We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doener Bistro

Doener Bistro
202 Harrison St SE, Leesburg, VA 20175-3701
703-779-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

just a little bit out of the ordinary from the run of the mill stuff around this area - hard to find unique places to have a tasty quick meal - love the french fries too

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great authentic german restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I grew up in Germany and since moving to the US a decade ago, i'm always in the hunt of good german food in the US... and i finally found one that meets my standard. I'll recommend the Doener Kebab and Curry wurst. They were delicious and most authentic german food i've tried so far in the east coast (and I've tried many already!). I've posted pictures of the food from Doener Bistro on my food blog. You can check it out here if you're interested:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Been-There-Ate-That/156499854368045

I will definitely come back when i'm in the area!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Danke! Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Brings back memories of German-Turkish fast food. Thanks for putting this place on the map and please open more in other cities. The food was pretty authentic and since I like the German-Turkish mix of food, I was happy. Excellent a varied beer selection, pretty friendly staff and good details such as the beer garden furniture.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SO nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Food is excellent! Doner sanwich (beef or chicken) are great, as well as the snitzel (though a unique preparation). Wine and beer selection, indoor and outdoor seating, the fries are the BEST!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pommes, good doner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

I had the beef doner on 10/30 & the chicken doner on 11/3. The beef doner had more flavor as the chicken doner was dry. However, the pommes were AWESOME! During the weekened the have beef, the week day is chicken.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doener Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Doener Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doener Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.