We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay when visiting Monticello” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Keswick Hall to your Saves list
Keswick Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Club Drive, Keswick, VA 22947   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A place to stay when visiting Monticello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Keswick Hall is more than a golf resort (since we are not golfers!) It is a beautiful destination when visiting Jefferson's home at Monticello and other Civil War battlefields. The best part about this place was the room. Spacious, comfortable, lots of room amenities made this a comfortable place to rest after long days of sightseeing. Dinner at the restaurant overlooked the expansive lawns and golf course..really a wonderful sight to have a meal. It is only 20 minutes from just about everywhere one would want to visit. It is owned by the same owners who own The Jefferson in RIchmond so they are used to providing high quality service. They have a pool table, a pool and tennis courts, and a little bar that one can eat if you wanted a quick bite. We would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 16 was charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recommendation of Keswick Hall at Monticello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    69
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
186
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My parents and I had a wonderful time in this hotel. We booked 2 junior suites in the first three nights, and we got an upgtade to deluxe balcony rooms in the fourth. The staff is friendly and attenttive, especially at the front desk, and the location is just superb, with wonderful views of the blue ridge mountains and virginia countryside. The infinity pool is simply amazing, the right place to seat back and relax.

There are only two minor issues worth mentioning in this wonderful stay

1) Although the staff is friendly ready to fulfill all your needs (and at breakfast we had lots of them:), the service at the restaurant and bar can be pretty slow sometimes;

2) There is no minibar in the rooms, although they offer you mineral water and a selection of cookies. So if you carry other items, such as medicines, you will have to ask the front desk to store them elsewhere.

Small tip: room 45 is a beautifully decorated junior suite, but it has two problems: one of the vents of the ac-system is placed right above your bed, so if you have allergic issues it can be problematic. And the room is right beside the elevator, so it can be noisy sometimes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your feedback on the areas where we can make further improvements. These are so very helpful to us and we sincerely appreciate that you have shared these with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Foodie Friedn wanted to take us to lunch so I knew it would be wonderful but this was elegantly set on rolling hills and elaborate porches and gardens.....what a wonderful treat!! The food was better than imagined, wonderful variety and glorious buffet to try a bit of everything. Lovely facility and terrific staff, generous parking and beautifully maintained.
Lovely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are delighted that your "foodie" friend choose our lunch buffet in Villa Crawford at Keswick Hall! We appreciate your review and are so pleased that you enjoyed the view, the food and your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Keswick Hall with friends for three nights in March and, although somewhat pricey, this is a marvelous hotel. For all of us this was our first trip to the Charlottesville area, and the hotel served as a fine "base of operations". When we arrived the first room we were given was on the top floor and had sloping ceilings. Because I am tall, I asked for a different room and the on-duty manager (whose name I am sorry to say I've forgotten) accommodated us quickly and cordially with a much better room on the first floor. The concierge staff were also extremely cordial and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfasts were excellent as was the level of service in the dining room. The exercise room was well-equipped and provided a great way to start the day. All-in-all, we felt that there was great attention to detail on the part of the staff and that the level of hospitality, the decor and the service justified the price. I would definitely stay there again should I find myself in that area.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have sloping ceilings, so if you're tall avoid those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved our 4 nights at Keswick Hall. The property and grounds are beautiful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. We had a wonderful afternoon enjoying the "endless pool" and sitting in the lounge chairs sipping wine. The hotel is located about 5 miles from downtown Charlottesville, so we ended up eating all our dinners in the on-site restaurants, which worked out great. The location was great for us, as we were touring historical sites and wineries, and had easy access to all the main roads in the area.

We had a small problem with out guest room and the staff could not have been more responsive or accommodating. Truly professional. We own a high end B&B, so we truly appreciate how well Keswick hall is doing things. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review. We apologize again for the issue with your guestroom but are pleased that our staff was able to take care of that to your satisfaction. Best wishes for a great summer season at your bed and breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

i'm not normally one to stay in a place at $400/night, but we heard the brunch was very reasonable as a "local hidden gem." We went for brunch on a weekend and it was excellent. They seated us at the huge glass window and we could the expansive grounds. We ordered mimosas, juices, the best ham and eggs [locally grown] we've ever had and the specialty french toast. The total bill was about $45. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting Fossett's at Keswick Hall for Sunday Brunch. We are so glad that you enjoyed the view and the locally-inspired menu. We hope that you will join us again soon for brunch or perhaps afternoon tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Keswick in April and had a wonderful time here. It is somewhat remote, which was what we wanted, but still only a very short drive to Charlottesville. The countryside around the estate is beautiful. Keswick Hall itself is very beautiful as well. The rooms are decorated very nicely, and our room (as well as the whole estate) was very clean and kept up exceptionally well. The staff does a wonderful job and is always ready to help or assist you.

We had supper most nights at Fossett’s bar and really enjoyed everything about the bar. The food was good, drinks were good, the bartenders were great, and the atmosphere is nice, but not stuffy.

We used Keswick as our base for a five night getaway. We spent our days hiking, visiting Charlottesville, Monticello, and vineyards. Keswick is a great location for all of this.

The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous. It was rainy several days we were there, so I look forward to swimming in it next time I go. Also the walking/running trails around the golf course are very nice to use.

Overall, we loved Keswick Hall…the only reason I didn’t give it a five is that it’s just a tad pricey. But a lovely place with great staff, so I would definitely go back!!! No complaints, really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Keswick Hall for your visit to Charlottesville. We will look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Drive, Keswick, VA 22947
Location: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keswick Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Keswick Hall, a grand Italianate villa surrounded by a breathtaking 600 acre estate. Nestled in the rolling hills of Virginia's hunt country, bordering Charlottesville and the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, is a location best described by Mr Thomas Jefferson as "The Eden of the United States." With 48 unique and elegantly appointed guest rooms, relaxing spacious lounging areas with wood burning fireplaces, expansive terraces sharing unparalleled views, an abundance of sporting activities available, award-winning cuisine; makes this luxurious and inviting mansion truly the ultimate home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keswick Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.