I called the restaurant to order dinner, after taking my order with difficulty due to a language barrier, the man on the phone stated I would have to call back because the bartender was not available to properly take my order. I called back 10 minutes later and placed my order and was told my order would be up in 15-20 minutes. 45 minutes I called the front desk to complain that I had not yet received my food, their response was the restaurant is third party owned and they had no control over it. I called the restaurant and canceled myorder and had to go out at 10:00pm to find something to eat. The next morning I went downstairs to eat breakfast that is supposedly free according to the website and was stopped by a man guarding the breakfast buffet asking me for a ticket. I informed him I had no ticket and he asked me for my room number with a look as if I was going to steal something. He made a call and told me that because I booked my room through an expedia type website I would have to pay $11.99 for my breakfast. I work in the Hospitality Industry and this is the worst service I have seen in over a decade. I would not reteurn nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Anthony,

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I am truly troubled by your experience and have personally spoken to each department regarding the issues you have dealt with. I would like to invite you to please contact a member of management so that we can make amends to you.

Most Sincerely,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a wedding party and guests stay at the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They did take care of our family with kids who were dissapointed that the pool was closed by paying for putt-putt golf for them and giving them passes to the fitness center across the street. Service in the restaurant was terrible. Even when not busy, had to wait 1 hour and 20 minutes for evening meal on night one. On one morning for breakfast, restaurant first ran out of plates causing people to share plates to eat off of and then had to share food when they ran out of food. They ran out of food each morning we ate there. Servers were not friendly at all. Did not make eye contact and you had to chase them toward the back where they were seemingly hiding from the guests in order to get orange juice or coffee refills. Apparently the restaurant is run separate from the Holiday Inn but it does reflect very poorly on the hotel. The pool was closed due to "major damage". We had an elderly relative that needed to change rooms because despite notifying the hotel management that the toilet would not stop running, it apparently was easier to move the guest than to fix the toilet. The tiles in the bathroom were missing grout and the floor would "crunch" when walked on. The privacy shade in our room did not close all the way on the left so the right side had to be forced over which exposed a hole in the shade. This location has alot of history and potential and its too bad that it is run the way it is (exception front desk personnel). The "Service" rating is the front desk staff not the restaurant service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
DCTraveler3716,

I would first like to apologize that your recent stay at our property was not as enjoyable as it should have been. The issues in the room have been taken care of and I am sorry you had to experience that. I have forwarded the issues you had in the restaurant to the ownership and management team. Thank you again for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Address: 1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leesburg at Historic Carradoc Hall is a unique hotel attached to a stately 1747 mansion home, conveniently located just two miles from Downtown Leesburg s historic district and 12 miles from the Dulles International Airport . This charming hotel offers complimentary high speed wireless and wired Internet access and expanded cable pay per view movies in all of our 122 guest rooms. Experience the area's local attractions: Balls Bluff and other Civil War Battlefields , Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets, Smithsonian museums, and historic Morven Park. Local companies in the area include: Verizon, Telos, the National Conference Center and Xerox Training Center . The 3 Oaks Restaurant at this Leesburg hotel provides a warm and wonderful atmosphere for dining, and Kids Eat Free! . Stay in shape by working out in our fitness center or swimming laps in our seasonal pool. Pets are welcome! Escape the hustle and bustle of the city and meet at The Holiday Inn Leesburg. We offer a relaxed, comfortable setting that is conducive to successful and productive meetings . With Five banquet rooms our hotel is also an ideal location for weddings, reunions, receptions, banquets and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall Hotel Leesburg
Holiday Inn Carradoc Hall
Leesburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.