We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for location! :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   599 N Main St, Kilmarnock, VA 22482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Purcellville, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for location! :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a private event about 30 minutes away and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice - could use a new TV but no complaints. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear CorkKerry,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am delighted you liked our pool. While you mentioned our hotel staff to be friendly, I apologize if some aspects were not able to be at par with your expectations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We truly value the comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

holiday inn express in kilmarnock, va. was relaxing, quiet, friendly, and just what a person need to get back a sound mind. The managment was fantastic and caring. This is a place for the person that need to go back to grass roots . The town is old and you can tell that you are in the mid south. The eateries are economical in price. Just visit this hotel and town and let go.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our group has been staying at the Holiday Inn Express and using them to set up our Golf Packages for years. The manager, Sarah, is fantastic and does a wonderful job taking care of us. The rooms are always clean and spacious. I would recommend them for a memorable Northern Neck golf trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was our group's third annual stay here for a four day golf outing and fund raiser. We average about 40-48 golfers. The rooms are more than adequate and always very clean.
The morning breakfast provided is unusally good. The staff at this hotel are well trained
and very helpful. We also have two of our evening meals catered to the Kilmarnock Room
at the hotel. The General Manager (Ms. Sarah Hathaway) has for three years helped us
with not only room accomodations but assisted us with obtaining caterers as well ensuring
that our evening programs and meals go off without any difficulties. She also is familiar with
the local golf courses and their management and has been invaluable in that regard. Without hesitation I can recommend this Inn to any individual or group.

Room Tip: Both floors are quiet and easy access to ice and vending
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My group of 8 golfers has stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on at least a half-dozen occasions, and the hotel is perfect for our needs. Clean, comfortable rooms with space for all of our stuff, and an air conditioner unit that is both powerful and soothing (in the sense that it does a good job masking most outside noises, so that sleep is very restful). And the breakfast buffet is delicious and offers a splendid variety of both hot and cold choices. The hotel manager (Sarah) is extremely helpful and goes out of her way to accommodate all of our needs. In short, a perfect hotel for us.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are a bit quieter, since they do not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is my third time staying at this property within the last year. Each stay has been pleasant and comfortable. The room was clean, beds were great and the bathroom was well kept. Sometimes you go to a property and you don't want to take your shoes off. This wasn't the case at all with the Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock. My hat off to the General Manager, Sarah Hathaway, who always is very pleasant and professional and to the other staff who take pride in their work and the establishment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We arrived at 9 PM just to spend the night for a fishing trip at 6 AM the next day. Hotel staff was very helpful at checkin and checkout, and a pleasant surprise when complimentary continental breakfast was actually ready when we came down at 5:45 AM (hotel info said it wasn't served until 7 AM). Walls are thin, and we had trouble getting to sleep due to TV on in next room; we didn't call front desk because I don't think it was too loud, just walls were too thin.

Room Tip: If hotel is not crowded, ask for a room away from other occupied rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock

Address: 599 N Main St, Kilmarnock, VA 22482
Location: United States > Virginia > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock Hotel is situated on the Chesapeake Bay, just minutes from The Tide's Inn, in an area of Virginia known as the Northern Neck. The history of Kilmarnock dates back to the 17th century. Buildings of that era, include the historic Christ Church. Surrounded by water, fishing is a popular pastime in Kilmarnock, and you are sure to find some of the freshest seafood around. If golf is your game you will enjoy many championship courses including the Golden Eagle, and the all new King Carter Golf Course, awarded Golf Digest's best new golf course in 2006. Call the hotel direct for information on our Custom Golf Packages. Visit for one of the many bass fishing tournaments, the famed Urbana Oyster Festival, or simply to relax and enjoy the scenery.Planning a wedding? Weddings and Family Reunions are our specialty! Call the hotel direct for details.In addition to deluxe rooms with king-size beds, we have extended stay suites with kitchenettes. Our guests are sure to enjoy their stay. This Kilmarnock hotel features our brand new luxury bedding collection, all new business center, and our exclusive Hot Express Start Breakfast Buffet, which features the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. In addition to Kilmarnock, our hotel is convenient to other areas of the Northern Neck, including Deltaville, Reedville, Warsaw and Tappahannock. Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock Hotel Kilmarnock
Holiday Inn Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.