We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
585 reviews
329 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Interesting history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

great place to learn the history of the area and learn how things were done back in the day. went here on school field trips. now that i am older, i appreciate it more.

Visited July 2014
Thank Curtez151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Afternoon retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a beautiful gem near D.C! We took our own picnic lunch to enjoy on the grounds of the plantation before heading up to the house and garden. The afternoon was perfect for walking, playing catch with a ball, reading a book or just sitting and enjoying the warm sun and light breeze. Once we got to the house, we were greeted by our docent, Liz. She is absolutely delightful, infusing the history with life! Who knew so many renowned people had connections to this place? She hosted the tour on the first floor only. The second floor was a self-guided tour if one wished to see it. Then, the gardens were beautiful, almost magical. In some places it was if we were in a storybook. Strolling through the various sections, I could just visualize the guests of old as they arrived for weekend retreat from the stress of D.C. life!

Visited June 2014
2 Thank rambler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best Christmas Teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Reserve early for any of their Christmas Teas. They are fun, delicious, beautifully set, visit historic mansion, great photo taking opportunities. It is a family tradition for many years to have Tea at the Oatlands. Thank you.

Visited December 2013
2 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Saw my first ghost here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I grew up in Leesburg in the 60s and 70s when the Pearsons managed the estate and was fortunate to have their daughter as my best friend. Since they also ran the grounds and the mansion, we ran all over the place. Some of my best memories are there. However, we did witness a lady from another time sipping tea on the grounds. Scared me half to death! Have been out there recently and am sorry to say, it's not all about history anymore, it's all about money. On the other hand, the grounds are still lovely and the interior of the Big House remains the same. The only thing that's missing are "down to earth" locals who truly love the Estate and are well read on the history. Oatlands has los its local flavor.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank 1ghostlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a morning or afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My sister and I took my mother there for a birthday outing (she is in her 70s). It was charming and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Our guide did a nice job explaining the history and rooms of the home.

Visited December 2013
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Historic House & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.