We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Oatlands Plantation
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Nature & Parks, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love guided tours and there were only 5 in our group. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and the history of the families owning the house very interesting. We loved the gardens.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens are amazing. Even in the pouring rain. House is impressive. Guide very knowledgeable. Lots of info on the families who resided here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Escape from the city here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The mansion tour was led by Liz, who remembered every detail about the home's history and brought the history to life. The garden was inviting and intricate. The kids we observed on our visit were having an exciting time discovering the hidden trails between the shrubs. Well placed benches begged us to sit and spend the afternoon just enjoying this beautiful, quiet, peaceful place. Try to come in Spring if you can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Lovely Day at Oatlands Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent several hours at this lovely location. My husband and I decided to take to guided tour of the manor house and we were the only people for the 1:00 pm tour. I was wonderful learning about the plantation's history and the history of the people that owned it through the years. The gardens were just coming out with the warm days we just had and it was lovely though not completely in bloom yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant but can visualize as a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love this plantation in all seasons, especially Spring gardens and the Christmas tea. I come back year after year and bring out-of-town visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.