We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Winery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willowcroft Farm Vineyards

Willowcroft Farm Vineyards
38906 Mount Gilead Road, Leesburg, VA
703-777-8161
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 activities in Leesburg
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A winery where people can do wine-tasting and even volunteer with the harvest - a real hands-on learning experience.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Nice Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Willowcroft. This visit we used a $20.00 Specialicious deal which included a cheese, salami and cracker plate, two souvenir glasses and $20.00 gift shop credit. Sara walked us through our wine tasting, explaining each wine. She was very knowledgeable and fun to talk with. On a previous visit, we were served by Steve, who was quite entertaining. There is a tasting fee of $5.00. The winery has tables inside and outside for picnics. Nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rangoon
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful part of Loudoun County, VA. Girl that did the tasting was very personable and did a great job. Kinda chintzy on the wine, though they did taste 7 different types. I've got eye droppers that hold more. First tasting in the US so this could be the norm. Wine was very good - hadn't had Virginia wine for a decade, so I'm guessing the vines are maturing - it has improved! Spaghetti was good - it's a great idea for a draw and we'd go again. Good marketing via Travel Zoo as it brought in several of us at a price that got us to do something we've been thinking of doing for a while. If you're from the city I especially recommend it. But be careful - deer and fox on the road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The oldest is among the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Willowcroft Farm is one of the original Louden County vineyards and has matured well. The production facility and tasting room for this craft winery are all contained within an old red barn that is full of charm and good vibes. As the vines have aged so has the winemaker's skill improved. Tasting some of the fifteen year old vintages from Willowcroft is an interesting exercise, but I fully expect the more recent vintages to age into superb wines.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must see on any NOVA wine tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

So we spent our second NOVA wine country getaway exploring some vineyards in the Leesburg area. First on our list due to geography was Willowcroft. It is both quaint and sophisticated , down to earth and refined. Willowcroft set the bar for the rest of the trip, and hands down the wines there were some of the best VA wines I've had, and ranks up there with some of the best NoCal, OR, WA wines. During this trip we went to four other wineries and vineyards. If you have limited time Willowcroft is a must, you wont be disappointed. I promise.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Willowcroft is definitely worth a stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We love to stop at wineries on the weekends, and were very happy we picked Willowcroft!

We were coming home from a short weekend trip and saw the wine sign pointing down a side road. We weren't in a hurry so we decided to investigate. I'm sure glad we did.

We had stopped at a winery further north (Hillsborough) and had a terrible experience, so I was really hoping this winery would be better and make me forget the last one. Willowcroft was exactly what I needed.

Willowcroft may not be new and polished like the wineries that spring up everywhere these days, but they have that same great view. They also know how to take care of people because they've been doing it since 1984. We love the fact that their tasting room is in a barn, because we pour for another older winery in Virginia and our tasting room is in a barn, too! It's funny how the older wineries don't need the fancy tasting rooms, they just want to make great wine.

We chatted with our pourer about the different wines and she was very knowledgable. We enjoyed several of the wines and bought 2 glasses of wine and some crackers to enjoy on the patio. This experience was what I expect at a winery, and helped to erase the horrible time we had at Hillsborough. We bought a bottle of their Petit Verdot since that's our favorite and hope to enjoy it soon.

We will definitely come back to Wllowcroft, this is what a winery should be!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willowcroft Farm Vineyards also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Willowcroft Farm Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowcroft Farm Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.