We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 73 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful gardens and very interesting tour, loved the gift shop! The greenhouse and one spot outside just took my breath away. Magical place to visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Absolutely a must see in the Fall! I have been here three times, and have enjoyed my time in the gardens each and every time. I also took the house tour with my Dad when he was in town, and we both really enjoyed the tour. Very informative and friendly staff! Oatlands is a place one can go back to, and each time, have a new experience! Will go back here again and again!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must see if in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a wonderful old plantation with great history. The gardens are a delight! There are many out houses too, but one can only visit the carriage house. The old carriage house, which is a magnificent old building, houses the gift shop and where High Tea is served on special days. The house tour is a must along with the four acre formal gardens. The tours are on the hour, but the garden is self-guided and are open all day. A wedding was being set-up for later in the day. It appears to be a very popular wedding site, as the gardens and views are truly lovely. There is plenty of parking. There are cold drinks for sale, but no food so, plan accordingly. We went a short drive north to Leesburgh and ate at Tuscarora Mill--Excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love guided tours and there were only 5 in our group. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and the history of the families owning the house very interesting. We loved the gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens are amazing. Even in the pouring rain. House is impressive. Guide very knowledgeable. Lots of info on the families who resided here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marissa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing