We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming during the holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oatlands Plantation

Oatlands Plantation
Route 15, Leesburg, VA 22075
703-777-3174
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A historic garden property administered by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Carbondale, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming during the holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We happened to visit when they were setting up for a tea in the building that houses the gift shop. The atmosphere was wonderful with a violinist and pianist providing soft music while we browsed the gift shop, waiting for our tour of the house to begin. We enjoyed the tour of the historic home and the Christmas decorations were really very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal History & Charm,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just moved into the area and had 4 generations of family here for the Thansgiving holidays. Visiting Oatlands was one of our outings. We were not disappointed. We all found things to enjoy on the grounds and in the circa 1810 Plantation home. Tickets include a guided tour by a knowledgeable docent who can answer any questions you have.

The furniture, photos, decor accessories and archutecture all lend to the feeling you've really stepped back in time. The grounds include gardens, a 200 year old gingo tree with its delightful fan-shaped leaves (yellow and fluttering down like a golden rain shower this past week) and two 100 year old Japanese maples with fabulously gnarled trunks. The 200 year old green house is the second oldest in VA. Great place for weddings, too, I'd think. We just loved having the chance to peel down some of the history around us in Leesburg.

Suggestions: Have a membership category that allows locals to bring adult children and grandchildren. Have a place to sit and have refreshments. And hold the teas in a better area with more historic charm. :-) its a wonderful place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Three Words, 'Go During Christmas'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

LOVED the way the plantation was decorated for the holidays. It was a bit chilly but what can one expect in a home without central heat in northern Virginia during late December?

The Holiday tours are a bit different than the regular tours, so be aware of that. However, the guide that we had was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The decorations were brilliant and the gift shop provided a nice respite from the cold for my wife and I to shop for our annual tree ornament. The gift shop prices are very reasonable and staff helpful.

If you're in the Leesburg area over the holidays make plans to spend a couple of hours here to become immersed in a bit of history and holiday splendor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Historic Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I were visiting our daughter who lives in northern Virginia. We were looking for a place to visit during our stay and she found Oatlands on the Internet. It was a short drive from her house. It was early August and very hot. The guided tours began on the hour. Please note that the house is not air-conditioned. Fortunately, we had a small group and a very knowledgeable tour guide. She gave us a detailed history of the family, mansion, and the history of the area around the mansion that dated back to the colonial era. The mansion is more than 200 years old and the greenhouse is the second oldest in the United States. Unlike many historic homes, various families occupied it well into the 21st century. Please note that because of damage from the earthquake earlier, portions of the upstairs were not accessible. The mansion foundation has maintained the grounds and flower garden meticulously. Do not forget to have your picture taken with “Rusty” in the garden. In spite of the heat, we spent another hour or so touring the terraced gardens. Beautiful! Oatlands has a gift shop but no restaurant of café. You can buy soft drinks at the gift shop. If you are interested in history, this is a must see. Check in advance of your visit. It can get very busy when there is a wedding or other event on the grounds.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Taking the scenic route on Hwy. 15 through Virginia, I noticed a sign saying Oatlands, House, Gardens, gift shop open today. Thinking that any place big enough to support a gift shop might be worthy of a stop. What a great surprise to discover this historic home and gardens, built at the turn of the 18th century. The large home was well furnished, with a docent-led tour. Being a gardener, I was blown away by the terraced large gardens, which had been well tended, with plants blooming long after their normal time, due to the walled configuration. A couple of Japanese maples are a must to see. In fact, ask for the brochure showing the important trees on the property beforehand. I highly recommend a stop if you're in this area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oatlands Plantation also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Oatlands Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oatlands Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.