We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a surprise, wonderful home and guide was outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Oatlands Plantation
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“what a surprise, wonderful home and guide was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

didn't expect this to be so good. Lots of Virginia and US history, beautiful old home with 4 acres of garden. Our guide was excellent telling us lots of stories about the families that have lived there over the hundreds of years. We really enjoyed it, probably spent a couple of hours with house and garden.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice plantation and great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We really like touring the mansion and grounds here. The guide was extremely knowledgable and we learned a lot about the families that built and lived in the house. I'm sure funding is an issue, but we would have loved the same detail and guidance upstairs.

We were very disappointed with the green house. There were ZERO plants in it. Possibly the greenery will return after renovations, but in its current state it's not impressive.

If we lived closer we would also love to try the candle lit Christmas tour as well!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful home. Real Virginia history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been to Oatlands a number of times and always take out of town guests to see it. It is both a state of Virginia and a national treasure. In the spring and summer the English style gardens can be a wonderful experience for the senses. In winter, the candlelight tours are always a treat and the house is nicely decorated. If you are in the Leesburg area, this is worth your time to visit any time of the year.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The gardens are beautiful. The tour was very good the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the the families that lived there,

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This plantation is a must see to anyone visiting the Leesburg area. Worth the time and money. Get to see how the old time plantations operated and functioned.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.