We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Oatlands Plantation
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

great place to learn the history of the area and learn how things were done back in the day. went here on school field trips. now that i am older, i appreciate it more.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a beautiful gem near D.C! We took our own picnic lunch to enjoy on the grounds of the plantation before heading up to the house and garden. The afternoon was perfect for walking, playing catch with a ball, reading a book or just sitting and enjoying the warm sun and light breeze. Once we got to the house, we were greeted by our docent, Liz. She is absolutely delightful, infusing the history with life! Who knew so many renowned people had connections to this place? She hosted the tour on the first floor only. The second floor was a self-guided tour if one wished to see it. Then, the gardens were beautiful, almost magical. In some places it was if we were in a storybook. Strolling through the various sections, I could just visualize the guests of old as they arrived for weekend retreat from the stress of D.C. life!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The best Christmas Teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Reserve early for any of their Christmas Teas. They are fun, delicious, beautifully set, visit historic mansion, great photo taking opportunities. It is a family tradition for many years to have Tea at the Oatlands. Thank you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Saw my first ghost here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I grew up in Leesburg in the 60s and 70s when the Pearsons managed the estate and was fortunate to have their daughter as my best friend. Since they also ran the grounds and the mansion, we ran all over the place. Some of my best memories are there. However, we did witness a lady from another time sipping tea on the grounds. Scared me half to death! Have been out there recently and am sorry to say, it's not all about history anymore, it's all about money. On the other hand, the grounds are still lovely and the interior of the Big House remains the same. The only thing that's missing are "down to earth" locals who truly love the Estate and are well read on the history. Oatlands has los its local flavor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice way to spend a morning or afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My sister and I took my mother there for a birthday outing (she is in her 70s). It was charming and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our guide did a nice job explaining the history and rooms of the home.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;