We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens are amazing. Even in the pouring rain. House is impressive. Guide very knowledgeable. Lots of info on the families who resided here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Escape from the city here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The mansion tour was led by Liz, who remembered every detail about the home's history and brought the history to life. The garden was inviting and intricate. The kids we observed on our visit were having an exciting time discovering the hidden trails between the shrubs. Well placed benches begged us to sit and spend the afternoon just enjoying this beautiful, quiet, peaceful place. Try to come in Spring if you can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Lovely Day at Oatlands Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent several hours at this lovely location. My husband and I decided to take to guided tour of the manor house and we were the only people for the 1:00 pm tour. I was wonderful learning about the plantation's history and the history of the people that owned it through the years. The gardens were just coming out with the warm days we just had and it was lovely though not completely in bloom yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Elegant but can visualize as a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love this plantation in all seasons, especially Spring gardens and the Christmas tea. I come back year after year and bring out-of-town visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Corporate Christmas outing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arranged an evening affair. Cocktails in the side building, a tour of the mansion, and dinner afterward. We were disappointed that after carrying our drinks all the way to the manor house that we had to leave them outside during our walk through (it seems that someone could have told us before leaving the side house that they were not permitted). The mansion was decorated nicely. The catered food was just okay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Historic House & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.