We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn in Leesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn in Leesburg to your Saves list
Clarion Inn in Leesburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176 (Formerly Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Unlike the area surrounding BWI, the Dulles Airport region doesn't seem to have many inexpensive hotels/motels. I stayed in the Holiday Inn at Carradoc Hall for one night so that I could be at an early morning meeting at Dulles. Although this is one of the least expensive rooms in the area ($95), it was very clean and the room smelled fine. Decent food downstairs and everything was comfortable. Check in and out was quick and painless.

Room Tip: A good option if you need to stay close to dulles. Ask for non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    49
    28
    25
See reviews for
51
41
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Ok so I been here twice. First time I came here there was a little problem. I had a room which smelled so bad. I cannot describe the smell. It smelled like urine and stinky breath. I called the front desk and they were nice enuff to move me to another room but my room faced the pool and some strange guy was painting outside my window which was annoying because he kept making noise and on top of that he can see thru my window this didn't stop me from coming here a second time. Second time around wasn't bad at all. Overall staff are very friendly they make you feel welcome and I enjoy my stay here. I don't mind coming bk again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Leesburg as part of a stay and fly program. We read some of the reviews and wondered if those with negative reviews had really stayed at this facility. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful desk clerk - Jacky. We had a great room, clean, fresh and everything worked! We wanted to drive to a nearby restaurant for dinner; Jacky said that Amit would drive us there and pick us up in the shuttle. Thanks Amit. We were lucky enough to be staying a night when the hotel offers drinks and appetizers to its Priority Club members in the lobby. The next morning we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was both excellent and fairly priced. We checked out and arranged for the shuttle to Dulles airport - thanks Deb. Our return trip from the airport was just a phone call away. Parking was easy and convenient. We're staying there again this month for another stay and fly trip. Looking forward to seeing Jacky, Deb and Amit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Leesburg, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us via this channel and allowing us to show you a wonderful time during your stay in Leesburg. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Front desk clerks, Frances and Debbi, were friendly, professional and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy; check-out was also quick and easy. I found them to be knowledgeable about the hotel and the Leesburg area.

The room was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Leesburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for you comments, we will share them with our entire team especially Frances and Jacky. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I can truthfully say I expect to never again stay at the Holiday Inn Leesburg (Historic Inn at Carradoc Hall). The 3 Oaks Restaurant there has been converted into an Indian Restaurant (without any real change to the bones of the restaurant - so you can still see the English/Southern manor look it must've had previously), the only place to congregate and grab a drink at midnight is a horrid Hookah Bar that looks and feels like a particularly seedy frat house. Sadly the 'Historic Inn' part of the complex (the old manse) is wasted by this conversion. The rooms need work (the toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall, quite obviously; the fan didn't work, the room was damp, etc), the breakfast staff (understaffed, as well) are absolutely disorganized, and the breakfast buffet itself is a horror.

Just an all-around terrible time. If there's _any_ other option, I know we'll be taking it in the future.

I don't care if the new restaurant and bar make that Holiday Inn more money: The "Historic Inn at Carradoc Hall" name evokes an image that is supremely ill-suited to the current form."

Basically, the site wasn't as much like it's depicted at their site (http://www.holidayinnleesburg.com/) - particularly those fun looking pictures at the bar (http://www.holidayinnleesburg.com/gallery/image25.jpg), as it closed at 11pm (and I'm not entirely sure it even exists anymore in the 'Angeethi Indian Restaurant'); or the 3 Oaks Restaurant (http://www.holidayinnleesburg.com/gallery/image22.jpg), or, as listed under their 'Dining' tab (http://www.holidayinnleesburg.com/leesburg-hotel-dining) but that doesn't actually exist as it's been co-opted to a horrid smelling Indian restaurant (the front sign is even changed, except in the posted pictures!)), and the mansion itself had an, as mentioned above, college frat-boy vibe to it - not only people hanging out on the front lawn at midnight, but gaudy hookah's and paraphernalia on the front porch (and don't get me started on the posted sign).

