We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly nice rooms for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice rooms for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

at less than $100 per night, I was expecting much less. The rooms were spotless, with pretty new furniture, nice bedding and a comfortable bed. also they gave me 300 extra holiday inn points, which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    40
    25
    22
See reviews for
41
35
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Older facility. Common areas have been renovated. Rooms are clean with what you would expect from the chain. Clean sheets, soft and firm pillows. The hotel has two or three party halls and good catering service (Indian food). Party rooms have good sound insulation and away from the hotel rooms. We stayed after a late night party in the same place and it served the purpose well. It is a bit too far from Dulles airport especially in traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback will be shared with all of our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was OK. Room was clean, Breakfast was good, location was handy for what I needed. We stayed during hurricane Sandy and the power went off for five minutes, but it wasn't a problem. Staff were in the main very friendly and the front desk held a package for me after it got delayed due to the storm until I could return for it.

There was however one niggle. Although the breakfast was very good with a great choice of foods, the waiter was rather unfriendly; my mother thought he was quite rude. It was rather unfortunate that he put a bad mark down for this hotel as otherwise the experience was very positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a friend's wedding.
Several Points both Good and Bad:

The Good: Nice new beds with new linens. 2 Types of Pillows to choose from (Soft or Firm) with Tags on them. Bad part is, you don't know where those bands lay when they put it back on your fresh pillowcase.
Nice Lobby. Seems like money has been put into the cosmetic things.
Staff was nice but spoke mostly Spanish every time I passed by.
The good: nice medium sized office desk. One room chair other than desk chair.

Lots of shopping and food around the area. An outlet mall is just up the street 3 minutes away.

The Bad: Old windows with chipping paint, curtains with one missing sheer, cheap old locks. Not very secure.
The Bad: Steps everywhere. If you need handicapped accessible hotel, this is not for you. They have stairs between the parking lot and the first floor. A chair lift to go from the lobby floor to the first floor (main floor).
Noisy exhaust fan in bathroom.

Too many blank/static channels on the TV.
Noisy hallway doors that can slam shut by ignorant guests.
Hard to get to traveling east on Rt 7 East. Had to travel 4 min past hotel and do a U turn to come back to it.

Hotel restaurant serves mainly Indian cuisine. Bar drinks had too much as ice for the price.
Indian food smells ever where. Sunday morning breakfast buffet sucked!
Runny eggs, a 4 slice toaster that only worked on one side and for $13.95 per person! Don't think so!

No refrigerator for the price we paid $115/night. We had a block of rooms for a wedding weekend.
Had to use ice in plastic cups. They did bring a fridge after we complained.
Noisy exhaust fan in bathroom.

Old room air conditioner/heater that runs all night.

Lastly went for coffee in the morning in the hotel lobby and it was dry 2 times I tried!
Stay somewhere on Rt 15 Near the Leesburg Outlet Mall.

Room Tip: Don't get an outside facing room. Lots of road noise can parking lot noise. Ask for an inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A bit like lipstick on a pig. It is easy to see that this hotel has been renovated recently. The newer nicer elements of the HI brand are all present. However, the none of it seems to cover up the filth. My room had blood spatter marks in the bathroom next to the toilet, dust on the nightstand, etc. Dirty carpets and chipped and peeling paint throughout the hotel. It is a shame, because the exterior of the hotel in fantastic. The hotel has one redeeming quality and that is the Indian Restaurant in the lobby. It was pretty good and fairly authentic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Holiday Inn Leesburg Carradoc Hall. We take pride in our building and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 703-771-9200 ext. 422
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have an event to attend every 5 years, and this is the host hotel. Well its was 2007 when we were last there, and its been all downhill since then apparently. The front exterior still looks great and the lobby area is smart, but that's where it ends. The rest of the hotel is in severe need of refurbishment. On our first night, we had great problems using the key card to get into our room, the light blinked green but door would not open. So took a long trek to front desk only to be told the locks were old, and gradually being replaced! I asked if this was the best they could do for a platinum member. They put it on the list of things to fix and I have to say the following day, and for the rest of the stay the door worked. The rooms are tired and very dated - the beds were firm and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was supposed to start at 6.30 am, but at 6.45, still not ready...and the food needed to be hotter. The bar is a joke and the barmaid, an embarrassment. She was incredibly slow, rude to the customers and talked incessantly to anyone who would listen about her hard life. Of the 6 beers on tap - 2 they were out of and the remaining ones tasted watery. The only food eaten here was a club sandwich - pretty hard to ruin that - wrong!
All in all there have to be better/newer places in town (they still charge upmarket prices - $120 on a group rate) Oh yes and as others have mentioned access is awkward to to the traffic pattern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear snoopy_lh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here as part of a business trip and to attend conference at another venue. This hotel has a lot of potential - historic location, some nice staff, close to outlet mall etc. However, I found my overall stay was not particularly nice. The room was generous in size and the bed comfortable - but had an odour and I couldn't open the window wide enough to air it. There was no refridgerator to store drinks or snacks. As stated by other contributors, the breakfast left a lot to be desired. I'm lucky I had a car as it is impossible to walk to anything, even to get across the highway to the supermarket and shops. I don't think I would stay here again....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCarradoc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn, Leesburg at Historic Carradoc Hall . I appreciate your candid comments and will share them with my team as we strive to improve our guests experience. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in greater detail, I am available at (703) 771-9200 extension 422. I look forward to hearing from you.

David Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall

Address: 1500 East Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leesburg at Historic Carradoc Hall is a unique hotel attached to a stately 1747 mansion home, conveniently located just two miles from Downtown Leesburg s historic district and 12 miles from the Dulles International Airport . This charming hotel offers complimentary high speed wireless and wired Internet access and expanded cable pay per view movies in all of our 122 guest rooms. Experience the area's local attractions: Balls Bluff and other Civil War Battlefields , Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets, Smithsonian museums, and historic Morven Park. Local companies in the area include: Verizon, Telos, the National Conference Center and Xerox Training Center . The 3 Oaks Restaurant at this Leesburg hotel provides a warm and wonderful atmosphere for dining, and Kids Eat Free! . Stay in shape by working out in our fitness center or swimming laps in our seasonal pool. Pets are welcome! Escape the hustle and bustle of the city and meet at The Holiday Inn Leesburg. We offer a relaxed, comfortable setting that is conducive to successful and productive meetings . With Five banquet rooms our hotel is also an ideal location for weddings, reunions, receptions, banquets and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall Hotel Leesburg
Holiday Inn Carradoc Hall
Leesburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leesburg At Carradoc Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.