We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Ranked #3 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love guided tours and there were only 5 in our group. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and the history of the families owning the house very interesting. We loved the gardens.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens are amazing. Even in the pouring rain. House is impressive. Guide very knowledgeable. Lots of info on the families who resided here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Escape from the city here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The mansion tour was led by Liz, who remembered every detail about the home's history and brought the history to life. The garden was inviting and intricate. The kids we observed on our visit were having an exciting time discovering the hidden trails between the shrubs. Well placed benches begged us to sit and spend the afternoon just enjoying this beautiful, quiet, peaceful place. Try to come in Spring if you can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Lovely Day at Oatlands Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent several hours at this lovely location. My husband and I decided to take to guided tour of the manor house and we were the only people for the 1:00 pm tour. I was wonderful learning about the plantation's history and the history of the people that owned it through the years. The gardens were just coming out with the warm days we just had and it was lovely though not completely in bloom yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant but can visualize as a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love this plantation in all seasons, especially Spring gardens and the Christmas tea. I come back year after year and bring out-of-town visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.