The rooms _looked_ like in the pictures, minus the included damp air, and poor maintenance (at one point the pool didn't open on time as the only repairman/pool operator was replacing an air conditioner in one of my party's rooms!)

Have I mentioned the truly terrible buffet? It took us more than an hour to make it through, due to poor service (first we couldn't get orange juice, then no coffee, then coffee, but no creamer, then no milk for the cereal, then they were out of eggs on the buffet for 30 minutes, then the waffle mix had a truly odd taste, then nobody could find the maple syrup... It continued that way (and who has _cricket_ running on the TV during breakfast?! I enjoy the odd match when sitting in Helmand with the Brits, but that's on a _Brit_ base with _Brit_ troopers, not _Leesburg, VA_!).

The entire parking lot was packed on our parties return from the wedding site at midnight-1ish. We're guests _at_ the hotel and there's no parking due to the frat house and 'convention' space?! The front desk told a member of our party it was ok for them to park in a handicapped spot. A handicapped spot! Wouldn't have been so silly if that wasn't illegal. We were further told to park in the Fire Lane. <sigh>

As I stated above, it was just a terrible endcap to a great-starting weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Leesburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you some of the changes we have made since we last spoke in September.
David Brooks (703)771-9200 ext. 422
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our entire family plus all of the wedding party stayed here for an offsite wedding for 2-3 nights. Making the reservations was a painful experience, it took me a total of 1.5 hours and three calls to get the rooms straight. Everyone staying there had similar experiences. The biggest issue was that the groom checked into his room @ 3pm then left for the rehearsal party @ 4pm. He and one of the groomsmen returned to the room and went to bed around midnight. He was awakened around 12:30 by the sound of someone trying to break into the room. When he opened the door the maintenance man was trying to "jimmy" the bolt on the door. The staff had booked the room to a second individual who checked in @ 4:15 pm. The 2nd guest entered the room and never questioned the fact that there were several tuxes and other suit cases in the room. He proceeded to take a shower and leave the room until returning @ 12:30 with the maintenance man in tow to break back into the room. The manager finally showed up and apologized. When the groom went to the desk the next morning to complain, the registration person tried to blame him for the mistake saying "you checked into the wrong room". DUHHH -- then why did the room key work? Ultimately the manager stepped up and resolved the issue, comping both the previous night and the "honeymoon" night for the happy couple. If i needed a place to stay in Leesburg again, this would NOT be my choice. Not feeling safe even with the dead bolt on the door!!!! The other safety issue was noted on the second floor, where an air conditioner in a window of a common area had black soot around the plug -- YIKES.

Room Tip: I would stay at best western next time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Leesburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Honest feedback about our hotel is something we take seriously so we can improve.
I hope you will contact me directly at 703-771-9200 extension 422 or holidayinngm@baywoodhotels.com so we can discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

at less than $100 per night, I was expecting much less. The rooms were spotless, with pretty new furniture, nice bedding and a comfortable bed. also they gave me 300 extra holiday inn points, which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Leesburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#2 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
6.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
7.0 mi away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn in Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Leesburg

Address: 1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176 (Formerly Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn in Leesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Outlets Set amid historic Leesburg, VA, the Clarion Inn(R) offers easy access to 45 local wineries and vineyards, delicious local dining, several breweries and popular attractions like: Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets Balls Bluff Battlefield Cobb Theater Alamo Drafthouse Washington & Old Dominion Railroad Regional Park This pet-friendly Leesburg hotel is also convenient to Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, Oatlands Plantation and Great County Farms. Grab a meal at Silk, our on-site restaurant and lounge, relax in the seasonal outdoor pool, get fit in the fitness center and get work done in the business center. Six meeting rooms can accommodate 450 people for banquets and 800 for conferences. All non-smoking guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a refrigerator and sofa sleeper. Get together at the Clarion Inn in Leesburg, Virginia. Book now to connect with family, friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn in Leesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall Hotel Leesburg
Holiday Inn Carradoc Hall
Leesburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn in Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.