We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navigation Inn

Navigation Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navigation Inn
Brookside, Buxworth, Peak District National Park SK23 7NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buxworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at the Navigation, was a perfect location to use as a base to explore the lovely countryside. Food was great, staff were helpful, rooms were ok. Overall a really relaxing holiday and planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked a room at the Navigation Inn for 5 nights as we were meeting up with people mooring in Bugsworth Basin. We weren't sure what to expect, but this place was great!
The owners are a wonderful couple, with a good team of staff - nothing was too much trouble for them and our every need was catered for. The en suite room was nice and clean, with regular towel and sheet changes. The food was excellent and reasonably priced - all home cooked and delicious and with very generous portions! And what a breakfast!! The pub had a good selection of real ales, which were well worth trying, and all customers (regulars and passers by) were very friendly. The toilets were refreshingly clean at all times - a rare thing where we come from!!
We haven't a bad thing to say about this place and are already looking at booking a return visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife, had friends stay here before our wedding and I can honestly say that they made this night brilliant.my guests had travelled from all over the UK and they wanted a comfortable room, good beer, good food and good night sleep and they and I had all of this. The landlord and land lady made everyone feel extremely welcome and tendered to our every whim. They had a great selection of regional and national ales,which even the non ale drinkers loved. The evening meal was hearty and very filling, the homemade chips are very tasty (no idea why previous comments say they were frozen as they clearly aren't). Specials board had more than enough choice for anyone! A slight wait on food but well worth it if cooked freshly in my opinion.

Next morning showed the same as the evening before, breakfast set everyone up for a long day and it was everything you needed and more.

All in all, great atmosphere, good, honest food and drink and all that stayed agreed.

The Navigation is the ideal place to go and have a good few drinks with strangers that become friends very quickly!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Navigation Inn is well situated in the peak district and a great stop-off when walking. We sat outside for a drink and a meal. The beer was good & so was the food, which arrived promptly and was obviously freshly cooked - lovely crisp & crunchy veggies. We were staying elsewhere but we might come back here and use it as a base for exploring the local area further. Toilets were nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Having visited the Navigation I found the food of great quality and all at a great price, all prepared and cooked from fresh. Would highly recommend a visit here, the staff gave a warm welcome and will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Navigation Inn in January for a New Year break. It rained most of the time so we spent a lot of time sitting in the pub in front of roaring log fires reading books, playing games and joining in the weekly pub quiz - all very cosy. The landlord and landlady were both very friendly and happy to chat . Our room was clean and comfortable and the landlord happily provided me with some green tea bags for use in the bedroom - they have them in the bar along with what my husband calls "normal" tea and coffee. The food was good, the soup and pies full of flabour, and I particularly liked the parship crisps that came with the beef sandwich, and no problems with the service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location in Bugsworth basin. We took a seat outside and went in for drinks to start with. The barman (I suspect landlord after reading reviews) was grumpy as sin and really seemed to be serving against his will. It was a Thursday afternoon and quiet. We ordered food. I had gammon, egg, chips w/peas. Egg had a chunk missing and then plate was swimming in oil. The peas were bathing in oil. Chips were passable but far from fresh and definitely frozen fried. Chicken was good but again same comment about the chips. Garlic ciabatta and onion rings were nice. Little un had 'fish fingers' with chips. Don't expect the likes of birds eye style fish fingers these were like tasteless mini chip shop battered fish and not suitable for a 2 year old to eat. We tasted them and I think they had been deep fried the same length as the chips. Pepsi was nice though. If we go again we will be steering clear of the food.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Navigation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navigation Inn

Address: Brookside, Buxworth, Peak District National Park SK23 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Buxworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buxworth
Also Known As:
Navigation Hotel Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navigation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Navigation Inn to your Saves list