We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute place - delicious curry ketchup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doener Bistro

Doener Bistro
202 Harrison St SE, Leesburg, VA 20175-3701
703-779-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 178 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very cute place - delicious curry ketchup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I'm a vegetarian so I didn't have much choice here although everyone I was with raved about the food. I had a falafel sandwich and it was DELICIOUS!! Very impressed that a German restaurant could do that food so well. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was super cute. The group I was with had come in October for their Oktoberfest party and said that it was a great time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wooow absolut great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I'm German n live since 2 years with my husband in virginia, we went in lots of places where they sell doener but nowhere was it like in Germany! We r sitting right now here at doener bistro n had a doener ( my hubby 2 lol) it is soooo good it taste like in Germany. Live music n a very romantic atmosphere! we will come again! The 30 miles which we drive here worted! Everyone who wants a real tuerkisch doener than come here u will love it like me!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A little piece of Deutschland here in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I met in Germany. Imagine our delightful surprise to discover the Döner Bistro. It brought us right back to the cuisine we enjoyed back then. Reasonably priced, deliciously prepared, and offering an outstanding beer selection.

The beer garden - their outdoor seating section -- has authentic festival tables & benches and German eclectic radio via satellite playing overhead.

We sampled a variety of their menu; falafels were small and full of flavor. The brot mit brochen was excellent. The potato pancakes with applesauce were well prepared. The salad was absolutely as I remember in Germany (that is to say lots of iceberg lettuce, small pieces of tomato, diced red onions, too much feta to try to cover everything else, and some tasty tzatziki on the side. The pomme frites were tasty. The beer was outstanding.

Oh yes, we will be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Variety in Leesburg, Yay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We LOVE the Doener! You'd never expect German Turkish food in Leesburg, VA - almost feel like you're in the middle of Munich. My favorite is the classic Doener sandwich - lots of yummy garlicy yogurt sauce, but the Bratwurst, Curry dogs (? name?) and everything is good here. We love the fries too! Great alternative to fast food. Order at counter and they deliver. Wonderful European beer selections as well. Small establishment but they have added a bigger dining area w cool wooden tables in the past few years. GO, you won't be sorry! Here's a cute story about their restaurant & its beginnings: http://www.doener-usa.com/about.html

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

just a little bit out of the ordinary from the run of the mill stuff around this area - hard to find unique places to have a tasty quick meal - love the french fries too

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doener Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Doener Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doener Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.