We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Historic House & Garden

Oatlands Historic House & Garden
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens are amazing. Even in the pouring rain. House is impressive. Guide very knowledgeable. Lots of info on the families who resided here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Escape from the city here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The mansion tour was led by Liz, who remembered every detail about the home's history and brought the history to life. The garden was inviting and intricate. The kids we observed on our visit were having an exciting time discovering the hidden trails between the shrubs. Well placed benches begged us to sit and spend the afternoon just enjoying this beautiful, quiet, peaceful place. Try to come in Spring if you can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Lovely Day at Oatlands Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent several hours at this lovely location. My husband and I decided to take to guided tour of the manor house and we were the only people for the 1:00 pm tour. I was wonderful learning about the plantation's history and the history of the people that owned it through the years. The gardens were just coming out with the warm days we just had and it was lovely though not completely in bloom yet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Elegant but can visualize as a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love this plantation in all seasons, especially Spring gardens and the Christmas tea. I come back year after year and bring out-of-town visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Corporate Christmas outing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arranged an evening affair. Cocktails in the side building, a tour of the mansion, and dinner afterward. We were disappointed that after carrying our drinks all the way to the manor house that we had to leave them outside during our walk through (it seems that someone could have told us before leaving the side house that they were not permitted). The mansion was decorated nicely. The catered food was just okay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Historic House & Garden also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Historic House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Historic House & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.