We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place it has an amazing view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Oatlands Plantation
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I like this place it has an amazing view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is not Mt Vernon but it does have an amazing look into the early world of virginia. The tours are a little patronizing but its OK they have tea here on occaisions but I dont think its meant to be fancy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had our wedding there in Aug '12. Had a fantastic time there: both ceremony and reception. The key to this all though was the staff, who were always available to the wife or I to answer questions or provide guidance. We've already said we'll be sure to have our next wedding there as well (tongue firmly in cheek).

If this is a site you're considering for your event, a brief call to the staff will cement the site's selection for you!

(Just stay away from the Holiday Inn in Leesburg. <shudder>)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Candlelight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Being guided through the plantation decorated for Christmas and in candlelight was a lasting memory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming during the holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We happened to visit when they were setting up for a tea in the building that houses the gift shop. The atmosphere was wonderful with a violinist and pianist providing soft music while we browsed the gift shop, waiting for our tour of the house to begin. We enjoyed the tour of the historic home and the Christmas decorations were really very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal History & Charm,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just moved into the area and had 4 generations of family here for the Thansgiving holidays. Visiting Oatlands was one of our outings. We were not disappointed. We all found things to enjoy on the grounds and in the circa 1810 Plantation home. Tickets include a guided tour by a knowledgeable docent who can answer any questions you have.

The furniture, photos, decor accessories and archutecture all lend to the feeling you've really stepped back in time. The grounds include gardens, a 200 year old gingo tree with its delightful fan-shaped leaves (yellow and fluttering down like a golden rain shower this past week) and two 100 year old Japanese maples with fabulously gnarled trunks. The 200 year old green house is the second oldest in VA. Great place for weddings, too, I'd think. We just loved having the chance to peel down some of the history around us in Leesburg.

Suggestions: Have a membership category that allows locals to bring adult children and grandchildren. Have a place to sit and have refreshments. And hold the teas in a better area with more historic charm. :-) its a wonderful place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.